We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Sea Ranch!”
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVED Sea Ranch!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Pacific Spa Room (#19) with our little dog in October 2013. Checking in, and walking around the grounds, we were delighted to see so many other "dog people."

The room is top notch - beautifully designed, quality materials, smelled great, perfectly clean, clean carpet, very good bed, very good linens, windows were huge and clean (but I vote to remove those two big bushes that take out about 1/3 of the view of the coastline!). The little private side yard was beautiful and really convenient for the dog. My husband got some cool photos of the night stars from that deck.

Our dinner at the onsite restaurant, Black Point Grill, was great, and our waiter Francisco was wonderful, even telling us a personal story about his family, which we appreciated. He was genuine and sweet, and even offered to take our photo to send to our kids. Good job, Sea Ranch, on hiring Francisco.

The grounds and the trails are just fantastic! We also visited Point Arena Lighthouse, and the Pier Chowder House & Tap Room at the Point Arena Cove Wharf.

Areas of Opportunity:

As "dog people", we needed an outside area that was shaded to have a drink from the bar in the afternoon. The Adirondack chairs in the back facing the ocean were great, but didn't have umbrellas for shade. So we sat in the Adirondack chairs on the shady front porch of the Reception area with our drinks and dog. This was OK, but would have preferred the ocean front back area. An employee saw us there, came out and gave us dog cookies, which was super nice.

Perhaps the orange chair lounge area can be made dog friendly for drinks, or even meals? What a treat that would be!

A small annoyance in the room was the coffee situation - it was a water kettle that you had to continually pour boiling water into an open coffee filter perched atop a coffee cup, hoping not to overflow the filter or the cup, the whole process forced you to stand there pouring, pouring...A normal coffee maker would be an improvement.

The two ladies that served breakfast - the older one tried to be nice, but the younger one was downright miserable. When she brought an actual bill, we tried to ask why and she condescendingly told us to fill out the room #, etc. We explained that the breakfast is complimentary with the room, and that's when she realized her mistake. She came back with the corrected bill and slapped it down on the table without a word, nor an apology. She should not be customer-facing.

Overall, we had a fantastic time at Sea Ranch, and would absolutely come back.

Thank you, Sea Ranch, THANK YOU for being dog friendly!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
PTown4545

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, you definitely had the nicest room in the house and we all certainly enjoy hosting "dog people"!

I will share your comments with my team and see how we may improve on some of the areas you pointed out.

I look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    241
    93
    43
    13
See reviews for
125
497
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wonderful place to stay - restful, good walking, excellent local food....surrounding landscape, unique homes in the area are definitely worth seeing. On the return ride to San Francisco,a visit to the Anderson Valley wine area is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
jane w

Thanks for your positive remarks! As you pointed out, we appreciate the unique environment we find ourselves in.

We look forward to your next stay.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We loved the design of the Sea Ranch and only wished that we had more time there. Stunning view of the sea from our room. The restaurant for dinner was okay, but the setting was so enjoyable that it made up for any misses on the food. We all loved our breakfasts. The only downside of our one-night stay...our neighbors hosted some sort of gathering in their room from 2 AM to 3:30 AM, blasting music. We could not believe the front desk or security let it go on for so long. Hopefully, they had wretched hangovers in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Claudio O

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the design of the Sea Ranch, it has that effect on nearly everyone. My apologies for rude neighbors, there are some things beyond our control, but I will review with my team trying to better stay on top of behavior that is disruptive to our other guests.

I hope you find the opportunity to visit again.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Sea Ranch lodge was a beautiful place. However, it's incredibly expensive. I stayed with a friend and we split the cost of a room. It was still a huge expense.

The food is good, the internet service is spotty. The views are great. The trails around the property are cool. There are plenty of seals that hang out nearby to bring a smile to your face.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
kate S

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you found the Lodge to be a beautiful place. You happened to visit during our peak time which would explain our rates at the time. There are certainly other times of the year when Sea Ranch is just as beautiful to visit that may be a better value for you.

We hope you will consider visiting again sometime in the future.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Let me start by saying that the facility, rooms, location and grounds of the Sea Ranch Lodge are amazing and beautiful. Unfortunately my husband and I were met with such bad customer service across the board that we couldn't wait to leave. I am extremely disappointed after reading such good reviews and being so excited to arrive here.

We were met with rude people at the front desk and were completely ignored at breakfast service. Overall it seemed that there was a lack of management and that there were not enough staff at any point of time. This caused people to wait and lines to form at the restaurant with no one there to greet them. Servers would walk by and not make eye contact, ignoring them for long periods of time.

The server's at dinner were friendly but still very behind. We just got used to waiting about 15-20 minutes to be seated and then double that to be given a menu or given water. I have never felt this way about a hotel. It was such a huge contradiction to have such a nicely remodeled place with a great view and good food to then have such a poorly trained and managed staff. For the price we paid I really would expect a lot more. Hopefully the remodel is fresh and the staff is new and just figuring things out. I wish I could write I good review for this place but cannot. I don't recommend it.

I reached out to the manager of my concerns after we left and have not heard back...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sml012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent my wife's birthday here.
We had dinner there as well as the included breakfast. Both the food and service were excellent!
Our room had a wonderful ocean view. The surrounding views of wildlife and natural habitat are added treats.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjgonzo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
vjgonzo3

Thanks for choosing the Sea Ranch Lodge to celebrate your wife's birthday! I was delighted to hear that our food and service were excellent. The ocean views are quite spectacular aren't they?

I hope you have the opportunity to visit again!

Regards

Lowell Johnson
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We celebrated my 60th birthday this week and decided on a side trip to the coast before our ritual Napa visits. Very worthwhile and beautiful diversion. The Lodge is a great facility in every respect. The rooms look out over the ocean - we stayed in the least expensive room and it was wonderful. The included breakfast is a REAL breakfast with many choices. Service was tops. The best however is the location - gorgeous views of the Pacific, huge cliffs, plants, birds, seals (when you're lucky), and lots of walking trails. We visited Fort Ross winery - good wines and tasting room views. The Lodge gets you access to a nice gym in Gualala about 12 minutes away. We highly recommend the Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
FishSarasota

Thank you for celebrating your milestone birthday with us! Napa is certainly beautiful, but as you pointed out, this part of coastline is absolutely worth the trip. As delighted as I was to hear that our service was great, you are right in that this location is amazing. Thank you for your recommendation, we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Sea Ranch
13.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
92 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
298 reviews
11.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terra Glamping
Terra Glamping
#1 of 1 in Stewarts Point
10 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Property: Sea Ranch Lodge
Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr, The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing