We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel is AMAZING! Service, location, rooms, restaurant... everything! I highly recommend it! I can't wait to go back! The staff is super nice and helpful, the rooms are SO CLEAN and spacious, I absolutely LOVED their BATHROOM! Honestly, the best hotel in it's price range. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this place. Next time, I'll make sure to book some spa services!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLoveTravelLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear LiveLoveTravelLearn,
Thank you so much for your high recommendation, I am so glad you enjoyed our bathrooms and look forward to seeing you back soon, so you can experience the genuine Japanese Spa services!

Cherie Davis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    107
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
94
107
46
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I worked in this area for years, and since then have supported clients in the general area. For years my"go to" options were the Torrance Marriott (even as an elite Marriott member, I've never liked the property) or the Courtyard (boring, noisy "on-the-405" location). This hotel is a GODSEND and I'm sorry I'm not the developer who thought of it! Yes it's true it's not near anything, but Torrance is that way in general, as is the entire South Bay IMO. But if you need a location in or near here, and desire a large modern room, great bed and linens, and cordial attentive service, it's terrific. The only personal downsides were the breakfast buffet (expensive and not a good value) and the lighting in the rooms was insufficient. Small items in the overall scheme. I recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleNameGO10019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The Miyako Hotel was amazing. I have been traveling for 30 years and this hotel is top on my list. The hotel is SUPER CLEAN. The staff are friendly and informative. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The beds are comfortable and BIG. I enjoyed the green tea provided and I especially enjoyed drinking the tea out of the japanese tea set. I used the fitness centre three times and the equipment was adequate. Torrance was the perfect location to Hollywood, LAX and the San Pedro port terminal. I am looking forward to returning to California one of these days and staying at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel. I wish all the hotels I stay at could be just as wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Rooms are great. Comfortable bed, huge tv, nice desk. Japanese bathroom is fun. Staff very friendly. Did not use common areas, but lobby was nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1987312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel this weekend and wow. We were attending a wedding that started at 3 and we wanted to get ready in the hotel prior. They were sold out the night before but were able to get us a room for 1:30 check in. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and very modern and very clean. The only thing that I can complain about is that the lighting in the room/bathroom wasn't that great. The bathtub and shower were huge, bed and pillows very comfortable. We stopped in the bar on the way home and sat at the bar, again everyone was very friendly. I ordered some calamari that was fabulous and my husband had some sushi that he loved. Drinks were great and not overly expensive. We ordered room service for breakfast, portions were large enough to share and very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Loved, loved, loved the Miyako! I travel to Torrance on business the same time every year and have stayed at many of the hotels in the area. It is by far the best. Super comfortable bed and bedding and very large hi tech bathroom. Even standard rooms come with robes and slippers. Tea pot in addition to the coffee maker. The spa stays open late and I was able to get a 9pm appointment. I enjoyed the facilities for about an hour before and after and had an amazing nights sleep. I did not eat in the restaurant but did get some sushi to go and it was very fresh and good. All of the staff were very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We picked this hotel after reading all the great reviews & like to try a different area/hotel each time we come out to LA. The hotel is very modern & clean with extremely friendly & courteous staff - they are very welcoming. We had a deluxe king room which was spacious, clean, & modern & contemporary styled. The shower/tub area is new to me but very welcoming & spacious. The sink vanity area is adequate & the electronic bidet seat is a very nice amenity - it made me consider buying one for the house. The room has a mini-fridge & the beds are very comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor & had a small patio that we could open & let a breeze into - we had a decent view that faced the Mitsuwa shopping center (nice hidden gem) which has a grocery store that is really convenient for picking up any drinks, snacks, medicines you need. We had some great-tasting sea urchin from the seafood market & enjoyed a delicious bowl of noodles at the food-court. There are good restaurants nearby & the area does not have heavy traffic so their is very little road noise that we experienced. The walls are slightly thin (we heard some neighbor noise one night) & we could kind of hear the conversation from another room traveling through the air vents in the bathroom but these occurrences were very rare. Overall, we enjoyed our stay & would come again. We were always out & about during our stay here doing activities & didn't get to experience the restaurant or the spa services but will try them out next time as we read some good reviews of the restaurant & we are avid sushi lovers.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor but I read that the 5th floor & higher have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr.tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#49 of 351 in Los Angeles
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Property: Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing