We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfill a fantasy”
Review of Skylark North

Skylark North
Ranked #7 of 19 things to do in Tehachapi
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sailplane school and services, including introductory rides.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
418 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fulfill a fantasy”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Glider port is off highline road, Tehachapi. Snack bar for breakfast & lunch. RV park with water and electricity, approximately 30 spaces. Tehachapi is 3 miles away, lots to do there. Go for the glider ride, another plave (tow plane) pulls you up to 5000 feet and lets you go. Then you soar in silence in the updrafts. Something you will remember for the rest of your life. Bring the RV and spend the weekend. Tehachapi is like going back 40 years in time. Fun for kids too. Frank S. has done it and had a great time. Was on my bucket list. By the way, RV park spaces are about $30. a day. Call them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keene, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great first time glider flight!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife gave a glider flight gift certificate to me and my 13 year old son. We used on Saturday morning, August 10. The weather was perfect, and the ride very smooth. The flight went way up over some of the mountains and we circled down taking in the view. The pilot was very nice and let me know what to expect. The best part of the flight was pulling the release tow cord.

My son also had a great time and we got lots of pictures. He now wants to take flying lessons!

I highly recommend a flight to visitors and even those who live in the area. I've been in Kern County for many years, but a glider flight gives a great view and lets you get a new perspective of Tehachapi and the surrounding area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Soup ...”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

A wonderful atmosphere... scenic and picnic like. Good food, made fresh and friendly locals. Very pleased.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A surprising oasis”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The atmosphere is generic at best, but the food is delicious. AND you get to watch the gliders take off and land. YOu also never know when you'll see someone famous.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerikns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a thrill!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Skylark North Glider School provides the thrill of flight for novices (Granny's sleigh ride)! I could not believe I was soaring above the beautiful valley and mountains (and completely safely thanks to masterful glider pilot). This is an experience not-to-be-missed. And Skylark North is a gem - with the most friendly front desk staff and a wonderul cafe on site!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank xoxo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skylark North also viewed

 

Been to Skylark North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing