We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USA & Canada Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tehachapi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great hotel for one night stop over - once again the Holiday Inn delivers. This hotel is in Mojave Desert - we got there by going to Kings Canyon through Sequioa NP (where the world's largest tree is) winding down on spectacular mountain roads through the orange groves & vinyards & even oil fields near Bakersfield. Great place to stop.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziemartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and two of our friends were going to Tehachapi for a wedding and needed a place to stay for one night. There aren't a lot of options in this area, so we weren't expecting a lot...

The front desk was probably the best part of the whole hotel. The person working was polite, efficient and helpful. We had no problems getting our room key and what-not. He asked if he could help us with anything else. Check-in is officially 3 PM, but he didn't say anything about us being early and sent us up to our room.

However, when we got to the room, the housekeeper was in the hallway and told us it wasn't clean yet. She didn't say much else or offer any type of solution - she actually just started to walk away and we didn't really know what to do... so we ended up leaving our things and headed down to the pool.

It was a hot day so we were excited about the pool... but it was a bit disappointing. It was a small kidney shaped pool with a jacuzzi with jets we couldn't get to work. Surprisingly, although it was the middle of the summer and a hot day - the pool was FREEZING. Of the 4 of us, only one was willing to get completely wet. This may sound like an extremely picky thing... but I'm telling you - that pool was like the arctic!

After about an hour we went back up to the room and it was ready. The room was nice with a fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was large and had a TON of storage space. There were 3 shelves to the right of the sink that were great for toiletries. I really appreciated that! The bed was average. The A/C worked well but was really loud. Everything was clean and in good shape.

We got ready and went to the wedding. When we got back the hallway smelled VERY strongly of cigarette smoke. Even though we were in a non-smoking room, we clearly weren't on a non-smoking floor, so the smell still got in.

We watched some TV (some of the stations were a little fuzzy) and went to bed.

We were excited for the hot breakfast in the morning and when we saw all the options we wanted to try everything. I ended up having to try everything because each thing I tasted was not very good. I kept thinking the next item would taste better, but it didn't. The cinnamon rolls were plasticky, the scrambled eggs were rubbery, the biscuit had a meaty, bacon-y flavor to it, and the hard boiled eggs tasted old. I was very disappointed. My husband said the pancakes were pretty good, but I think he was just excited because they were automatic (you press a button and 2 pop out of the machine in like a minute) Personally I'm not all that excited about food made automatically... so all that being said, there were a lot of options, but none of them were very good. I'm sure the cereal and packaged yogurt tasted fine, but we were excited about the "hot" breakfast aspect and that disappointed me at least. My husband said it was all "fine" but he'll eat almost anything...

Overall, the hotel was ok. Like I said before, there aren't a lot of options in Tehachapi so it's probably the best you're going to get. It's got the brand recognition and standards of a "Holiday Inn Express" so that's working for them.

So yes, I would recommend this hotel despite it's few issues. But I've been to better in this category...

Room Tip: If you're bothered by cigarette smoke, request a room that's not anywhere near smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoovergab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is one of the cleanest and nicest Holiday Inn Expresses I've had the fortune to stay at. Everything was just excellent, including the size of the room and the bath area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cksh41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel was great, had plenty of parking, and had a nice outdoor appearance. The gal at the front desk was friendly and welcoming, she gave us dinner suggestions and directions, even a card for a free appetizer at the local steakhouse. The hotel was clean and comfortable and I would definately stay there again. There is no restaurant attached and nothing in walking distance but the morning breakfast was great. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage/gravy, breads, cereals, yogurt, fruit, cinnamon rolls, juice. There is a small pool and hot tub.
The historic town of Tehachapi was about 3 blocks away and offered a historic train museum/depot. Also shops and few restaurants. Newer end of town also close. Very clean, open spaces. If you are into trains, the Tehachapi Loop is also close. (more info online, search Tehachapi Loop)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinf00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

we had a perfect night in Holiday Inn express Tehachapi on the way to Death Valley. Clean and big rooms and a great breakfast! about 1 mile away from Tehachapi downtown!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviderebellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Nice hotel and room, our only disappointment was the limited breakfast selection which was not up to usual Holiday Inn Express standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

On a trip back home from San Francisco to Orange County, the heavy rain turned into snow on the 5 freeway south and the Grapevine was closed. CHP rerouted us to the 58 and then the 14 to get back onto the 5 South. We got stuck for 2 hours at Mill Rd. in Tehachepi because snow started falling hard and three accidents blocked the freeway for hours. We pulled over and made the decision to stay at the Holiday Inn. I am soooo happy we did.

We got to the hotel and they were totally sold out. Mr Lee took pity on us and a large church group that was also stranded. Mr Lee set up my 76 year old mom and two young kids in the meeting room with a cot. He set the church group up in the breakfast area. Others were able to sit in the lobby for a while. A room became available about 30 minutes later and we took it. The room was clean and well organized with a beautiful color palette. The bathroom was luxurious and they have so many samples like shampoo, conditioner and even makeup remover. We stayed the night and were warm and cozy. We had a great breakfast and were able to get back on our way down to Orange County. We left a beautiful hotel with the snow covering the hills and a few cows were seen dotting those hills. The Holiday Inn in Tehachepi is a beautiful location where you are treated like family. Thanks again Mr. Lee. We thank you for your kindness.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travellingmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tehcafd, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review! We at the Holiday Inn Express-Tehachapi strive to bring our guests the best hospitality possible! And are grateful when it is recognized! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tehachapi hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Inn Tehachapi
Inn Tehachapi
#7 of 8 in Tehachapi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street

Address: 901 Capitol Hills Pkwy, Tehachapi, CA 93561-1370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range: £95 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Tehachapi CA, located in the mountains between the San Joaquin Valley and the Mojave Desert off Highway 58. Winner of the Quality Excellence Award for 2007 and the best choice for your travel away from the noise of the trains, this peace of the Land of the Four Seasons is close to downtown and the world famous Tehachapi Loop, the National Chaves Center and a short drive away from the Wind Farms, Woodward West Action Sports Camp and our famous Mountain Festival in August. The Holiday Inn Express is also steps away from a Dennys Restaurant and less than a mile from several local restaurants which offer a variety of foods. With its 80 spacious guestrooms that include mini suites the Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi also features free high-speed Internet in every room, complimentary deluxe hot Continental breakfast, business center, small conference room, fitness center, and a heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58/Mill Street Hotel Tehachapi
Holiday Inn Tehachapi
Tehachapi Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing