We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Delight's Hot Springs Resort
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've been going to Delight's Hot Springs for over 10 years. First several times staying in the RV Park which is pretty basic full hook ups. On Valentine's Day in 2011 I took my fiance and spent a night in one of the rooms. The rooms are nothing fancy, no phone, no TV, no Wi-Fi at the time. There is Wi-fi near the spa pools, so maybe they've upgraded a bit.

As for the spa... that's really what it's about. There are 4 enclosed spas, basically cement tubs, about 4 feet deep. Three of the spas have a "sunbrella" covering and the fourth is "topless". It's especially nice at night as you can see the desert star-lit sky. Each spa enclosure includes a shower which should be used prior to and after using the spa. Since you use each spa privately, management suggests you skinny dip as most bathing suits have a soap residue from being washed at home and tends to discolor the water.

The spas are cleaned every night, drained, scrubbed, and refilled. The water comes directly from the ground and the temperatures vary from room to room. There is a constant supply of water entering each spa, so I assume the water is constantly being refreshed. The water when drained is put into a small lake on the premises and is recycled back to the ground water.

Due to the age of the place and the minerals in the water, the showers look dirty. Being in the desert and the sand blowing around, you might encounter sand inside the showers as they are open air... with-in each spa room.

The rooms need to be redone and modernized. But they are clean, again subject to the desert sand. The room we stayed in had a kitchen attached.

The place stays busy, especially in the winter months as many snowbirds come to the area. Room reservations would be suggested, but as far as the tubs go, we go several times a year, during the cooler months, and purchase a reasonably price day pass and have no problem using the spa.

According to the management, the mineral water is second in the world only to Baden Baden, Germany.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim_in_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I didn't stay in a room; however, it didn't appear to be a luxury resort if that's what you're looking for. I did enjoy the atmosphere, and I think I would like to go back and rent a room for the night. The atmosphere was nice and relaxing. There's a nice place to sit out and enjoy the desert view. The hot springs were the best. They felt awesome. Although they weren't fancy, they had a romantic feeling about them. It's a good place for couples as well as for single people who just want to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Don't come here expecting luxury, but what you do find is a very friendly small town community in the middle of the desert making the most of the hot springs, I stayed here for two nights at the end of December in a two room building, it was ok, the bed was huge , comfortable and warm, but this place is all about relaxing and getting in the pools, when I stayed the place was full, but I still managed to get in the pools with little waiting time, they are amazing, straight from the ground! There is a little bistro a few minutes walk from here which is also brilliant, and china date ranch is also worth a visit, no trip to the desert is complete with out this.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank macymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The water was almost unbearably hot but it's nice that you can lock the door and it's private.The cottages need serious repairs, not the poor patch ups that have been done - this made us unhappy, feeling like we were staying in a dumpy place. Bed was decent enough though. No showers in room, only near pool area and be sure to wear flip flops as they look dirty. Woman that worked there was very nice.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gbt300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

we have stayed here twice.
loved the place and loved tecopa. very old fashioned and rustic - but that is what makes it so special.
you can soak in awesome hot water in private pools with your SO.
really cool and romantic.
a great escape

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank eliinbalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Ok, it is a funky hot springs resort in the middle of the desert. Peaceful, quiet, not terribly upscale, but comfortable. Very accommodating staff. Intermittent wi-fi (like everywhere in the desert), no cell phone reception. Biggest upside, the location and the hot springs. Downside, no showers in your room ("everyone uses the hot springs") which is ultimately inconvenient. Basically, a nice stay if you're in the mood. If you're not, you might be unhappy.

Room Tip: You want to be near the baths or you'll have a walk to shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedMustang56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I was here 7 years ago and the cabins had a cute old west bordello charm. This time--dirty, peeling, decrepit. Some paint and new furniture that isn't hideously scarred and woobly would help. The hot water is still great, but the atmosphere was rushed. Not a bad time, but one we wouldn't repeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank landart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Delight's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delight's Hot Springs Resort

Address: 368 Tecopa Hot Springs Road, Tecopa, CA 92389
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Tecopa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tecopa
Price Range: £83 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight's Hot Springs Resort is world renowned for its peaceful atmosphere and therapeutic geothermal heated mineral rich hot springs. Delight's offers 4 completely private hot spring bathhouses. Each bathhouse has its own shower and pool that is available to you in 30-minute increments. We offer day passes to the springs, VIP passes, mud baths, rustic cabins, motel rooms, and RV spaces are available with full hook ups. When staying overnight the Hot Springs are available to you all night long. Our California hot springs are considered by many to be among the best therapeutic waters in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Delight's Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delight`s Hot Spa And Rv Park Hotel Tecopa
Delight's Hot Springs Resort Tecopa, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing