We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stay October 22, 2013 and our stage was perfect.
Hotel facilities are a milestone of the American Achitecture and the localtion over the cliffs is outstanding. Room, service and food in line with our high expectations.
Our only comment for improvement is that to offer some newspapers or magazines to help to spent some time after dark considering that the facility has not TV and there is not library or video equipment. WiFi worked very well.
We definetively we will stay back in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Manuel L

We definitely appreciate the architectural environment we share in The Sea Ranch. It is truly unique.

It is also quite satisfying to share with my team that your experience was in line with with your high expectations. We will take into consider your recommendations for alternative entertainment in addition to the daily newspapers we do offer.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    239
    93
    43
    13
See reviews for
125
491
40
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Sea Ranch Lodge and I don't think I have ever had such a perfect stay anywhere else in my 32 years of life!

1. The room was decorated in a mid-century modern style - with clean bedding and the most comfortable bed ever. Only complaint is that the bathroom door did not close fully- its a sliding exterior door and it left an inch gap. Not a problem if you are traveling alone or with your significant other- unless you want complete privacy when doing your business. You know.... that kind of business. This may have been unique to our room. They had robes for us and great bath products. The kinds you take with you when you leave because they smell so good!
Our room (number 3 I believe) had a bay window with the most gorgeous view of the ocean! We even say deers in the evening eating some grass just a few feet away. At night every star in the sky was viewable from our bed. It was pure magic and I wish I didn't have to leave!

2. The restaurant was one of the best places we ate on our 11 day road trip of northern california. And we are definitely foodies. I had the ravioli and my friend had the beef stroganoff- soooo delicious!! The pricing was reasonable. The key lime dessert was to die for!!
Breakfast was also exceptional.

3. The area the lodge is on is amazing for hiking and exploration. I bought a kite and had hours of laughter and fun on the clearing overlooking the ocean. There are hikes to the beach as well as into these abandoned old barn and shed (with an incredible amount of wild mint growing everywhere!)

Please do not spend another minute looking for a place to stay- cross those fingers and hope they have room at the Sea Ranch Lodge - you won't want to leave!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have ocean views so don't stress- you will definitely get a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinaNYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
MinaNYC19

It is particularly satisfying to have read your review and learn that your experience was so positive.

We can take credit for the creature comforts that the Lodge provides but we know the real appeal is The Sea Ranch itself. What a wonderful place to decompress and take in nature.

Thank you for sharing your remarks, we look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Atlantic
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Our room had an unparalleled view of the coast (watching the fog roll in over the sea cliffs is even more enjoyable when you are warmed by your personal fireplace and lounging on comfortable window seats!). The bath was completely modern, bedding thick and deep, services efficient but understated. Good restaurant on site. Plus, with the in-room refrigerator and nearby gourmet grocers, you may never need to wander far afield if you don't feel the urge. Personally, I love the hotel's mid-century modern touches mixed with the rustic contemporary architecture that personifies the Sea Ranch community. Minimal but interesting. There are literally miles of coastal trails at your doorstep. Bikes (adult size only) rental and golf nearby. An amazing place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Momma23boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Momma23boys

I am delighted to hear that you had a genuine Sea Ranch experience. This place is truly without equal. Thanks for taking the time to reflect on your stay, we look forward to your next stay!

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We happened along Sea Ranch on our drive up Highway One and found this property a wonderful stop along the way. Built in the 60's, this property fits in its beach setting beautifully following the philosophy of living lightly on the land. Each room provides a well-appointed oasis. To complete the setting, we had a beautiful view of the coast, wildlife, and nothing to distract us from relaxing.

Room Tip: Each room is a gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Jimi B

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Lodge. It is a special place and we delight in seeing the demeanor of our guests change when they get absorbed into their surrounding here.

Come visit us again soon.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I loved our ocean view room (#18) with windows overlooking the jagged California coast. The room had modern decor, a gas fire place and a bathroom with marble tiles and a rain shower head! We were also greeted with a bottle of complimentary Spanish wine for our 5th anniversary upon our arrival.

Despite having such beautiful accommodations, our stay's highlight was the hotel grounds. A quick (and easy) 5 min hike will take you to a bluff overlooking the ocean with picture perfect views of the coast. We even saw a couple of sea-lions on the cove below. The hotel also had an old barn surrounded by golden foliage (something you only see in movies or country album covers) which added to it's rustic charm. A 15 minute hike takes you to a beach accessible by stairs. A really beautiful place for sunset photos! And of course, you can also choose to continue the hike for 8 miles (one way) and enjoy the sea ranch trail.

The only low-light was dinner service. The service was good, but the food at the Blackpoint grill was a really bad deal especially for the prices that they charge - we paid $100 for a dinner for two. Do yourself a favor, a stay away from the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was a different story (it was included in the room price) - the food was better and the service was friendly and quick.

Room Tip: Avoid dinner at their the restaurant!Go to Gualala instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
MKG16

One again, happy anniversary and we were delighted your chose to spends it with us! As much as we appreciate how special this rustic Lodge is, the real highlight is the natural setting we are in.

I was disappointed that your dinner experience didn't meet your expectations but breakfast seemed better. We would love the opportunity to see if we could improve on your last experience.

We would love to have you visit again and prove that our dining venue is as enjoyable as our surroundings. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you choose to do so.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Pacific Spa Room (#19) with our little dog in October 2013. Checking in, and walking around the grounds, we were delighted to see so many other "dog people."

The room is top notch - beautifully designed, quality materials, smelled great, perfectly clean, clean carpet, very good bed, very good linens, windows were huge and clean (but I vote to remove those two big bushes that take out about 1/3 of the view of the coastline!). The little private side yard was beautiful and really convenient for the dog. My husband got some cool photos of the night stars from that deck.

Our dinner at the onsite restaurant, Black Point Grill, was great, and our waiter Francisco was wonderful, even telling us a personal story about his family, which we appreciated. He was genuine and sweet, and even offered to take our photo to send to our kids. Good job, Sea Ranch, on hiring Francisco.

The grounds and the trails are just fantastic! We also visited Point Arena Lighthouse, and the Pier Chowder House & Tap Room at the Point Arena Cove Wharf.

Areas of Opportunity:

As "dog people", we needed an outside area that was shaded to have a drink from the bar in the afternoon. The Adirondack chairs in the back facing the ocean were great, but didn't have umbrellas for shade. So we sat in the Adirondack chairs on the shady front porch of the Reception area with our drinks and dog. This was OK, but would have preferred the ocean front back area. An employee saw us there, came out and gave us dog cookies, which was super nice.

Perhaps the orange chair lounge area can be made dog friendly for drinks, or even meals? What a treat that would be!

A small annoyance in the room was the coffee situation - it was a water kettle that you had to continually pour boiling water into an open coffee filter perched atop a coffee cup, hoping not to overflow the filter or the cup, the whole process forced you to stand there pouring, pouring...A normal coffee maker would be an improvement.

The two ladies that served breakfast - the older one tried to be nice, but the younger one was downright miserable. When she brought an actual bill, we tried to ask why and she condescendingly told us to fill out the room #, etc. We explained that the breakfast is complimentary with the room, and that's when she realized her mistake. She came back with the corrected bill and slapped it down on the table without a word, nor an apology. She should not be customer-facing.

Overall, we had a fantastic time at Sea Ranch, and would absolutely come back.

Thank you, Sea Ranch, THANK YOU for being dog friendly!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
PTown4545

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, you definitely had the nicest room in the house and we all certainly enjoy hosting "dog people"!

I will share your comments with my team and see how we may improve on some of the areas you pointed out.

I look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wonderful place to stay - restful, good walking, excellent local food....surrounding landscape, unique homes in the area are definitely worth seeing. On the return ride to San Francisco,a visit to the Anderson Valley wine area is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
jane w

Thanks for your positive remarks! As you pointed out, we appreciate the unique environment we find ourselves in.

We look forward to your next stay.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Sea Ranch
13.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
11.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terra Glamping
Terra Glamping
#1 of 1 in Stewarts Point
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Property: Sea Ranch Lodge
Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr, The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing