We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort! Great Experience! Great Villa! On our very 1st night ever in California. Looking forward to returning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Resort! Great Experience! Great Villa! On our very 1st night ever in California. Looking forward to returning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Once again I start my review of this recently visited property by looking at a variety of other reviews in all the categories of ratings...paying particular attention to the past 'terrible' reviews - just to judge what past guests had issues with and to judge their particular complaint level and more often than not... their pettiness.

We had a WONDERFUL TIME and WONDERFUL experience at the South Coast Winery. We actually selected this property after months of research and investigation of other hotels and resorts in the Temecula / Palm Springs area. We actually flew into Palm Springs but had to wait one night until we were able to check into our schedule week-long stay at a resort in Palm Desert... and we were VERY HAPPY with our research and final choice of South Coast.

As an avid Trip Advisor reviewer- hopefully providing some realistic, concrete, and where necessary constructive criticism in any reviews, my / our personal experience at the South Coast Winery was superb, and enjoyable in every aspect.... this again coming from a normally very particular, sometimes fussy, and very detail / customer service oriented traveller/ consumer.

Although not originally planned because of other events, our initially research showed that our travel and arrival time in Temecula coincided with the Balloon and Wine Festival - which, besides the winery resort - proved to be one of the many highlights of our week in California, and was certainly an absolutely fantastic way to enjoy and celebrate our first night and next morning.

We arrived at the resort after an extensive driving tour through the desert and mountain areas from Palm Springs airport to the wine country area of Temecula. We actually stumbled on the resort by accident 'making the right turn just at the right time' as the GPS system in the rental car was not functioning properly at the time. Driving up and into the resort was impressive - beautiful complex of buildings, well landscaped grounds amongst rows and rows of grape vines.

Upon entering the main reception building we were very warming welcomed, and immediately assisted at the check-in desk. Details, directions, and on-site happenings of the resort were thoroughly outlined and we were then off to our 'villa'.
As this was our first night in California and we were only staying one night at the property in order to get to Palm Desert for our week long home base stay at a time share condo resort, we had re booked a one bedroom villa with 2 king beds as there were 4 people (2 couples) in our party. We have all travelled internationally on numerous trips fro many years, but this would be the 1st time every that we had all stayed in the same room for even just one night. But all went extremely well!!!

The villa area is a separate, short drive from the main hotel building. Upon arrival you encounter a very well landscaped, well maintained enclave of villa buildings. Yes their are 2 to 4 units per villa grouping, and depending on bedroom size, you may be sharing a wall, but alt no time did we every have any issue with any noise or disturbance from any other guests or room - and the noise of 'others' is one of my most major issues when travelling. All units in each building enjoy a shared central entrance courtyard with wonderful flowers, fountain, etc., again making a great 1st impression upon arrival.

Even for a one bedroom / 2 king bed villa, the space was 'spacious' and certainly more than adequate for four people with multiple bags, etc. A wonderful seating area a table upon entering, another seating area with fireplace adjacent to wonderful double French doors that opened out onto a wonderful private terrace - wonderfully landscaped (a few details could have been fixed up but nothing major) and viewed out onto an utterly fantastic landscape and horizon of rolling hills of grape vine orchards that disappeared into the distant mountains - breath taking and a classic photographic moment of the perfect vineyard view that you could imagine. The room further opened up into the 2 king bed area which was just off an massive and well appointed marble bathroom - giant tub, massive glass shower, and separate toilet room.
Our villa was next to the wedding garden - which at the time had just been prepped and decorated for a wedding the next afternoon. This was great for myself - a professional event planner - to see how other professional pulled it together. The gardens around the wedding area also provided more photo ops.
I forgot to mention that upon entering our villa a welcome card, bottle of wine, glasses for all, and sweets were laid out for our enjoyment. Little touches can make a big difference, and a big impression. 'It' again is in the details

We did tour the pool and spa area which was very impressive and again well appointed. Our time constraints and unexpected amount of time spent enjoying the Balloon Festival unfortunately allow us to enjoy any pool and sun time.

We did greatly enjoy the wine shop, wine tasting area - which the next day prior to our check out - was packed with visitors, and we actually picked up several bottles of the property's wines specifically from tastings we had dine the night before at the festival. In particular, and as we rescue / raise and show Clydesdale horses back in the Toronto Ontario area, I became fascinated with one of their brands which features a galloping Clydesdale on the label. Having mentioned to one of the shop's sales clerks our passion for Clydes and the fact that my very first rescue Clyde had just recently passed away from cancer, the young sales lady (who was really in charge of the jewellry area of the shops) went out of her way to obtain a row of the Clydesdale image wine labels as a special momento - which I have had framed and proudly hung as a wonderful remembrance of the trip and of my big girl 'Claudia'. Thank You again!!!

All in all we had a truly wonderful, relaxing, and enjoyable experience at South Coast Winery - and hope to return to it - and for the Balloon and Wine Festival - again soon.

Again...words of advice: do your research, read reviews, call (telephone - not just email) the property directly prior to booking if you have any questions, and conduct a follow-up call prior to arriving to confirm your booking and to ensure that they (the property) have properly received and understood stated requirements of your booking. Coupon and discount based travel bookings (even more importantly) need to be followed up and checked by the travel client before arrival as many of these coupon companies are not concerned with any specific booking requests or special details that they client may 'assume' the company has done for them.

Enjoy! We did! We loved our time, only wish we had had more time to stay and enjoy it ourselves!

Room Tip: The villa accommodations are really worth any added expense. The are private, well appointed, and j...
See more room tips
Green Features: Reception counter staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Shop and tasting room staff were also very helpful, and went out of their way to advise and assist.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianwickens407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    321
    117
    48
    45
See reviews for
131
911
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
610 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Did not stay here, but beautiful grounds and a great Vineyard Rose Restaurant which is in a different review as a Chef's Table Dinner celebrating a special occasion. Nice tasting room, very accommodating. Great staff. Charge for tasting as all in Temecula. This is a nice open area, a bit out of the way from the old town area. Nice area to relax .After walking the grounds and going to the Vineyard Rose and working with their great staff for the Chef Table occasion and sampling their wine tasting,we would for sure stay here next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Hi monetkids,
Thank you for your 4-star review of our tasting room at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious tasting room, great staff, and open grounds. The Chef’s Table dinner is an unforgettable and unique dining experience; perfect for celebrating the most special occasions with loved ones. We look forward to welcoming you back for a stay in one of our private villas, or luxurious hotel tower suites. Until then, cheers to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friend and I did a last minute Travelzoo deal (think its still being offered while I'm writing this) in mid August, mid week for a Villa stay. We received a big gift bag with a bottle of wine, crackers, blanket, cork opener thing, coupons for the tasting room......was really nice! The Villas are big enough and ours was right next to the pool. Tasting room is big, and the breakfast area is on a large balcony overlooking the vineyards. August is a great time to go as all the vines are full of grapes giving it a lush, Tuscany vibe. The second day we went wine tasting and found that most of the time Uber would drive out there to pick us up. Massages were great. A nice, easy escape from LA or San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Hi Jacqueline N. ,
Thank you for your 5-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are so glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our wonderful mid-week stay special, and enjoy a short, local wine country getaway. August is the perfect time of year to relax by the pool and enjoy a massage at our resort, then explore the beautiful and luscious wine country of Southern California. We hope to see you in the near future on your next escape to Temecula Valley Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Villas are roomy and well stocked, the bottle of wine that came w/the room was only soso. We attended a wedding and reception there, the wedding in the garden was very nice, the reception area was in a basement, which was a little disappointing. Also had a brunch before leaving, and will have to say the food was all fresh and delicious, the servers were all very prompt and professional. Weekends are very pricey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Hi Twilight54,
Thank you for your 4-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds at the wedding, and the fresh, delicious food expertly prepared by our own talented Chefs during your stay. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Temecula Valley Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had the privilege of staying at SCW for 3 months this past summer (why, is a long story). So we have some unique perspective on this wonderful property. We stayed in several different villas, the new hotel, we enjoyed the winetasting, the restaurant, the pool, the poolside cafe, and local attractions. we live in Murrieta, so we are very familiar with the Wine Country. This resort is fantastic. in looking at other reviews of this hotel, i see a few are less enthusiastic - i would just say that, if for any reason you are not satisfied, you should let the staff know immediately and i'm sure they'll do whatever they can, within reason, to address the concern. After 3 months of living here, in multiple villas and in the hotel, we encountered just about every situation you can imagine, and in all cases the staff were gracious and diligent in addressing any concerns or comments. The staff are "good people", and quite sincere in their efforts to please. In all of the rooms and situations we found ourselves, we only experienced one room that was substandard - 2902 (carpets look pretty broken in, but we had a guide dog with us, so this may be a room set aside for this purpose). There were six of us staying here, so there were times when we needed a few more towels, and just asked, and they brought them. On a couple of occasions (over nearly 100 nights) we were short one placesetting, and the staff quickly brought out another set. On many occasions the staff made some "special exceptions" - just ask, and if staff can, they will, and if they can't, respect them for doing their best! My parents have traveled the world, and are a bit picky in the quality of lodging, and i would have no qualms about recommending SCW to my own parents, family, friends, out of town guests.. In various evenings relaxing at the pool we met many couples and families that come back to SCW each year.

Here are just a few things we came to appreciate even more after staying here for 3 months:

* the villas are well decorated, comfortable, VERY quiet, and each has a nice private to semi-private patio (book early and ask for a premium view along the outer ring of villas, toward the mountains and vineyards, although many of the interior villas have very nice views - the ones right next to the pool or hotel may be a bit louder, but they are well insulated with a/c!)

* the staff are courteous, professional, responsive and when they make a mistake (rare), they are quick to resolve it

* the front desk staff are exceptional (especially Kayla!)

* the occasional weddings are delightful (just relax, and be patient with wedding guests that may accidentally park in your villa spot - it's all good, there is plenty of parking)

* the gym is more than adequate for nice bike ride or some weights

* the poolside cafe is great, and the Vineyard Rose restaurant is excellent

* take advantage of happy hour for unique treats at a very reasonable price

* enjoy a carriage ride around the property

* while we stayed at SCW, we visited Thornton for a Chris Botti concert (good idea to book ahead for a special event evening; there are also plenty of other nice restaurants in the Wine Country)

TIPS
* ask for a pot of hot water if you'd like to enjoy your own blend of tea (we are Teavana fans)
* an early morning or dusk walk around the property is a great way to start and/or end the day
* ask for a microwave (they have a few on hand) if you'd like that option
* TIP THE STAFF - all of the staff work very hard - the daily cleaning staff, bellman, room service, night security, front desk.
* while there, become a Wine Club member!

We plan on coming back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevingthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Needless to say not every experience was like ours, but we found it overall very underwhelming. Room cleanliness was substandard, room overall was average to good. Not enough towels. Our package included a bottle of wine, but we missed the cut off point when making out res. No TV for a day.smoker on the balcony downstairs. Pool water cloudy. Wine tasting room unfriendly staff and zoo like atmosphere. Wine quality, good to excellent. Somethings just need to be tightened up for 4**** rating now only 3 1/2***. Great potential with attentive staff like Kimberly and Fred.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cchrcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Hi cchrcro,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. While we greatly appreciate you recognizing some of our attentive staff members and quality of wine, we are equally disappointed to hear your experience left you wanting more. Please be assured that we take all feedback constructively, and use it towards improving the experience of all future guests. We trust that you will give South Coast Winery Resort & Spa a second visit the next time you are in Southern California Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This winery is the best! The setting and location are beautiful. The staff at the wine tasting are fun, ask for Jen and you'll have a great experience. The villas are pretty, cool and stylish. Dinner? Amazing, and top it all off with bananas foster for breakfast. You may end up wondering if you are in heaven...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi MCatto,
Thank you for your “Fabulous” review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize our wonderful tasting room staff member, Jen, and the great experience she helped create for you. We are so glad to hear you indulged in an overnight stay in our villas and the delicious Rolling Hills Banana Foster Pancake for breakfast. We’ll look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#2 of 19 in Temecula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
6.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing