We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petting Zoo on Steroids”

Happy Acres Family Farm
Ranked #21 of 29 things to do in Templeton
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Petting Zoo on Steroids”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great place for families. Loved all the animals. Reserved the tour for $25 each. For that price they should have a bathroom and a place to wash your hands with soap. Also some water even if I had to pay for it. Wonderful alternative to wine tasting. Still had an awesome time. Hard to find though. Not sure what happened to the farm stand everyone talks about.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Farm fun!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We made an appointment to do a tour and it was a lot of fun! They have more than just happy goats at this farm too! Our favorite part was the "kindergarden" where baby animals of different species hang out to learn to get along with each other. We were able to enter and pet these cute little guys (mini-pigs, goats, chickens, there was even a puppy in there at the time). We then learned how goat cheese is made and donned some hair nets and mixed up a batch of spices into our goat cheese to take home. A fun date!

Helpful?
Thank hikingbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Goat Lotion, goat cheese!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I have to stop here every time I'm in town to see the goats, llamas, horses, and the farm's dogs, and to stock up on their lovely goat-milk lotions. A sweet stop in a fabulous wine tasting and olive tasting region.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mzungu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great fun for all age groups”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We took three generations to Happy Acres and everybody loved it. This is a working goat farm that has many other animals as well and an owner who is very sweet and patient, particularly with the kids.
When you arrive, you're greeted by goats who rush to the fence in hopes of a hand-out. Close behind is a miniature donkey, a one-eyed horse named Spider, and a couple of llamas. There's a big bucket of oats and everyone is welcome to dip in and feed the animals.
Our tour was conducted by Lori, who explained how the farm works, told us funny anecdotes about the animals, and led us through the process of milking a goat--yes, everybody did it from the 3 year old to grandpa--and then gave each of us a chance to make our own fresh goat cheese.
The farm also has miniature horses which are very cute, a whole pack of affectionate dogs, pot-belly pigs, geese, chickens, rabbits, and a white goat named Wilson who thinks he's a dog. (Wilson was a runt whose mother rejected him, so the dogs raised him and now he tags along with them.)
Everybody gets to take home the cheese they make, and last night we made goat cheese and fire roasted tomato pasta that was delicious. It was the perfect end to a terrific visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAquinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place is adorable and the animals were very friendly -- we got to say hello to a bunch of goats, miniature horses and a big horse with only one eye...so sad to see, but he seemed so happy! We didn't get to sample any of the products, but the cheeses, spreads and bath products looked great! Fun stop!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank maggieroman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Acres Family Farm also viewed

Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Happy Acres Family Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing