We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I just took mother-daughter trip and we had planned on staying in Napa, but decided to drive back to San Francisco. On way back, drove through Tiburon and saw the Waters Edge Hotel. They had availability and so we stayed. Rode their bikes around the peninsula, shopped the boutiques and enjoyed several of the restaurants in the neighborhood. The hotel staff were wonderful with every request. The firepit on the back patio with a view of San Francisco Bay was amazing. Can't say enough about how wonderful the hotel and staff were - felt we had discovered a cool secret cause everyone kept talking about Sausalito. This was way better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teriyano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

This place is amazing! Just stayed here for our anniversary weekend and it was all kinds of wonderful. Michael at the Front Desk was awesome and always asked if we needed anything. Super attentive. The hotel itself is in a perfect spot, right on Main st. We didn't need our car the entire weekend! The happy hour with Wine and Cheese was great, we took ours to the balcony and enjoyed the nice sunset. The breakfast served in the room was amazing, a perfect way to start the morning. The room itself was great, very comfortable beds and the fireplace and balcony made it even better. We used their complimentary bikes and rode to Blackie's pasture on a beautiful day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel hands down. From the staff, the rooms and location you cannot go wrong. Cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had a balcony with a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We rested here in September after hosting our daughter's wedding in Sonoma County, CA. The room was quiet and soothing. We dined in the neighborhood, which offered lots of good options. The hotel provided wine and cheese, which we enjoyed on the balcony overlooking the northern end of San Francisco Bay. It was wonderful and very relaxing. A great site for a weekend getaway!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Waters Edge during a recent trip to San Francisco. Tiburon is a great little town with some nice restaurants and a laid back atmosphere. Sam's restaurant has long been one of our favorites and to stay right next door was great. The hotel itself was fantastic, very clean, great staff. The patio at the back of the hotel overlooking the bay back to San Fran. was amazing.
The ability to ferry back and forth to San Fran was fun. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutbackHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Had no idea what to expect. Very quaint and homey. Service just delightful. Rooms were big and comfy. View was fun and LOTS of amenities, for example FREE breakfast room service! Put your menu the door before a certain time, let them know when you want it, and knock knock knock the next morning you have breakfast :) such a cool offering!

Once we checked in we took the complimentary bicycles out for a fun ride through town and explored the friendly community. Such a beautiful escape from the city.

All the restaurants were in walking distance and a small quaint town, food in this area is delicious!

Lots of fun here, great mini getaway!

Room Tip: Get the breakfast in bed room service, its free and delicious! Do it again and move your breakfast t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We came here for peace by the water. Sitting on the deck, they were either dredging or something making loud noises. No fire in pit as promised.
At night 2 people running heavily on roof- thought they were going to fall thru. Receptionist took his time to check, then finally said it didn't happen because no access to roof. Wrong attitude & he was wrong re access.
Breakfast was not on time & not 1st class but granola good.
Very disappointing

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFlake, Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Mr. Teigeiro,

I'm very sorry you didn't have the experience you were hoping for. I had hoped to speak with you, as our team let me know that you were having some difficulties with your stay, and that you did not feel that your expectations were being met. I called you room, cell phone, and emaled you, while you were at the hotel, so that I could speak with you about the problems you were experiencing, but did not hear back from you.

It's our goal to provide a relaxing and peacefull stay, and I'm sorry that this was not how you felt. There was some work being done outside, on the seawall to the dock. Typically, it has not been very loud, and will be finished soon, but I'm sorry it disturbed your enjoyment of the quiet and views. Our firepit should be on every night, and there is no reason for it not to be. I have allready inquired with our staff as to why it may not have been on. This is not at all typical.

It has also has never happened that someone has run on our roof at night, though myself, nor our Front Desk Host, can't tell you it didn't happen. It feels very unlikely as our building would be very difficult to scale, without access (which is locked and inside), but again, it may have. Is there any possiblity it was seagulls? They do sometimes run on the roof. I'm sorry you were not given the benefit of the doubt, and I understand your frustration with that. Polite, warm, and accomodating is the manner in which we treat our guests, and it sounds like you comments could have been better recieved.

I'm dissapointed you did not find our breakfast to be "1st Class." We hope to satisfy our guests with an abundance of choices, including smoked salmon, steel cut oatmeal, organic yogurt, fresh pastries, and more. I hope you will contact me, offline, so I can get more specific feedback from you and use it to improve.

Thank you for reading and I really to hope to speak with you soon. Once again, I'm sorry about the problems you encountered.

Sincerely,

Justin Flake
General Manager
Waters Edge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My husband and I were coming to Marin to visit friends over Thanksgiving and to celebrate our 22nd anniversary. Although not closest to our friends in San Anselmo, we picked the Waters Edge based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff was really quite excellent. The front desk staff in particular was friendly, efficient, kind and attentive to our needs. They let us check in early, which was very much appreciated after a long drive from LA, made recommendations and reservations for our anniversary dinner, and sent up a bottle of champagne with chocolate and a card, which was a really nice gesture. In addition to the staff, the other stand out features were the location (right on the water), complimentary breakfast (surprisingly large), the room decor (pleasant and understated), the bed comfort (not too mushy, as so many hotel beds tend to be) and even the toiletries. My husband liked the lotion so much he had me order some when we got home (EO, made locally in Marin).

I only have two negative critiques. First, that it is hard to eat the breakfast as they don't provide a table, so one must balance the tray and food on either the bed or a small ottoman. It is certainly doable, but a bit awkward. The second issue was that there was a snafu regarding our check out date and the rate for that final night, which was not what was promised in my confirmation letter. It was all resolved quite easily, but it was disconcerting getting a phone call asking why we hadn't checked out yet, and I am glad I had my email confirmation re the rate with me. I suspect that the confusion stemmed from the fact that the first three nights were at one rate and the fourth and final night was at a discounted rate, but I am not sure how they got our check out date wrong. No matter, as there was no disruption to our stay, and we paid the rate we were promised.

All in all a very pleasant small hotel, and a place to which we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,604 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,039 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main St, Tiburon, CA 94920-2507
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range: £177 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing