We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Spot on the Water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at this resort in early September. We had a lakefront room. The view from the lakefront room is very pretty. The room was clean and the beach OK. I agree with others that the Mourelatos is a little tired. Regardless, it is a decent place on the lake and if you are willing to overlook the scattered equipment on the grounds and beach, then you will feel fine about your stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The WiFi is very, very, very poor as is the cell phone reception. The convenience from I-80 though probably make this place worth the inconveniences. I don't think I would choose to stay here again though.

Room Tip: The lakefront rooms are expensive, but for privacy they are your best option. The other rooms are de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveagoodfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

We are sorry you found your stay not worth the value. During the Summer, we cater heavily to young families and our beach does contain a lot of equipment, toys and beach furniture. Possibly the beach appearance may come across as un kept but our beach staff dress the beach every morning and evening. They also are there throughout the day caring for guests needs, renting SUPs, kayaks or jet skis, and answering visitor questions. We do acknowledge problems with our wireless internet on property during this period. We completing an upgraded to our repeaters located throughout the property which will provide a stable WiFi. As an aside, we are also adding a new High Definition Web Cam that will provide our guests the ability view the lake and our beach at any time and the user will be able to rotate the camera to appreciate the various views. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at Mourelatos and were really pleased with the whole experience. The staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Our room was clean and comfortable. The location couldn't have been better for us ... it's on the northshore. I definitely plan to rebook here the next time I visit Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: You can see your actual room ... the exact one you'll be booking ... at the website mlrtahoe.com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Where to start...probably have low expectations and you will be fine. This hotel is really one big missed opportunity. It is in a great location at Tahoe Vista and the waterfront location is a plus, but the beach is only fair. The beach area is scattered with aquatic equipment and the place externally looks like it needs a good clean up. As for the rooms, well, they are very very dated and in need of a makeover. The beds are horrible, the furnishings pretty lame. The floor in our room squeaked regularly so I felt sorry for the guests below us. The kitchenette was handy but also a necessity as there is no on site dining option. My biggest gripe is the balcony which basically is not private and anyone can walk past your room and have a look in unless your curtains are drawn, which defeats the purpose if you are relaxing in bed with an aim of enjoying the view. Room servicing was okay. No wake up calls available for those looking to get away early and the wi-fi was an absolute joke. It was $10 to use and was pretty much offline the whole time. I wouldn't recommend this resort but it is probably good for families on a budget. For younger couples, it's not so great. This place is a real could have been...

Room Tip: If you must stay here, choose the most expensive rooms overlooking the lake, they are larger and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZaniCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Feedback is always appreciated and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our beach does contain a lot of sports equipment and furniture for the enjoyment of our guests. We encourage all to view the beach via our web cam and the photos on our web site to get a good idea of what we offer. Our decks are semi-private so if you are looking for an exclusive lake front location, there are better solutions. We have had difficulty in our WiFi network throughout the property this Fall and we are in the middle of an upgrade that will provide a high degree of dependability going forward. We are also replacing our current web cam with a High Definition web cam that pans 180 degrees and will provide anyone a preview of our beach and property. We believe our rooms are decorated in a unique and attractive style that may not appeal to all. We are not trying to be like any other resort but provide a unique visitor experience on the shores of Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Mourelatos has one of the beat beaches on the North Shore. There are views of the lake from every room and the staff is great. But, yes there is a but. The rooms are large but the decor is terrible. I know the owners are Greek, but get rid of the fake flowers, ugly bedspreads, lighting and decor. They need to bring someone wit taste to help them redo the rooms so you feel you are in Tahoe.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end are worth the extra price. You have your own deck overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We found Mourelatos by accident about 7 years ago and have gone back every single year and have introduced this wonderful place to about 7 family and friend families. No one has ever been disappointed nor thought we exaggerated in the least. Having a private beach just outside your doorstep is unbeatable! Let's be honest, packing up all the gear, kids, traffic, etc to go the beach for a few hours is a tremendous pain in the rear and frankly for me, not worth it. Mourelatos provides just about every amenity needed for the beach for free or a nominal rental fee. The convenience is fantastic! Every year, we come back to another upgrade or improvement, such as cushions for the chaise lounges, carpet replaced with wood floors, etc that makes the place better than the year before! Alex and his staff truly care about their guests and property. By the way, we have rented luxury vacation homes and stayed at other facilities in the area before we found Mourelatos, would never go anywhere else again in the area. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: They have lots of different types of rooms but the four lake front rooms with their private deck are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeBlu, General Manager at Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review. Your comments reflect what we hear all Summer long from our guests and is what we strive to achieve with every guest that stays with us. The resort is set up to meet as many needs of the young families and get away couples and our staff works very hard to ensure those needs are met. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

An absolutely awesome family vacation - with something for everyone to do. The location is perfect - a private beach - steps from the room - with a breathtaking view of the mountains and water. We were able to rent a Jet ski (right on the property), stand on a paddle board in the middle of the lake, and swim out to a trampoline located on the lake. Since there is a refrigerator in the room, a 24 hr. grocery store nearby, and a barbeque pit available to borrow, everything a family needs is at this resort. They even let us borrow plates, silverware, and tools to roast marshmallows on the fire pit. They have lots of movies to borrow and watch in the room, and board games to play. I even allowed my son to beat me in some ping-pong games on the beach. Our room was beautiful with a high ceiling and back door which opens and overlooks beautiful trees. The staff was extremely nice - the owners, cleaning ladies, and especially the young maintenance man who does an excellent job maintaining the property. We felt so welcomed. Every morning I spent time alone with my Bible on the beach - these are moments I will never forget! We have already booked our vacation for next year - we wouldn't be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in unit 134 and had a great time. So did our and our friends' kids, ages 5, 6, and 7. Literally steps from the water, all rooms front on a lakefront beach with kids' toys and plenty of lounge chairs & umbrellas. All of our kids found friends to play with and were constantly having fun in & out of the water our entire 4-day stay.
There's a small fleet of BBQs available to use at your convenience. Ping pong table on the beach, two gas firepits, a hammock, some disc golf equipment to play with, quiet icemakers... blenders and toasters and simple, functional kitchen gear in kitchen equipped rooms. Two generations of owners are onsite at all times and the staff is friendly & quick to help.
Room decorations are very slightly dated and generally the fittings and equipment is midlevel, but this is a firmly family and outdoor-fun oriented place. And for North Tahoe the prices are good. Returning guests get a great discount. Everything is well maintained - for a family trip, the value is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KernSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.8 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
310 reviews
9.3 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,982 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
903 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort

Address: 6834 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0077
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#4 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £113 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH AT LAKE TAHOE. Nestled on the magnificent pristine beach of Lake Tahoe's north shore, Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort offers a stunning lake-front lodging experience in Tahoe Vista, California, which is much more than just a place to stay. It's a treasured spot where the spectacular views of Lake Tahoe from the 32 well-appointed and spacious studio suites are just the beginning of what you will experience from its convenient and central location. For over 30 years, the family-owned Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort has been an escape for those who seek a natural, peaceful and unmatched setting to do it all, or do nothing at all, on the edge of Lake Tahoe. This intimate fully-remodeled all suite-motel sits on the edge of a 275 foot private beach and could not be more optimal and central for those who seek a location to enjoy all that Lake Tahoe has to offer. It's where you can truly take break from modern-day stress, a hideaway for families to reconnect, a romantic interlude for couples ... And an extraordinary getaway for active travelers from all over the world in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. Best of all, you will be hosted and spoiled throughout your stay with the owner's personal and authentic Greek hospitality that brings guests back year after year. ENDLESS ACTIVITIES ~ FOR ALL AGES. From your "home away from home", you can walk the beach with no destination in mind, sip morning coffee from your covered porch, watch your kids play on the sand, or let the day slip away while kayaking, boating, paddle boarding ... Or just soak up the scenery under the warm Sierra sun. Just across the street, the eighteen acres of private trails are accessible for hiking, biking, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. And within a short scenic drive east or west, there are over a dozen internationally-acclaimed golf and ski resorts, gourmet restaurants, shops that showcase local artistry and arts and culture events year-round. YOUR PLACE TO ESCAPE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourelatos Lakeshore Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing