We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, green oasis in the wine country!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Temecula Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temecula Creek Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cool, green oasis in the wine country!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

As other reviewers have stated, this is an older property that has been somewhat updated. We asked for one of the remodeled rooms when we made our reservation and stayed in the building closest to the restaurant and golf clubhouse. We spent two nights there while visiting the nearby wineries. We looked forward to the cool, green oasis of the Temecula Creek Inn after the crowds around the wineries. The on property restaurant and bar area have been totally remodeled. We enjoyed breakfast there, but our favorite memory is sitting in the outside bar area listening to the water pouring over the boulders in the golf course lakes. It was shady and cool on a warm day. We enjoyed cocktails and delicious fig and goat cheese flat bread appetizers. A very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of the newly remodeled rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    248
    110
    70
    70
See reviews for
142
407
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Temecula Creek Inn is a quaint, off the beaten path little golf resort. We stayed one night in a standard lower level king room that looked out on the golf course. The hotel was about 15 minutes from main wine country.

Arrived at 530PM and were checked in promptly. The lobby is smaller, but offers a small gift section. I didn't notice any breakfast offerings (for free) while there.

The room was down a set of stairs (or elevator) and had generous space for storage, a tub/shower combo, dual sinks, toilet room and a flat screen HD TV. The decor was modern-ish, but the building and some of the bathroom fixtures were clearly dated. It felt like an older hotel that got a facelift within the last few years. It was clean, nothing bad that stuck out in my mind, but as other travelers mentioned you do notice its a little older. The room was quiet and the AC worked very well. The bed was awful. It was older with one of those mattress toppers on it. Pillows were flat. Shower had good water pressure. It was nice that the toilet was in its own room. There was a desk with chair and a separate lounge chair.

We ate at Cork Fire Kitchen for dinner and for breakfast. Dinner was good, breakfast was good as well. Ill detail my dinner experience in a separate Yelp review, but here it is as well...

We had reservations at 630PM and we needed them, the place was busy. Large bar area when you walk in with plenty of seating, smaller main dining room. Decor was nice, looks to be recently done as many other travelers have noted. The menu was modern, plenty of drinks and a good selection of food.

We had the calamari, scallops and beef tenderloin. The calamari was bland and just average. Regular breaded calamari with cocktail sauce that tasted just like it came from a jar. Could have used maybe some pep in its step. Scallops were good, served with asparagus and polenta cakes. Scallops are tough to cook, two of them were chewy and two were perfect. I can't fault them for that, they cook quick quick! Great taste, good dish. The beef tenderloin was described as sliced (I think) but it was served in two chunks. Very crispy on the outside with a THICK layer of peppercorns. Cooked medium inside, wife liked it. We had a special valentines desert described as strawberry soup, balsamic vinegar, rocky road brownies. It was... interesting. It likely won't make it to the regular menu.

Dinner was good, we would eat here again if staying in the hotel. Breakfast had some interesting items... Some good looking waffles and pancakes. We stuck to the regular eggs benedict and I got just eggs and avocado. Good for breakfast if you are in the hotel or are not, neat menu.

Overall, we wanted a unique Temecula hotel experience- not the Holiday Inn Express. Temecula Creek Inn gave us just that. Is it dated? Sure, but is it clean? Yep! Good food? Yep! Parking? Yep! Nice grounds? Beautiful indeed.

Room Tip: Get a reservation if you want dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimisis303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you are looking for a retreat in the Temecula Valley that is outside the hustle and bustle of town, this is your place. Yes, it is a little rustic but what is wrong with that? The king rooms have plenty of space, a comfortable bed, new TVs and either a patio or balcony facing the golf course and some longer views - great for relaxing and sipping some of the local wines. If your neighbors are noisy, you may hear them but it was quiet after 10 pm. We had our building almost to ourselves on a Thursday night but the resort was a lot busier on the weekend. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient, check out was accurate and quick, the new restaurant is top notch and the golf is very good. Unless you need modern facilities and state of the art everything, you will love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room if you are able to tote your bags up the stairs - quieter and a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

My friend and I arrived on a Wednesday morning for a one night stay with unlimited golf. We found the receptionist to be very accommodating as well as friendly. Our king room was in very nice condition including the bathroom. We were on the lower floor with a patio overlooking the 1st tee of one of the 3 nine hole courses. The area is very beautiful with lots of oak trees. The golf staff was very friendly and kept to our reserved tee times. These courses appear to be very popular and as a twosome on the first day pace of play was very slow behind a foursome. However on day two we were paired with another twosome and pace of play was good. The only criticism I might make is that with this particular package, they do not allow you to play before 11:00 the first day and you can only play 18 holes on day two so it is not really "unlimited golf". I would definitely recommend TCI to others and would also return myself.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suewilson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCResortsMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Temecula Creek Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and your feedback regarding your golf experience. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I got a groupon for a few nights stay at this hotel which is also on a golf course in wine country. My friend and I arrived Friday night in time for dinner. We sat at the bar and had an awesome bottle of Malbec, flatbread and chicken wings. Everything was outstanding. The service was great and the restaurant was just renovated and lovely.
The next day we had breakfast in the same restaurant. (a free breakfast was included in our package, as well as a bottle of wine each night). I can tell you that the steak and eggs, which was the most expensive item on the breakfast menu ($17) and was still included in the free breakfast, was the BEST steak I have ever had for breakfast. Soooo tender. The next day my niece has the same breakfast and the steak was just as good.
The hotel is located very close to main street Temecula where we went to the farmers market Saturday morning. A definite DON'T miss. Then we headed out to several wineries that were all located in close proximity. It was a great day. We opted to purchase their winery special, 3 wineries for $30. Great value. Be sure to check it out.
The room was just wonderful with a view of the golf course. Comfy bed, nice bathroom.
We were at the farthest end of the property on the second floor, and we had no noise issues of any kind.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are coming to Temecula, CA and you have a groupon. Otherwise, it is pretty pricey, bu

Room Tip: Higher floor (2nd) has best view of golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCResortsMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Temecula Creek Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Toni,
Thanks so much for your review of Temecula Creek Inn! We love hearing feedback on what we can do to make your stay one to remember. Thank you for sharing about your great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at TCI for 3 nights in a Premier King room. The room was roomy and nicely furnished, but the facility was dated. The bathrooms should be completely redone and the electrical outlets need to be replaced -- plugs fall out.

The resort grounds are lovely and the views of the golf course great. Again, the chief complaint is that the hotel buildings are dated, some with siding falling off, in need of painting and not very attractive. The restaurant and pro shop has undergone a recent renovation and is very attractive. The restaurant is also very good. We had five excellent meals there and met guests for drinks overlooking the creek, falls and golf course. Very nice.

Our complaint was with the golf, which we initially enjoyed. The course is very nice. We had purchased the golf package, and made tee times to play golf all three days. We made these tee times three weeks prior to arrival and the times were confirmed when we arrived. The problem occurred on our third day. We decided to only play nine so we could clean up and check out by 1. We confirmed this with the pro shop the day before and with the front desk for the 1 pm checkout. And we showed up to play at our reserved time. To be told we could not play then because they had a Wed outside men's group that was playing then. After our complaints, they put us on the course ASAP -- directly behind this men's group. Which were obviously overbooked and were backed up throughout the course. We were able to play 6 holes in 2 hours. We quit in frustration, packed up and left.

Our point is that TCI did not honor their guests reservation. They gave preference to an outside group to the disadvantage of their paying guests. This practice changes the profile of this "resort." True resorts exclude outsiders if they interfere with the resort guests. TCI did not and that changed our opinion of the place dramatically.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for a training program. Every aspect was perfect, staff, food, and ambience. If you need a relaxing few days his is where you go. A minor thing for the future is the rooms. They are comfortable and roomy, however the decor is looking dated and dark.

Putting this aside the people were great and location wonderful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temecula hotels
6.4 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
6.6 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temecula Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temecula Creek Inn

Property: Temecula Creek Inn
Address: 44501 Rainbow Canyon Rd, Temecula, CA 92592-5988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#5 Business Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Temecula Creek Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temecula Creek Inn is located in the heart of Southern California’s wine country. Our 130 Guest Rooms and Guest Suites are warm and beautifully appointed with custom furniture, rich colors and luxury amenities. Dining at Cork|Fre Kitchen offers breakfast, lunch and dinner menus highlighting the best ingredients the Temecula Valley has to offer. Our 27-Hole Championship Golf Course is just steps from our lobby and is the best Golf Experience in Temecula. Weddings are a special day for everyone. The picturesque setting of Temecula Creek Inn and our experienced Wedding Planners ensure your Wedding will be a truly memorable experience. Temecula Creek Inn features over 8,300 square feet of Meeting Space to accommodate an intimate gathering or a larger Social Event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temecula Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temecula Creek Hotel Temecula
Creek Inn Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing