We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definitely a good choice”
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This hotel was a great choice. As someone else had mentioned, the place still smells as if it was built yesterday. After two long flights, I was greeted with cookies and cold bottle of water. What a nice gesture. Although it is located on a fairly busy street, I could hear no traffic from inside my room. The breakfast was great and very tasty. Lots of choices, although it would be nice if they had at least one non-pork meat item on the menu, such as turkey or beef sausage. The lady working in the kitchen was sooo friendly. She asked almost everyone if everything was OK and if there was anything else we needed. The beds are extremely comfortable, but the shower pressure is not good at all. Takes forever to rinse shampoo out of your hair. The rooms were clean and very updated. And the best part of all....FREE INTERNET!! I'd stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamstar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    155
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
159
101
51
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banning, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Greeted on arrival with a friendly smile and a cold bottle of water. Front desk personnal were all very helpful. The hotel was new, modern, and clean. Bed was very comfortable. We had a handicap access suite which had a tub and a wonderful shower head. Breadkfast was very good, but you are not allowed to take the glass dishes to your room and there was not a sign letting us know this, but reading other reviews had alerted us to this fact.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My apartment was being fumigated so I needed a place to stay Monday-Wednesday. I didn't want to spend a lot but also didn't want to stay in a sketchy hotel. I chose Best Western Avita based on trip advisor reviews and the fact it's across the street from my office is even better!

The hotel is really new. There is plenty of covered and uncovered parking for guests. Staff is very friendly. We stayed on the 4th floor, midway down the hallway. The room was very nice but had an odd layout- the television is in the middle of the room, not directly in front of the bed or couch. No biggie. There is a small kitchen area with a frig and microwave, but no plates or utensils. I don't think I need to go over the room since other reviews pretty much cover the details. The fitness facility is also on the 4th floor but only has two treadmills, one bike, weight lifting machine, water, towels and a tv. Basic but it works. A complimentary hot breakfast is served each morning on the 2nd floor which is pretty good. Cereal, toast, bagels, waffles, eggs, sausage patties, bacon, hashbrown, fruit, coffee and juices are served in a large dining area. This was a definitely a plus in my selection of the hotel.

The air conditioning is a unit in the wall that can be noisy. I chose to sleep with it off but it got kinda stuffy at times. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Great value and super location. Walking distance from the mall, grocery store, many eating facilities and within 15 minutes driving distance to the beaches and freeway. The neighborhood is very safe. You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Being #1 on TripAdvisor, I booked this hotel after reading through the reviews. The hotel does still smell new and for the most part is clean,except for a few long hairs in the shower upon checking in. This is what I liked: we had a corner suite with a queen bed. It had a nice layout with a stylish mini fridge, microwave, office desk with both free wireless and wired Internet access, excellent A/C control, very comfortable and clean bed, and a large flat screen TV with DirectTV channels. What I did not like: while I was excited to see how large the shower was, the water pressure was the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel (and I have traveled extensively). The lighting was mostly overhead with CFC bulbs, which to me is like fluorescent lighting, which I detest. I can understand the whole eco-friendly thing, but I would have preferred notices to keep my towels and not change the bed linens for my entire 3-night stay rather than still feel dirty after a shower. They should do what I have seen in other countries, where you have to put your key in a slot in your room in order to activate the electricity (only when you are in the room), which would save more electricity. The price was good with a discount for a 3-night stay that included breakfast; however, the hot items at breakfast were below average, which didn't really make it worthwhile. Overall this is a great hotel with a great location near the Del Amo mall. I would love to stay there again, but personally, I expect a very powerful shower at any hotel as part of my stay, since this is very important to me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Generous breakfast buffet, great rooms, and immaculate!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia,wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This hotel was perfect for driving to various locations in LA. We where able to visit plentiful beaches, downtown LA and the airport without any hassles. Ther was a large shopping centre only 5 mins walk away and lots of fast food and restuarants close by. The rooms where clean and modern. The free breakfast was good and was an added bonus as well as the free parking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as long as you have a car it was a good location to see a bit of LA

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPerthAustralia_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

booked the 2 queen suite. It had plenty of room for the 3 of us. Nice new building, great beds, clean. Wifi access was a plus, loved the seating area and fridge, etc. I didn t find anything wrong with this hotel except maybe the breakfast was too early?....but wonderful.
Will stay here again when we return in June.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
2.2 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Avita Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Avita Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Address: 3531 Torrance Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90503-4802 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torrance
#1 Family Hotel in Torrance
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Avita Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New All Suites Hotel, Modern contemporary decor, Pillowtop beds,100% Non Smoking, Business Center with Printer/Fax/Copy, Fitness Center, Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast. Welcome Gift, Fresh Baked Cookies, and Bottled Water upon check in. Room Amenities include 32"Sharp LCD with DirecTV HDTV, Wet Bar with Refrigerator & Microwave, Large Desk with Ergonomic Chair, Sofa, Dual Line Speaker Phones, Free Wireless and Wired highspeed internet, MP3 Clock radio player, Bath&Body Works toiletries, 200 count Linens, and DVD Player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Avita Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avita Hotel Torrance
Best Western Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing