We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful RV resort!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Temecula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vail Lake RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We found this resort online and were worried about what we would find. Photos can be deceiving but we were more than pleasantly surprised! We stayed in the Oaks section and were surrounded by beautiful Oak trees. Weekends are crowded but Sunday night we had the area to ourselves. There are 3 pools with one being the size of an olympic pool! Large grassy area with fishing pond adjacent to pool provides a serene and peaceful atmosphere. Saturday night we were entertained by live music and yummy tacos! The onsite market was also very reasonably priced. Like I said weekends are crowded and I guess it's like anywhere else where you can't control your neighbors. We walked past very noisy patrons with boom boxes blaring. I did notice security driving by but I don't know if they ask people to be quiet. I don't understand why some people think that it's okay to blast their music so loud that campers 20 spaces away can still hear you. All in all I think this was a great park and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baseballm0m_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed here last Memorial Day Weekend. We had been steered to our spot #208, by the girl I made the reservation with. She had told me it was her 'favorite'. By no means was this possible. It was basically a large dirt spot with a dead tree and two very rickety wooden shade structures. It was right across from the bathroom, so there was a lot of foot traffic and noise. The worst part about the weekend was the incessant noise from numerous 'golf carts', most with gasoline engines and many with very loud muflers that would cruise around the campground all day long. The campground was fairly dirty as well with litter everywhere. The only consolationw as that the bathrooms and showers were kept clean.
The pool area was nice, any we enjoyed the water slide, but these were not enough to make it what I would call a good weekend.
Next time, if there is one, we would stay in chardonnay mesa on the outside ring to enjoy the grassy area and better views.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
7  Thank pjlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Stayed at Vail Lake Resort for 4 days. Arrived at 11pm in the dark. Camp Host escorted us to our campsite. Stayed in the "Oaks" section. We arrived the Friday night before Easter and the campground was almost completely full. To be expected there were many people up late sitting around camp fires partying having fun. The Oaks area has beautiful oak trees covering the area. Drove through the other sections of the campground the next day and all looked great. I'd suggest staying in the Chardonnay Mesa section if sites are available. They are a little close but beautiful views all around. Drove through Arroyo Seco section in the back and it is in need of a total renovation. Beautiful pool area with well groomed lawn surrounding the exterior. One thing to remember is that there is no cable TV available in the campsites.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DADuv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We love camping and are pretty serious campers, but this place is like a luxury hotel for camping. It's 5 mins from wine tasting + they have waterslides ++ 3 pools +++ a bar ++++ and they're decently priced. If you go at the right times of the year it's not too hot. It's incredibly clean, I would suggest though staying in the Chardonnay Mesa, cleaner, nice breeze, and they have gorgeous lawns. There's even a laundromat on the grounds. I would reccommend for anyone

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank davefan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed 3 nights at Vail Lake RV resort in Temecula California. It's located 38000 Highway 79 South, Temecula Ca, in Riverside County. [--]

We got there late on Thursday night (after 10:00 p.m.)- no guard, no camp host, no place to check in...... and someone was in our site. Security found us driving around and helped us find a new / better site. We were supposed to be in space 28 on Chardonnay Mesa - it was pretty full up there, but there were several open spots just not a corner spot like 28 that we had reserved. So, we ended up on Rincoon - I think it would maybe ben considered part of the Merlot section. It was a hill top with about 20 spaces - of which only 4 were occupied. We drove around alot and checked out the whole campground and made some notes on good sites for future reference. We visit Temecula often because my best friend lives there. Vail Lake was 20 minutes from her door.

We checked in Friday morning and told the office of our new location - no problems. They wer booked in some other sections - the Oaks & Chardonay Mesa. We also checked out the other loops and found it to be a very nice campground.

If you're looking for 50 yard in between sites - no. The sites are right next door - not completely ON TOP of the site next door, but pretty close. Most all sites have a nice fire pit, some come with chairs & picnic tables.

I would recommend getting a corner spot if possible.

They have a large swimming pool - on Friday it was nice, not too many people, but pretty dirty - leaves, bugs & cloudy. Saturday we went back and the pool had been cleaned but it was still cloudy - granted now the pool was FULL. We didn't stay long.

Saturday evening we drove down to San Diego for dinner at Anthony's Fish Grotto and walked around Seaport Village. 1 hour exactly to San Diego - traffic was not bad. Take the 79 to the 15 south to the 163 south to Ash street - this takes you right over to the Pacific Highway.

We will be planning more trips to Vail Lake - it's a great location for our needs and the price is good for having full hookups.

FYI - they sell firewood and also have a propane refill station.

11  Thank JillYAZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temecula hotels
5.6 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,486 reviews
5.5 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Pechanga Resort and Casino
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn Temecula Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Lake RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Lake RV Resort

Address: 38000 Highway 79 South, Temecula, CA 92592
Region: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Temecula
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Lake RV Resort features 467 full hook up RV sites with 30 and 50 AMP power. The property is adjacent to Vail Lake with great Largemouth Bass fishing and boating. Vail Lake has miles of challenging and scenic mountain bike trails (best suited for intermediate and advanced riders)along with miniature golf course, horseshoe pits, bocce ball and more. The majority of our RV camping sites are located among a large grove of mature oak trees offering shaded areas for relaxing. We are minutes away from the wineries and amenities of the Temecula Valley but the setting is rustic and natural with views of the surrounding mountain region. Currently we do not offer tent camping at Vail Lake but we may be offering some tent sites in the near future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vail Lake Village And Rv Resort
Vail Lake Village & Rv Hotel Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing