We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Luxury on the CA Coast”
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I nabbed a great deal on Travelzoo for a two-night Sun-Thur stay at this lovely lodge. All rooms have an ocean view. The lodge is on a bluff overlooking the ocean and boasts a wildflower self-guided walking tour. Several trails are on property and easy to find.

I brought my dog and we were pleasantly surprised to find that she had her own bed waiting, along with treats, filtered water and poop bags for our walks. The charge is $50 for the entire stay.

The room has a rustic 70s feel, but the bedding is outstanding and the furniture is cool. I had a fireplace and it gave a cozy feel to the room. Bathroom is nicely tiled and has a vessel sink and a rain shower head.

We took a trip up the coast to the Point Arena Lighthouse and had lunch at The Pier Chowder House (delicious).

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a window seat. I didn't have one and I felt jealous :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamburger_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hamburger_Queen

Thank you for your feedback. Yes the Travelzoo offer was quite a bargain and we heard great comments from many 1st time visitors about their experience at Sea Ranch.

We are particularly pleased to be a pet friendly facility and there is rarely a day that doesn't go by that we don't see a few canine guests at the Lodge.

Come visit again when you can.

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We reserved a room here at a reduced price. ($150) night that includes breakfast for two ($30 value). The room is fairly spacious and all 19 rooms have an ocean view. The downside is that this is a converted sheep ranch (hence their logo). And when it was built in the 60's there was no insulation between rooms and it can be noisey so best to respect the noise level. We stayed in room 12 which has no room above but still we heard noise from the rooms close by. Beds are very nice. Great pillows. Restaurant is better than any you will find in the nearby town of Gaulala. Prepare yourself for a rather long windy road to to get here. Probably we won't return due to the highway 1. Very long drive from Bodega Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

ontheroadagain1

Thank you for your review. It is true that the Lodge has been here in its present form since the 70s, but that is certainly part of its appeal. The drive up Highway 1 sports spectacular views, but it it seems as though it is not for everyone!

Glad you enjoyed it in spite of the drive and thank you for your positive remarks about the Black Point Grill.

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had a wonderful stay. The accommodations are beautiful and modern, and the property is secluded and quiet. Made-to-order breakfast was included and absolutely delicious. The staff were friendly and warm without exception. The hotel property extends to the cliffs and a number of walking trails let us leisurely explore the area. I saw seals, sea otters, and numerous birds while wandering the grounds. The rooms are pricey, but worth it if you're looking for a comfortable, quiet getaway on coast of Sonoma county.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kpcnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

kpcnsk

Thanks for your kind remarks. We are pleased that your visit was so positive and that you were able to discover all the natural beauty that makes Sea Ranch what it is.

We look forward to your next visit

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The rooms are big and the beds are so comfortable! The only downside is that there is no TV, we brought our laptop and watched the news and movies. The area is beautiful and great for easy hikes. The restaurant is on site and the food is amazing! All of the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Vic E

Thanks for taking the time to share your review of the Lodge. No TVs is intentional so that you can immerse yourself in all the natural beauty that makes this part of the Pacific Coast so unique.

I will share your positive comments about your dining and guest experiences with my team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

About a 3 hours drive from San Francisco, along the curves of the coastal highway is the Sea Ranch Lodge. In the northern corner of Sonoma County you will find peace at the Sea Ranch Lodge. This morning as I sit down to write this review in our room, I am looking out at fields of grass and the expanse of the Pacific beyond. We have had beautiful weather, wonderful to enjoy walking along the trails that trace the cliffs above the Pacific. The setting is perfect. 
Besides the magnificent view our room has a gas fireplace, refrigerator, coffee and tea, and a mountain of blankets, comforters and pillows covering our king size bed. But the best seats in the room look out to the views that keeps drawing me back. There are few distraction, with no telephone, television or music in the room. So just enjoy the sound of the waves hitting the rock cliffs nearby.
 The Lodge has an excellent restaurant were we had dinner the first night and breakfast each morning. For other eating choices, it is a 15 minute drive into Gualala. The Lodge does have a spa facility. We had massages yesterday afternoon. Just one more way to enjoy this wonderful retreat.

Room Tip: The walls don't stop sound. As I sit in my room I can hear my neighbor on a cell phone. Sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Jadranko

Thanks for your remarks, I may just use your review as a commercial! We like to think of ourselves as a respite for the hustle and bustle of the city. A place to decompress. Sounds like we had that affect on you.

We pride ourselves on our restaurant as well, happy to hear we met your expectations there too.

Come back and visit us again soon

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This place has been a coastal fixture since the 1960's. On a very old, isolated, former sheep ranch, some very talented architects and developers built (then) dramatically modern "blend with the landscape" hotel, restaurant, post office, staff quarters and the beginning of an oceanfront housing development. They essentially made a town where there was nothing within 12 miles.
(Gualala is the closest hamlet, to the North.)

The original hotel/restaurant is still striking. At least some of the rooms have recently been remodeled, and the restaurant is still excellent. A San Diego rock architect designed and built a unique chapel for the development--open to the public on the East side of the highway.

There is usually an exhibit of local artist paintings, and a real estate office in the hotel. (There are now about 900 homes next door, all on secluded oceanview lots. Most of these are vacation homes. All echo the architecture of the hotel. Many can be rented through the namesake realty.)

Walking out the back of the hotel to the ocean is spectacular, with cliffs and even an original barn from the sheep ranch days.

A little pricey, but a full breakfast is included in the room rates. Been staying there since the late 60's--always a good time.

Room Tip: Room #10 is a 2nd-floor, corner on the North end of the building. best views and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harold b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

harold b

Thank you for mentioning the architectural importance of The Sea Ranch, it is both historic and world famous for its unique was of blending a community into a natural environment. The entire area has special talent hidden in this gem of a parcel on the Pacific Coast.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stay October 22, 2013 and our stage was perfect.
Hotel facilities are a milestone of the American Achitecture and the localtion over the cliffs is outstanding. Room, service and food in line with our high expectations.
Our only comment for improvement is that to offer some newspapers or magazines to help to spent some time after dark considering that the facility has not TV and there is not library or video equipment. WiFi worked very well.
We definetively we will stay back in the future

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell J, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Manuel L

We definitely appreciate the architectural environment we share in The Sea Ranch. It is truly unique.

It is also quite satisfying to share with my team that your experience was in line with with your high expectations. We will take into consider your recommendations for alternative entertainment in addition to the daily newspapers we do offer.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Sea Ranch
13.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
126 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
340 reviews
8.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
12.3 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr, The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range: £161 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing