We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Friendliest People You Can Hope to Meet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Friendliest People You Can Hope to Meet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

I felt more like a guest of the family than a hotel customer at this charming old North Tahoe resort that is sure to go from funky to gentrified under the new ownership of Martha from L.A.. In fact, someone could make a great sitcom out of the story of a lady from Marina del Rey buying a vintage Tahoe resort and making it her new home. We have a son in college so it was time for a budget vacation, but we found a great value at this hotel. We stayed in an efficiency the first two nights, but decided (wisely) to upgrade to a little cabin with a bedroom and full kitchen for the second two. The decor is still a little dated and worn, but Martha has already purchased all new mattresses and bedding, plush towels and sweet citrus soap, and she's embarked on a complete redecorating project. The biggest plus here (besides the fanastic deal--two nights for the price of one in October!), was the personal, caring service. We got knocks on our doors in the evening to bring some home-baked goodies from the office. There is a lovely hot-tub, great dry sauna, and seasonal heated pool, as well as free wifi, free movies (with popcorn!), a continental breakfast , firepit and barbeques, games to borrow, and ping-pong. We were warned about food-scavenging bears and I did see one dumpster diving on Halloween night, but no harm done as Martha fearlessly chased him off with a foghorn (see what I mean about the potential sitcom?) My sleep was somewhat disturbed by a bright light outside our cabin window one night, but that was taken care of when I reported it to the office. All-in-all a very nice place, great value, and the friendliest folks you could meet!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    135
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
307
345
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

That's it, Martha and Danny not only will make you feel at home, they become your friends and most surely you'll get back to this nice place :)
Prices are very competitive, the cabins quite comfortable and the always warm pool an jacuzzi are definitely a plus. I hope to be able to come back to Lake Tahoe this winter. If so, I'd definitely stay with these guys! Best regards to Martha and Danny.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agustin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Cedar Glenn is a wonderfully cosy spot with an excellent host staff who will make your stay special. A great location as well. We especially enjoyed the nightly fire pit!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wintercrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Cedar Glen is very cosy, good location at Lake Tahoe, the hospitality of Danny and co. is way above average, feels like being home, a great place with nice pool and spa. Has everything, even a very good continental breakfast. I can only give thumps up to everything here and urge everyone to come. A small thing that could be better is a table and extra chair in the living room of nr 14 and also a bit more cutlery. But thats minor things to make the place even better in the future!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have been vacationing in Tahoe Vista for 20 years and we have stayed at many different places. We loved the Cedar Glen Lodge the minute we arrived. Actually...we really liked everything about it from their web site. It was everything we were looking for at a great price. Danny welcomed us with a big smile and made us feel right at home. He even knew my name when we came in the office to check in. The grounds are very nicely done with a fire pit, bar-b-ques, picnic tables, pool, jacuzzi, ping-pong table, big pine trees and a beautiful view of the lake which is just across the street. Danny made a fire in the fire pit every night which was a nice touch. It was great sitting out by the fire and looking at the stars. Danny was a lot of fun and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with him. Our room was clean and had everything we need. The bed was very comfortable and had extra blankets and pillows. The rooms are decorated with mountain and rustic charm, and also are very cozy. Danny and his Auntie Martha run the place and they do a great job. They are both so friendly and nice. They make you feel like family. After just one visit at Cedar Glenn Lodge it is now our favorite place to stay on the lake! We can't wait to come back!!!
Julie and Riley
Mammoth Lakes, Ca.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCRC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stay one night, get one free? Who could resist? I called, keeping my fingers crossed that there would be something available. We settled on a freestanding one bedroom cabin. We were a bit apprehensive when we first pulled up. We were concerned that the deal was too good to be true. Any worries instantly melted away when we pulled into the neatly groomed property and first met the owners. They have taken hospitality to a new level and go out of their way to make certain their guests are satisfied! Perfectly timed, scrumptious lemon bars delivered to our cabin were an added bonus! The cabin was extremely clean and, while updated, still maintained a charm from days gone by. It was well appointed and we had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend. The location was perfect with the beach just across the road and restaurants nearby in either direction.

We'll definitely be back!

The Tanners

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calmh2ogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a great, old-fashioned motor lodge -- the kind you'll find peppered throughout California to accommodate the hordes of tourists who took to the highways to explore California in the 40s and 50s. The lodge is in a nice, quiet location (Tahoe Vista is a sleepy little place on the north side of the lake between the larger Tahoe City and King's Beach) and the furnishings are basic but clean. As you should guess by the price, this is not a luxury property, so don't come expecting the Four Seasons or the Ritz. Get a room or cabin with a kitchenette, porch, living area, view of the lake, fireplace, or whatever you need to make yourself feel at home and just settle in to the feel of a bygone era. Sit around the fire pit in the evening and chat with other guests. Walk a couple blocks down to Spindleshanks, a restaurant with a pub atmosphere and fantastic food. The property is also just across the road from the beach, so brave the icy waters of Tahoe if you like. Or take a dip in the heated pool at the hotel and then really warm up in the hot tub or sauna. The vivacious owner, Martha, and her nephew, Danny, are wonderful and are eager to help with advice -- or cookies! Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
20.5 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing