We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Tahoe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Tahoe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Cedar Glen Lodge is absolutely beautiful. The setting is amazing, the cabins are perfectly appointed, really lovely and clean. We loved the mountain decor. Martha and Alan could not be nicer, more welcoming hosts. They are there to provide any information you need on local activities. We loved staying on the north side of the lake, it is so much quieter and more serene than the south side, and we were close to kayaking, beaches, hiking, sailing, everything you could want to do on the lake. We also really enjoyed the amazing restaurant on site, what a delicious treat. We only wish we could have stayed longer and are already trying to figure out when we can return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are really happy you liked this side of the lake. We love the nature and tranquility, along with all the amazing activities north Lake Tahoe has to offer. I am so glad you were able to join us at the Rustic Lounge and that you liked it as well.

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    135
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
307
346
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We just returned from Lake Tahoe and were so glad that we stayed at the Cedar Glen Cove. Very clean, super nice people, conveniently located in Tahoe Vista for everything. We loved the attached restaurant and found another overlooking the water that was delicious...Christy Hill. North Lake Tahoe is much more appealing than south.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge, but there are cabins with full kitchens.
See more room tips
Green Features: They were very environmentally friendly and it was evident that the property was well cared for.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatocurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. I completely agree with you regarding how nice north Lake Tahoe is! I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel as well as restaurant.

Please come see us again soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Cedar Glen Lodge last weekend when we came up for the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival. We stayed in #14 (2-bed/2-bath cabin), which was perfect for 2 couples. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom, which was key! The kitchen is very nice and fairly well-equipped (although it was missing a few items, like dish towels.. we had to use bath towels to dry our dishes). The living room is small but comfortable, although a couple of more pieces of furniture would have made it much more useable. There was just a small couch, with no coffee table or other seating, which made it hard for the four of us to gather in the living room. The beds were fantastic - very comfortable, with amazing sheets and pillows. I also loved the ceiling fans in the bedrooms. The bathrooms were very nice - super-clean, great showers with good hot water and pressure. There definitely was some road noise, as the lodge is on a pretty busy street, so we unfortunately couldn't keep our windows open at night. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant, but we did enjoy the included continental breakfast on both mornings, and it was very nicely done. Lots of pastries, good cereals, lots of fruit, coffee, juice, etc. The outside areas are very nice too - they have an inviting campfire every evening with all the fixings for s'mores, which was a nice touch. There's also a ping pong table, tiny putting area, badminton court, etc. Alan the innkeeper was very nice and accommodating. It's an easy walk across the street to a gorgeous beach on the north shore, and the lodge provides beach chairs and coolers, which you can fill with ice from their machine. They also provide beach towels, so no need to bring your own! I thought that overall, the lodge was a great value, with all of the extras that they provide, and other than the road noise, it was a great location. Everything was very clean and well-cared for. We will definitely be back, and next time we're going to make reservations at the restaurant!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ames100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I am glad you liked the two bedroom, two bath cottage, #14. Indeed, this is one of our most popular units. Unfortunately, sometimes things get moved around, especially with so many family reunions during this time of the year. Next time you visit us, please make sure you communicate with us all your needs, even if you think is not important, we love to serve our guests. I am so glad you loved all our amenities. I must tell you, we get so many calls of pasts guests inquiring about our sheets and mattresses!

Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Travelling as a young couple we were concerned that this place may be a little too family orientated. However this really wasn't an issue.

The room was clean and comfortable, the set up of the place works well and the restaurant on site was great (though pricey). Breakfast (included) was decent quality too.

The staff really bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobrahLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are really happy to know that young couples can visit Cedar Glen Lodge and not feel out of place! We are very happy that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thanks again and hope to see you back.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge for three nights during our road trip in July. We had a fantastic time and absolutely loved the restaurant. The lodge is very well maintained and nicely set up and ideally located for excursions of Lake Tahoe.

The fire pit at night was great - thanks for all the treats!

When we make it back to Lake Tahoe we will definitely stay again at CGL. Greetings from Switzerland - thanks Martha!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to have you here and visit by the fire pit! I hope you guys can make it for skiing...don't forget to bring those yummy Swiss Chocolates, LOL =)

Please take care and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fun few days while staying at the Cedar Glen Lodge this week. We stayed in unit 15 which was a separate cottage. It worked great for us with just my wife and teenage son. The one bedroom gave us some privacy during our stay. The unit was clean and comfortable. Our one concern was the lack of a dishwasher in the kitchen. We could never get the kitchen sink water hot so we wondered about the cleanliness of the dishes. We essentially cleaned them both before and after use to make sure. You should keep in mind that the lodge is a ways from the lake and you have to cross the road to get to it. The free wifi was very slow and cell service is nonexistent so that was a bit annoying. The continental breakfast was nice with good pastries, dry cereal and fruit, etc. We didn't There is a nice pool, jacuzzi, badminton, and ping pong on site. The s'mores at night were a fun touch as well! Overall though the stay was lovely and the staff were great! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I am glad you had a fun time and that unit #15 worked for you. The main reason why we don't have dishwasher is the lack of space. I am sorry about the water not being hot enough. Next time you visit us, please make sure to voice anything (even if you think is not important) that may come up. We love to serve our guests and make sure they are 100% comfortable! Yes, our WiFi signal is kinda spotty up here in the mountains. That's why we provide a hard-wired computer at our office, and it also has a printer for guests that need to print anything (like boarding passes). Indeed, the Cedar Glen Lodge owns an easement across the street for guests to access the beautiful sandy beach.

Thanks again and can't wait to see you back!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at the lodge. Everyone was so helpful and warm!! We felt like we were staying at bed and breakfast without the crazy prices. There is a very short walk to the beach and the location is great! Our room was beautiful with a great view. Our room was recently remodeled and it was in the back away from the road noise. The bed super comfortable. We loved the fire pit every night. We had such a great stay and did not want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelmichelleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
20.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing