We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to make new friends, just be open minded”

The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #64 of 418 Restaurants in Temecula
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy dining in a historical bank building. Authentic Mexican comfort food Family owned friendly laid back patio bar with excellent margaritas, mojitos, sangrias and more. Weekend brunch 9am-12 pm featuring skillet egg scrambles.
Goochland, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
498 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“great place to make new friends, just be open minded”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Don't know about the food but the bartenders make a mean Margarita. You may end up like me and meet some people you normally don't hang with but you can have a good time. Do not listen to the snobs that don't like this place, just be open minded and have a good time. Let the good times roll!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Owner at The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    79
    69
    30
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dinner in Old Town Temecula”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The restaurant is located in the historic bank building located at the southern end of Old Town. The dining area is casual with indoor and outdoor seating. The food was reasonably priced, tasted quite good, portions were just about right for us. Dinner for 2 was less than $30.00 without alcohol. The server and staff were quite friendly and helpful with a few tips about other places that we might enjoy for breakfast and lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kukui_Aloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Owner at The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm happy you described it just as we strive for.
Christy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stopped here to eat after completing a wonderful wine tour in Temecula. Service: terrible, drinks arrived after food had been served, beer half the glass was foam, Margarita, watery and sugary,not even cold. Food: Chile Rellano, my normal favorite, never had one so tasteless and had some kind of meat on top of it. Never had a chance to request more tortillas for the fajita's since the waitress never came back to our table. Could have been a bad night but it was a Saturday, would never go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barbdemuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Drink-oriented, food comes 2nd”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had lunch on a week-end. Crowded, but nice atmosphere. Food was way below average; service was so-so; long wait for food as they tried to sell us more drinks. Lots of "Cantina" type places out there that outdo this one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunter003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Owner at The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I will agree that our recipes are original from the heart of Mexico and are not modern foodie recipes. We use great quality ingredients in all our recipes. Perfect for the customer that is craving tacos, enchiladas, and a great chile relleno or huevos rancheros. Maybe try our carne asada plate or chipotle raspberry wings:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not good! But chips and salsa are tasty at least.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Visited this restaurant on recommendation from hotel staff. It has a great location in Old Town Temecula and the bar scene looks busy and fun...but the food is blah.

Good part: Chips and salsa are good :-)
Ordered carnitas plate, rice and beans,and flour tortillas. Also ordered a small bowl of chicken tortilla soup.

The soup was over seasoned with cumin and another spices. Very little chicken and more corn niblets and tortillas strips than actual soup. I could have eaten it with a fork instead of spoon. I've made this soup at home and eaten it at other places and this is not it.

The carnitas plate was even worse unfortunately:-( The plate was divided in three sections with the carnitas being in the bowl-type middle. The carnitas were floating in oil...not just a bit...but like
literally floating in it. I picked up a piece with my fork, and put it on my napkin to try to soak up some of the oil and it took two napkins. Took a bite and just got a mouth coating of grease. Yuck!

Decide to try the rice (tasted ok) and beans on a tortilla...tortillas were cold and hard as a rock even though they were wrapped in a hot piece of foil. My husband and I even joked about how the tortillas were even crispier that the tortillas chips! The beans were just blah...no taste and smothered in cheese.

His combination of one cheese enchilada and taquitos was tolerable to him with exception of rice and beans (flavorless).

How do you mess up Mexican food? Very disappointed!

Did mention it to server and got apology, but that's it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Owner at The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not care for our recipes besides the chips and salsa. I will definitely talk to the staff about the amount of grease in the carnitas. I'm surprised about the tortillas. We take them right off the grill onto the foil so I will make sure they are consistent with that.
Thank you again,
Christy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Bank - Mexican Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing