We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort and Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We came to the South Coast Winery to relax before our sunrise hot air balloon ride. Our room was beautiful and we relaxed in front of the fireplace. The Christmas lights were beautiful too! Everyone was very friendly.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank KerriKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

KerriKF:
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your five-star review of our winery resort. We're delighted to learn that you found the perfect place for relaxation at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa during the busy holiday season. It sounds like you arrived at the perfect time to take in the view of hundreds of thousands of Christmas lights lighting up our estate, plus take flight in not only our wines but also the sunrise hot air balloon ride. Happy holidays to you and yours, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,528 - 1,534 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I'll preface this with that I was there for a business event and it's not someplace I would ever choose because I'm not a pompous wine [--]. All in my group raved about the wine so it must have been good.

Having said that...the property is beautiful, especially at night with the Christmas decorations. All of the staff we encountered were beyond nice and helpful. As someone else said, they really seem like they are glad you are there. Every request was met with a smile.

The hotel room was way over-priced and poorly laid out. Don't be shocked when they add $40 in taxes to the room cost when you check out. I travel a lot and can never sleep in a hotel bed. This was the most comfortable bed I've encountered.

The food at the dinner we were attending was bad. The meat was dry and tasteless. The fish was undercooked and tastless. They did serve the best cheesecake I've ever had. It was not a huge event so the food should have been better. Instead of a leisurely morning with breakfast the next day, we got up and left and ate on the way home rather risking a meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackKlompus_619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

JackKlompus_619:

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your careful and candid review on your visit to our winery resort during a recent business event you attended. We appreciate and learn from all reviews. From wine lovers to non-wine lovers, each one is equally important to us.

While we are saddened to see that we were unable to meet your dinner expectations, we are delighted to see you enjoyed the beauty of our resort all lit up in its Christmas splendor, found our staff to be helpful and happy to serve, and that you found our beds to be the "most comfortable bed" you've encountered. We believe it is all of these "little details," which you noted as being enjoyable to you, that set us apart from the rest, and we are saddened to see we missed your five-star rating.

Please know we've forwarded your comments along to our chef for further review and action; and we trust you will give us another try in the not-too-distant future to make it right. After all, our Vineyard Rose Restaurant has been judged Best Restaurant in the Inland Empire for the past three years -- and, well, where else will you find the best cheesecake you've ever had?

Until then...

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Was able to stay here due to our company having their holiday party next door to the resort, and boy did I luck out on a room. I was given a Villa, which was beautiful......the fireplace came in handy since it was a bit cold out, but the room in general was fantastic. I had a view of the winery that was really spectacular. All of the staff was very nice and helpful. I would love make a visit a longer one next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Melissa T:
On behalf of all of us at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, thank you so much for the “Outstanding” five-star review you posted on Trip Advisor during your visit from Indiana to our Southern California Temecula Valley Wine Country. It is always a pleasure to receive such exemplary reviews -- especially when they are posted by Senior Trip Advisor Contributors, such as yourself. We hope you make the time to follow your heart's desire and come back for a longer visit on your next trip. We'll keep the fireplace going and the wine pouring for you. Until then...

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hubby and I went for the destination and found the perfect place. South Coast had everything including a very nice restaurant on the premises. The entire property is so relaxing and the service is spectacular. Everyone acts like they are really glad you came. The spa was the best part of the experience. We had a couples massage followed by complimentary wine and a lazy time hanging out on the veranda overlooking the pool. One of the masseuses brought blankets and then it was perfect. Prices were reasonable, room was comfortable, and we had a great view over the vineyards. It was so quiet and peaceful. The only complaint was that the TV was awkward to see from the bed. One morning we were pleasantly surprised to see the hot air balloons. Will definitely return in the spring.

Room Tip: The hotel is great if you want a view from high up. The bungalows are nice but a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mai2centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

mai2centsworth
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your “Wonderful Experience” with your five-star review on Trip Advisor. Based on your write up, it appears as if you took advantage of all the fine amenities South Coast Winery Resort & Spa has to offer. That is, not only did you enjoy a luxurious overnight stay, but you also indulged in a couples massage at the GrapeSeed Spa and enjoyed the fine dining experience that awaits guests in the Vineyard Rose Restaurant. We are delighted to see you took the time to thoroughly relax and enjoy our five-star service. We surmise you are not only a Top Trip Advisor Contributor but you must also be a mind reader: You were right, we really are glad you came and can't think of any greater review from a guest than the one you gave when you said you'll be back this Spring. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon! Until then...

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Beautiful views and a fantastic room. The Villas are spacious and the beds are super comfy. The staff is always friendly and there to help with anything. The Rose restaurant is wonderful and delicious. I highly suggest the banana foster pancake for breakfast and the prime rib for dinner. Don't forget the incredible flourless chocolate cake.

Room Tip: For a more private stay, book a Villa vs a Tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Sonya H

I am finding it difficult, at best, to formulate the words to adequately express our heart-felt appreciation for your heart-felt “The Best of Temecula” five-star review, which you shared here on Trip Advisor. While I know each team member of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa takes pride in offering up five-star service to accentuate the fine amenities provided for our guests to enjoy while under our care, it is testimonials, like yours, that remind us just why we all love going the extra mile. An all cap THANK YOU seems inadequate but is all I have for now, as I'm off to share your review with our team. Don't be surprised if you hear a big cheer echoing all the way from Temecula to Lakewood. Needless to say, we will look forward to serving you again in the not too distant future. Until then…

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our trip could not have been better!!! From the Reception Clerk to the spa staff to the rest of the help there.... such a warm and welcome feeling!!! We will be back.
To South Coast Managment: Keep this service up! Great job!!
Thank you so very much!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the vineyard views.... THE BEST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Paul K:

Wow! On behalf of all of us -- from our Owner, to our Managers, to our Reception Clerk, to our Spa Staff, and Everyone in between -- we thank you for your five-star "BEYOND EXCELLENT” Trip Advisor review. It is both an honor and a privilege to have been a part of your recent getaway to our resort. We are delighted to read that the impression you were left with was one of our very favorites -- that is, that “warm and welcome feeling” you noted in your review.

You see, South Coast Winery Resort & Spa is not just any resort. We are independently owned; and to our owner, this is his home away from home, and each and every guest is his personal guest. He has tasked each and every member of his team to roll out the welcome mat so you are left with an unparalleled feeling of gracious hospitality, and that each and every visit you make to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa you are left feeling as this is a visit to your home away from home.

We promise to keep up the great service so long as you promise to come back soon. Until then...

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just enjoyed an absolutely amazing weekend in Temecula at the South Coast Winery Resort. We were on a birthday weekend celebration. Our room was well appointed with Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, sitting area, large bathroom area with complimentary wine and a great view of the vineyard from our patio, The property was beautifully decorated for the Holidays plus we took a sunset carriage ride, drawn by a horse named "Venus" with a basket of wine, naturally. We were traveling with our daughter and son in law and enjoyed the wine tastings and tours of the wineries nearby as well as our visit to the Sun Coast Tasting Room. The Sun Coast Resort restaurant was wonderful. Our waiter, Nor, was attentive, prompt and possessed a great sense of humor. Especially tasty were the Salmon, Sea bass and Filet Mignon. We would recommend this experience for anyone who enjoys California and the wonderful variety of wines produced there!

Room Tip: Our Casita was right in the vines....beautiful view of the vineyard from our patio. We had fireplac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,470 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
1.6 mi away
Inn at Churon Winery
Inn at Churon Winery
#14 of 19 in Temecula
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range: £163 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing