We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What A Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We travel to CA each year and have tried a variety of hotels over the years. Since we usually stay for 1 -1 1/2 months, I try to manage the hotel budget by staying at a 3 star hotel with no specials amenities.

I had made a reservation at a place we had stayed before but several TA reviews made me rethink that choice. Through TA, I found Avita Suites and I'm really glad. When I arrived, I thought the hotel was brand new but it opened 3-4 years with no sign of wear and tear. The rooms are spacious with a separate sitting area and desk with free internet access. There is also a small business center room with 2 computers, a copier and a fax. The rooms are spotless and all of the staff from maids to front desk are friendly, nice and responsive.

Usually, the included breakfasts in Best Westerns are basically donuts and coffee and tend to be gone quickly. Here, the breakfast room is large and bright and there is a good variety of pastries, breads, waffles, good bacon, 2 kinds of good sausages, hot scrambled (only) eggs as well as yogurts and fruits.

There was only a slight negative which was the horn noise from car alarms on the parking lot side of the building.

Tip---get a room away from the elevator which has bells and buzzers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    152
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
157
97
50
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I Booked this hotel with priceline. I have used priceline name your own price 4 or 5 times and it has worked out well except for this time. When I got the reservation I was told they only had a queen size bed. I tried to call priceline for help to change to anything else. My husband is tall and likes a king bed. I called the hotel and they said that was all they had. The next day I called again and they said if I paid another thirty dollars they would give me a room with 2 queen size beds.That's what I did. Lesson learned. The hotel was very clean and the parking was good.
I did like the area. Lots of resturants and shopping and close to beaches.and other hotels.
I would not stay there again because a pool is really important to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Babs074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Check in easy although the receptionist swiped my credit card and then took a copy in the back office - I wonder why.
The room was clean and comfortable - although with everything in the room being grey or black, absolute cleanliness would be hard to measure.
As noted in other reviews, the wooden shutters dont block out all the light and the toilet was not properly attached to the floor - seems strange to see this in other reviews and then experience it. Additionally, there is no plug for the sink so shaving wastes a lot of water.
Lastly, most middle market hotels have moved away from the miniscule bars of soap to bath gel -that would be a good idea for this hotel too.
Bed was clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: check the toilet and make sure its bolted to the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ba340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great hotel property - European boutique style hotel, perfectly located in the South Bay area - accessible to multiple services and with a direct line to the ocean. We are multiple users of the Avita Suites - because they continue to deliver a great product.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LarryLuft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Honest review: Pros: Location in terms of accessibility, newer hotel, clean rooms, includes free wifi, parking and breakfast.

Issues: Noise. You have practically 3 choices of rooms....ones that face the side of a very noisy road even at night....with very very poor window noise insulation or you face the back of some ventilation systems that you look out to from your room or the ones that face the parking lot where the noise between the thin walls in unbearable. It was simply awful. All 3 floors in the hotel have some form of common guest high traffic areas (breakfast room, laundry room-open 24hrs and tiny gym room....people are talking loudly and you can hear very word spoken....very poor room to room wall noise insulation.

The staff was polite and professional...can't blame them, they can't do much in terms of improving the guest experience of noisy rooms...

Overall, if you are a light sleeper, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Good luck with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panguitch, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My family and I stayed here in June 7 for two nights. I I am a little late on this review. The stay was fantastic! The rooms were cozy and seemed new and updated.: Suite-2 Queen Beds, Non-Smoking, 32-Inch LCD TV, Wet Bar, Microwave And Refrigerator, Pillowtop Bed, Full Breakfast. I was in at two queen suite with a couch that turns into a bed. I think all the rooms are this way or most of them. I may be wrong though. The given shampoos and soaps in the rooms smelled great for a Best Western.The WiFi- worked good. I called the front desk to ask a few questions. My questions were answered! The breakfast was great and was good tasting. The lady serving the breakfast was friendly and working hard! I left a tip. I did not use the exercise or business center. The only downside was no pool. However, having no pool was not a big deal for my stay (Did rate Terrible because there is no pool). In the end a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I do not think this Best Western has a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torrance, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

stayed here while getting work done on our home which was just a few blocks away so we were in and out of this place. We liked the hotel and would stay again. Everyone was very nice and helpful and specially the complimentary breakfast was good and so was the hospitality of the workers there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Raquel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
2.2 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
Address: 3531 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-4802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torrance
#1 Family Hotel in Torrance
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New All Suites Hotel, Modern contemporary decor, Pillowtop beds,100% Non Smoking, Business Center with Printer/Fax/Copy, Fitness Center, Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast. Welcome Gift, Fresh Baked Cookies, and Bottled Water upon check in. Room Amenities include 32"Sharp LCD with DirecTV HDTV, Wet Bar with Refrigerator & Microwave, Large Desk with Ergonomic Chair, Sofa, Dual Line Speaker Phones, Free Wireless and Wired highspeed internet, MP3 Clock radio player, Bath&Body Works toiletries, 200 count Linens, and DVD Player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avita Hotel Torrance
Best Western Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing