We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Donovan's”

The Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Rustic Lounge, is an Award Winning restaurant and wine bar that offers a unique dining experience for the guests of Cedar Glen Lodge while providing the local community a casual fine dining experience. The menu features seasonal offerings ranging from classically-inspired entrees to festive fusions. An adjacent wine bar and cozy fireplace will entice the outdoor enthusiasts as well as those simply looking for a relaxing environment to unwind and reflect on the day. Both the restaurant and bar offer stunning views of beautiful Lake Tahoe.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Donovan's”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great place to eat and stay. If you ever get snowed in this is the place. The staff went way out of their way to make sure we where happy and even with over two feet of snow our door in the morning was clear. Having the number one restaurant rated in Lake Tahoe outside our door did not hurt. Note. The chef was trained at the cordon blu. The Donovan's

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donovan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    31
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Excellent Thanksgiving dinner! My husband's a chef, so he wanted someone else to cook for him this holiday season and we both agreed that the food was delicious! I LOVED the butternut squash soup!!! They catered to our little one as well, bringing her sparkling cider and a coloring book and crayons. They made a special spot on the table for her little stuffed animal, so she was able to enjoy the experience just as much as we were. The intimate setting and wonderful service really made it an overall awesome experience- thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1LuckyLady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Exceptional food and service, good value”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Fantastic food and atmosphere, truly a great restaurant. Every menu item was well thought out and the flavors were exceptional. The service was also excellent. We look forward to coming back next time we are in Tahoe!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ridders 53”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We did a 3 week trip around California in October and the meal we enjoyed here was definitely one of the 2 best meals we experienced on our whole trip. Full marks to the staff for excellent service and full marks to the kitchen staff for a delicious meal, using locally sourced ingredients. A wonderful experience. If you are in the area, you must try - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ridders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rustic lounge at the Cedar Glen Lodge”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I just came home from a 3 week trip to California and this was, by far, the best restaurant. the food is very refined without the usual cream and cheese and whatever toppings, the wine was great. It was up to very high standards. I can only recommend this restaurant to everyone passing by or visiting the Cedar Lodge. The second night of our stay we went to Tahoe City to dine & I still regret every moment of that. Next time I visit the Cedar Glen Lodge, I will not dine out anywhere else. It was also very fair priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rustic Lounge at Cedar Glen Lodge also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing