We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved the location and the grounds. When we checked in it was around 6:30 P.M on Sunday night so everyone was gone, we picked up a phone got a code to a lock and dug thru about 10 envelopes before we found ours. The decoration of the units is very nice and the fireplace was very nice. The bathroom was dirty and had hair on the floor when we checked in. The bathroom and kitchen floor was rock so It was cold and hard to tell if it was actually clean. We had a leak in our bathroom tub faucet but was fixed as soon as we called about it. There was an Air Compressor in a storage room that was attached to our room that would turn on for about 2 minutes each day that we noticed, sometimes in the morning and others at night. It was so loud it woke us up the first night and each time it turned on it shook the wall to the bathroom. Overall the resort location was the best part of the stay.

Room Tip: Room 20 has some sort of Air Compressor noise every day.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are trying to be green but some of the lights are still incandescent and not fluorescent.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Jeremy H,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. We're thrilled you loved our location, decorations and accommodations. We're sorry to learn of some of the troubles you experienced during your visit. We hope that you were not inconvenienced by these and we hope that we can welcome you back for a much more improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    46
    10
    6
    11
See reviews for
103
130
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

what a wonderful place. wasn't exactly sure what to expect but we had a truly wonderful stay.

very very clean - not the "fake" kind of hotel clean but really clean! the cabin was very well equipped with everything you will need - pots, pans, plates, utensils - it was all there.

check in was very easy as well. very pleasant front desk.

we were so close to the beautiful shore and what view. we loved waking up to see the sunrise and skipping stones.

we were very nearby northstar and mount rose as well.

i really can't have a negative thing to say here. will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear SA,
Sounds like you had a wonderful stay at the resort. Our Best Practices within our Housekeeping Department holds us to the highest of cleanliness standards.
You can't beat the location to great outdoor playgrounds such as Northstar and Mt.Rose.
We hope you'll consider staying with us again the future.

Thank you,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge is a great place to stay. Its very well maintained, has friendly & helpful staff, and is in a great location on the North Shore. It has easy access to the ski resorts, beach, restaurants, grocery store, shopping, and casinos. My family has been staying here for many years, and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Jamison S,
I am pleased that you and your family have once agan chosen to stay with us at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. We make vacationing easy. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Loved the cabin decor with a great lakeside location. Quiet. Nice day one orientation to local attractions and events. Easy to walk to local beaches and shopping.
Very pleasant staff. Full kitchen even though the room was a studio. Limited parking though so plan ahead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vab51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hi vab51,
Thank you for reviewing Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge. We're so happy to know you enjoyed our lakeside location, easy access to the local beaches and shopping and our pleasant staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Thank you,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My GF and I had some hot water issues the first time we went there but the management staff was very considerate about the problem and offered us compensation. The second time we were there everything went great and we had a great time. The room was nice and big. It is also a great location if you want to do a multiday snowboarding trip. It is near a safeway and the full size kitchen is great. It was a beautiful place and i would definitely recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you for letting us prove to you we are a great resort that aims to please. Our customers and their satisfacation are our priority. I am so pleased you enjoyed your most recent stay.
Did you know we also sell discount lift tickets for our guests convenience?
We hope to see more of you and your girlfriend. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We loved staying at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge and definitely consider making it an annual visit. We used RCI points to book it and were there with another couple and stayed in Room 15 which is a 2 bedroom unit. We loved the furnishings, the flat screen tv, there was always enough hot water even though 4 of us were showering!, it had a full kitchen with dishwasher which was great! We took advantage of the Safeway across the street and cooked or barbequed almost all our meals which is a great cost saver! We did eat at a couple local restauants (Lanzo's was great Italian food and Jason's Beachside Grill was fun for burgers and watching the Broncos football game!!). The historic Old Brockway Golf Course was just down the street and we played 9 holes three times during the week. Can't beat the price ($39 for golf and cart) and the course itself was stunning! We drove around the lake one day and that was awesome, used the kayaks owned by the Lodge for no cost which was also great!
The only reason I am not rating it a 5 star all the way around was the internet - it was exceptionally slow. It was nice to have Wi-Fi but the speed was problematic. I know I was supposed to be on vacation but I did have some work I needed to complete and it was difficult. I'd strongly recommend to the management they increase their bandwidth/speed if possible. Other than that, we loved everything!!

Room Tip: Loved room 15 because it was right next to the hot tub and very close to picnic tables and a grill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear eamg57,
Sounds like you had a great stay at the resort. Taking advantage of the complimentary kayaks is fun and a great way to see Lake Tahoe. The resort has recently upgraded all of the televisions to flat screens, and new dvd players.
The resort is conveniently located across the street from the Old Brockway Golf Course, many of our guests enjoy it. Lanza's and Jason's are both great local's favorite restaurants. I am pleased that were able to enjoy so many things during your stay.
Thank you for the suggestion for the resort WiFi, I have spoke to our wirelss provider and we will be working on upgrading it.
We do hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I find this to be such a beautiful spot, we stop by for the day or a couple hours on occlusions and then an overnight stay. The view was so calming and refreshing. I would like to thank the staff for their hospitality and helpfulness. There are some very good restaurants in the area, as well some gaming for those with the itch to change a won. Also, we found several second change thrift shops. Found several good deals as we went on our excursion around Tahoe Vista and State Line.

Room Tip: Drop in for a visit and experience the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaWellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwll, General Manager at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear CaliforniaWellness,
The team here is very serious about our guests needs and I am pleased you were greated with hospitality. North Lake Tahoe is very well known for its fine dining restaurants and the casino's are just two miles away. Shopping is a must, sounds like you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Erin M. O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
5.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
10.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
0.6 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#5 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Property: Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Address: 7630 N Lake Blvd, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#2 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Wolf Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing