We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tahoe Vistana Inn(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Glen Lodge(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferrari's Crown Resort(Kings Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday House(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Firelite Lodge(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Sands Resort(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
149
62
21
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
62
21
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boardswater bikesbeach toysice cream shopvaulted ceilingslake tahoeprivate beachacross the streetlakefront roomgreat family vacation spotlounge chairsnorth shorebottom floorgreat beachhot tubextended familyping pong table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Mourelatos family make this resort a family occasion. The word "no" is not in their vocabulary. Any request or question was always answered as if we were part of their family who were visiting their home. The amenities were limitless. Paddle boards, kayaks, s'mores by the fire pits...A gas grill delivered to our room to grill steaks. We got to know and enjoy all the other guests as we all became extended members of the family at this resort. This is sounding like a paid commercial but be assured, it is not! Our granddaughters have sworn us to bring them back for an annual event. Count on it, we'll be here! Treat yourselves, check this place out

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

OMG! You must come here! That is if you like friendly service, cleanliness, awesome family fun, beautiful lake breeze and view, and relaxation. I only wish we didn't live on the east coast as we would make this a yearly family get together.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Two friends and I visited to celebrate a special birthday. Alex and his family were very accommodating in making sure that we were able to stay and within our budget. The property is beautiful, well-maintained, gorgeous view, large room. Staff had wonderful recommendations for places to eat. Well-organized reservation info provided in advance (directions, things to do, etc.)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying here with our family while on vacation to CA. It was the perfect way to experience Lake Tahoe (**note: Lake Tahoe seemed very familiar to me, as it reminds me very much of my native northern Minnesota, and Mourelato's felt very similar to a lot of the resorts on lakes in Northern MN -- homey, mom and pop places that are great for families looking to enjoy sand and water, NOT for ritzy types looking for Miami or Waikiki).

Our room was a great size with 2 queen beds, table and chairs, kitchenette, and pull-out sofa sized for 1 person. We had 5 in our room, so perfect! We never felt crowded. We loved the great view from our windows, and the table, chairs and bench right outside, which gave us the perfect spot to drink wine and eat bread and cheese in the evening. I am not sure why anyone complained about the decor of the rooms. Ours was simple and beautiful and very clean, with comfy white duvets on the beds and great lighting.

The resort - this is exactly what I was looking for from a resort on a lake in the mountains. Great for families and for people who just want to relax, swim, etc. You do not have to pay to use anything! What we loved---the beach!!! Beautiful, great view, sandy bottom lake perfect for swimming; the beach lawn chairs and huge beach umbrellas, perfect for a day reading and napping on the sand; all of the toys on the beach, from frisbees to bocce ball to sand toys, etc; the hot tubs, which had sand in them but were great for warming up after an evening swim; the bonfire pits, which we enjoyed after dark; the 'water chairs' that you can drag into the water for a refreshing rest; the water trampoline that we swam to; the kayaks and paddle boards that you can use!! Every time we went to the beach, there were at least 2 young workers there to help people use the kayaks and paddle boards. Great!! We had a lot of fun using those. The weather in early July was in the 80s, great for swimming. The water is chilly, but perfect once you get used to it. The sand is HOT on your feet, so make sure you always have sandals when at the beach!

Location - we loved that there were little restaurants and cafes across the street. We enjoyed taking a walk in both directions along the main road. We drove to the Old Post Office Cafe for breakfast, and it was very yummy, huge portions! We also drove to the nearby Vikingsholm to hike and see views--beautiful!

Overall, I loved this resort. The owners and workers were really friendly. All of us loved every second and wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: If you are trying to fit more than 4 people in the room, make sure you check whether the pull-out couch in the room is for 1 to 2 people! Ours was a tiny little couch that only fit 1 person, which was okay for us since we had 5 people.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel and rooms are clean. The staff is nice. The location is fabulous and generally quite peaceful. The views are awesome, especially with the way the rooms are designed to maximize the lake view. The property externally seems well-cared for. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but the owner (or his son, Alex ?) seemed very nice on check-out.

We just can't give this place higher than a 3 because although the rooms were well appointed and tastefully done, there were three issues that really made us feel that we paid too much: (1) the carpets were in terrible condition. They were (once) high-quality carpets but now stained so badly from all the water, especially from previous occupants dragging in their wet snow boots that is typical of the Tahoe area during the peak winter season. The water stains made the carpet look filthy even though we're sure they try their best to keep them clean. I know it's a nightmare for the owners to maintain carpets so, constructively, my suggestion would be to rip out the carpets entirely and replace them with good, high-quality surface tiles. It simply is the most sensible thing to do given the market the hotels in the area serve - skiers in the peak winter season. We've come across some hotels in South Lake Tahoe that have done just that, given up on carpeting entirely. Use area rugs (with non-slip backing) in the rooms where it makes sense and they are cheap to replace compared to maintaining wall-to-wall carpeting. In the meantime, they should issue disposable slippers for people to use in the rooms like in most 4 and 5 star hotels, (2) the installed fan with lights was not fully functional. The fan worked, at one speed. Couldn't get the 4 lamps to work on the fan so why install the lamps, create the impression they are useable and then leave us with now way to turn them on? Frustrating as hell since the room really does need more lighting for reading. The impression was that the fans were a cheap/quick installation to provide circulating air but no one thought about speed control or even lighting control (these are fans that you can buy in Home Depot that use pull chains to turn lights on/off and change fan speeds), (3) The fans needed dusting - badly. Even at 10-12 feet up, we could see the layers of dust on the fan blades.

So at $162 per night for two, it was very pricey. We don't think it was good value for money. I took the room because of the view and it was our last night on the road and wanted it to be special. Once we looked past the issues I've detailed, it's one of the better hotels on the strip. Hopefully, it was just our room (#126) that had these issues but we suspect that isn't the case.

Room Tip: If you are a walk-in, ask to see the room before you buy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airplanedzyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews