We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aspen Cabin Great”
Review of Tahoma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tahoma Lodge
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Aspen Cabin Great”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We've stayed at Tahoma Lodge 3 times, two of which we stayed in the Aspen Cabin.
Love the Aspen Cabin with the cozy loft, and two couches, one of which is a futon.
Great stone fireplace and full kitchen. Being Vegan having a kitchen to cook in
was critical. Many great meals, warm fires and quiet evenings...
One reviewer commented that while in this cabin, the loft was hot and the downstairs was freezing. This problem is easily solved by turning on both fans provided. Keeps
air circulating and heat even. Cabin was super clean, bathroom was comfortable.
More clean towels that we could even use... Would and have recommended it to many friends.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CDS326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I liked the lodge and the area but for the price I figured it was going to be better. The tax that they add on later for each night. sneaks up and gets you when you get the total bill. I looked at nearby hotels for the same price you could get a lot better deal but they don't take pets. I didn't even bring a pet with me. It is not likely I would stay here again unless they lower there prices a bit to make it more affordable. I would recommend to a friend if they have pets... The price for the room was 250 total a night. OUCH!!!! I forgot to mention that when we arrived there were two bags of m&ms on the kitchen table and the cool heater in the bedroom was on waiting for us. So that was a very nice touch...Hope this helps when your making your decision as where to stay...

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie11SantaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2008

We love the West shore and have enjoyed staying at the Tahoma Lodge three times.
This past visit was our 2nd time staying in the Lodgepole cabin. We were pleasantly surprised they have redone the floors with hard wood. Great touch!
With such close proximity to the water and our favorite restaurant (Pisanos pizza rules!), we'll definitely stay at the lodge again.
With the full kitchen, make sure to grab some groceries on your way up! Waking up, making a cup of coffee in the kitchen and enjoying a Tahoe morning is the best!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cru_jones_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2008

Cute and cozy! The Tahoma Lodge is a nice place to get away and relax in Tahoe.
We have stayed there several times, and always enjoy the peace and solitude the location has to offer.
The cabins have kitchens, so you can stock up at the nearby PDQ market, or keep your leftover pizza from Pisano's in the fridge!
During the summer months the lake and several parks are nearby, and during the winter, Homewood Ski Resort is minutes away.
I recommend visiting this West Shore get-a-way!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank IheartTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Californai
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Cute, rustic cabins with a kitchen. Lodge allows pets and has a hot tub. We had a great time and plan on going back. Only 10 min from Homewood Ski Hill. Prices are good for the area too. Didn't have any issues with dirt like other reviews state. It's not the Four Seasons so expect a "log cabin" style room.

  • Liked — Dog friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

The only good thing about Tahoma Lodge is that they allow dogs. I'd never stay there again. It was filthy and uncomfortable. The sleeping loft was hot and cramped, while downstairs was freezing. The sheets on the sofabed had not been changed. The indoor air quality was not acceptable, everything smelled like fire even though we didn't use the fireplace. Worst of all was the bathroom, ick! Bring flip flops for the shower.

  • Liked — Their pet policy
  • Disliked — It's disgusting
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TikkunOlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, CA
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2007

My family and I (myself, wife and 3 year old daughter) decided to take a last-minute trip to Lake Tahoe and wanted to stay on the less-commerical, rustic West Shore of the lake. We had no interest in the casinos & strip-malls of the north and south lake cities, just some quiet time in the woods and near the beach. It turns out Tahoma Lodge was the perfect fit.

I'd been to Tahoma before and adored the quiet town and local market, as well as the proximity to Tahoe City, Sugar Pine Point park and other west shore attractions.

I was a little apprehensive after reading one of the reviews here, especially because we were to stay in Alder cabin. I'm happy to say that the cabin was wonderfully peaceful, rustically adorned and very comfortable. I've no idea what noise the previous reviewer was referring to as the basketball court is tiny and was never occupied during out stay. Although the cabin was small, it was just right for our small party and included TV, DVD and kitchen. It was a short walk across 89 (a relatively quiet two lane highway) to the private beach and pier. Not only that, but the prices were considerably cheaper than Tahoe Lake Cottages, a similar establishment right next door.

The service was good: We had fresh towels every day and the staff was wonderfully attentive to our needs. Natalia could be reached at any time via her cell phone and, when we lost our room key on a late evening hike through Sugar Pine park, she quickly met us back at the cabin with another key.

Overall, a pleasant, relaxing stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santanick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoma
12.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
940 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
859 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
0.3 mi away
Tahoma Meadows B&B Cottages
12.1 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#3 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoma Lodge

Property: Tahoma Lodge
Address: 7018 Westlake Blvd., Tahoma, CA 96142
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tahoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tahoma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The quietest lodge on the west shore and the closest one to Emerald Bay. Only a three minute walk to the lake and right off the bike trail! Great for families, with cottages sleeping up to 6 and a duplex with adjoining dinning rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tahoma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahoma Hotel Tahoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing