We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tomales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AppleGarden Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Tomales B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at AppleGarden for three nights. Each day, we had an adventure in the area (horseback riding, kayaking). Two nights we dined at great restaurants (Nick's Cove in Marshall, Central Market in Petaluma). AppleGarden was always a restful place to return to, made homey by the decor and Jan's cooking. But AppleGarden is also restful because it isn't Pt Reyes Station. That is where the crowds go and where it is always bustling. By staying in Tomales, we found more peace, and a great variety of places to visit on day trips. We would return here in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jamescthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm almost tempted not to write too glowing a review lest I let the secret out...but that wouldn't be fair to Jan, the proprietor, who was so wonderful to us during our stay. The accommodations are perfect--beautifully appointed, luxurious, and tasteful. The hospitality is impeccable--delicious breakfasts, thoughtful assistance, and a hostess in Jan who goes out of her way to ensure a memorable experience. I couldn't have been more pleased with my decision to stay at AppleGarden Cottage.

Room Tip: Only one option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I spent three days at the Apple Garden Cottage and loved the whole experience. The hummingbirds, blue birds and swallows were everywhere. Our hosts were entertaining and most hospitable. It is a perfect base for exploring the Tomales/Bodega Bay area.

Room Tip: The cottage was wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Mmmm...just finished a yummy breakfast in this beautiful cottage and couldn't wait to write a review. Spending Memorial Day weekend here in celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. This cottage is so charming and well built that it really stands out from the pack. Set on the property of Apple Gardens orchard, the proprietors make yummy hard cider from their apple trees, and grace the breakfast with homemade applesauce and delicious eggs from their own hens. The cottage is well appointed and extremely comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked- we feel like we could move in and just live here. There was a nottle of hard cider for us in the fridge and locak cheese and crackers left out for us upon arrival. Unlike many places we've rented over the years, this place is stocked so that you really don't have to buy anything but the main ingredients- the cabinets and frig have all the condiments and trimmings and the cooking utensils and pots and gadets are plentiful.Everyting is organic and thought through with sustainability in mind- for those of you who care (like me). Outside there are beautiful views of the hills of the town of Tomales- s little noise from cars going by, but nothing really disturbing. It's close enough to Marshall that we drove to Nick's Cover for dinner in about 10 minutes last night. We are looking forward to hiking and kayaking today in Pt Reyes today and tomorrow. This place provides privacy, a friendly host who makes a big effort to create a farm to table breakfast and clean luxurious accomodations, in a lovely setting. If you are person who cares about aesthetics, this place will tick all the boxes as far as the interior space goes. It could have more of a terrace or gardens, but it's not bad. Amazing value for the price. It's about 20 mnutes from Pt. Reyes, so if you need to be close to town, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfginSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I spent 4 of the most wonderful nights at the Apple Garden Cottage last week. We loved everything from the peace and quiet both day and night; the food that Jan cooked for us every morning was incredible as was the never empty home-made granola and butter-cookie jars. The bed was extremely comfortable with the softest sheets. And we loved the heated bathroom floors; just another one of the "touches" of the cabin that made our trip perfect. I highly recommend the Apple Garden Cottage - from the flowering apple trees in our front yard, to the cows in the next pasture, the chickens who graced us with their wonderful eggs. And their Hard Apple Cider ... wonderful! I can not thank Jan and Len enough for their concern and attention to our every need. We will be back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmustard123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Cottage at the AppleGarden Farm is absolutely lovely! The cider they make is delicious as is all of the wonderful breakfasts delivered to your door every morning. The cottage itself is well appointed and lends itself to rest and relaxation. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudosCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at the Apple Garden Cottage! The inn keepers were lovely - and struck the perfect balance between being attentive when we needed it and being nearly invisible when we had settled in. The land is lovely, and we enjoyed walking to the tiny town near by. We LOVED the breakfasts and the extra little goodies they left in the fridge for us -- we were very well fed!

The cottage itself was also very high quality - very comfortable, cozy, and with great amenities. All in all, a truly excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomales
0.4 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,437 reviews
5.4 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
504 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
9.3 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AppleGarden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AppleGarden Cottage

Property: AppleGarden Cottage
Address: 3875 Tomales-Petaluma Rd, Tomales, CA 94971
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Tomales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tomales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed-and-breakfast inn offering organic home-made breakfast from products produced locally and our own hard cider from the farm orchard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing