We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude,crowded,will never go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“rude,crowded,will never go back”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My girlfriend and I stopped to get information for a possible weekend getaway. The place was packed with bus tour business,and it seemed the "guests" where on the edge of out of control. Not a good atmoshere sign of things to come! We tried to speak to the front desk agent,who did not give us a hello or a welcome,just a blank stare. We both tried to speak to her,but she acted like we where just a bother she did not want to deal with...That was enough for me to never want to return or waste my money on rude service.

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    398
    156
    59
    57
See reviews for
212
1,167
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went to South Coast for a spa lunch, lounge, and massage type package. It was spectacular! The massage therapist was better than any I have had at the Mission Inn or Glen Ivy. And that is saying a lot. The lunch was delicious though not outrageously unique. The setting was very nice on the top balcony patios overlooking the rolling hills after our massages. The pool area has cabanas for privacy, although we were nearly the only ones there on a week day. The pool and spa were very nice. The locker / steam area was also great. The service was impeccable. Would go again tomorrow if I could get the time and $ to do so.

Helpful?
Thank cheshrgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

So I had this TravelZoo Voucher for a Friday night stay and wanted to extend my trip and purchase the room for a Saturday too.

They advised that they were no longer accepting vouchers for Fridays... although they admitted that they had availability. They could offer the room at full price, of course.

They could care less that I was actually willing to purchase a Saturday night at $350 in addition to my $200 voucher... but they didn't care, they just wanted more money.

Called Travelzoo and got a refund... staying somewhere else. Thank God that Travelzoo is accommodating!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went here with 4 other couples using a great offer from Travelzoo. All of the villas were gorgeous, each with their own fireplace, patio and spa tub. The beds were great. I slept like a baby! We also really enjoyed the private wine and cheese pairing (included in our deal). I'd recommend you try it if you have the time. Also, they have a prime rib special on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Very tasty but beware. Even the "Queen cut" is huge! The breakfast is probably the least exciting of all the amenities but it's still nice to eat out on the patio on a warm day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodys_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I just went for a girlfriends weekend trip to this resort. We had used a Travelzoo package that we purchased and were concerned that it wouldn't be as nice as some of our other trips. We were pleasantly surprised. The villas were roomy even for a bunch of women. The pool and spa were nice. The restaurant was better than we had hoped for. They produce enough different wines that anyone can find one they like. The service in all areas was speedy, which was good because the place was packed. We were very happy to be in one location for everything so that no one had to be a designated driver. It made us wonder if there was more to Temecula than we had thought. We are going to keeps our eyes open for another Travelzoo package and maybe go back to explore the area more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solarpwdrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We traveled to Temecula for a wedding and decided to stay at South Coast Winery on a recommendation from a friend. The room was beautiful. Very pricey. Much more than I expected from the price listed on the website. It can be quite cool at night this time of year so we needed to heat the spacious room. There was no central HVAC, just an under the window unit that noisily clicked on and off every few minutes. For such a beautiful room, why did they scrimp on this? The curtains on the window billowed out each time the heater clicked on, effectively warming the window, but not the room. Miserable night sleep!!! I would not return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great rooms (but they need to upgrae ther TVs), nice pool area; fun wine tasting; excellent room service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,402 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing