We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Hotels Should Be Like This”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

For the price of the room, this is an incredible property. The service was perfect. The room was perfect. The restaurant inside the hotel was perfect.
When we arrived, check in took a couple of minutes. The desk clerk made dinner reservations for us at Gonpachi, the hotel restaurant that is one of the best Japanese style restaurants we have dined in. The same restaurant serves a buffet breakfast.
One could opt for self check out, but we chose to check out at the front desk. Check out took less than one minute.
After we checked in, the front desk called us voluntarily and asked if the room was satisfactory or if we had any maintenance problem.
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The 36 inch TV had a multitude of channels, including TV Japan and premium channels like Starz. It also had a DVD player. (You can bring your own or rent a DVD.)
The bed was very comfortable. The entire hotel was quiet. We slept very well.
The bathroom is typical for Japanese hotels. The bathtub is large and extra deep. Outside the bath tub is an area to shower and wash before stepping into the bathtub to soak or you can take a shower within the tub. The toilet has a bidet and a heated seat. If you want to buy one for your own home, Japanese specialty stores sell them for $300-750, so this is a real luxury for a hotel.
This hotel is a Green hotel. It is configured for optimal energy efficiency. On your first visit, the bellman will show you how to use your card key to get to your room and activate the electric devices. When you remove your card key from the in-room wall mount to leave the room, all the power to the room shuts off.
Security appears to be excellent. The elevator cannot be operated to leave the lobby without a room key inserted into the slot in the elevator. The doors are strong and solid, with the key needed to unlock it. The door has an extra security lock inside.
There is an exercise room available at no charge. There is also a full service spa at extra charge. No swimming pool. We did not see any children at this hotel. It does not appear to have any special amenities for children. We did not use the spa or exercise room.
This hotel is one of a chain of Japanese hotels located in the United Stats and Japan. This hotel is less than 3 years old as of this writing. This hotel is probably one of the best in the chain.
The only negative for the hotel is if you are not good with using new gadgets, you may become flustered trying to use the TV or toilet seat without first receiving instructions. If you call the front desk, you will receive immediate assistance. They seem very eager to help!
The hotel has a lot of Japanese businessment for clients. They tend to be very demanding customers with high expectations.
The location on Western Avenue is 3 minutes south of the 405 San Diego Freeway. The hotel has a shuttle to LA International Airport and tours if booked in advance. The free parking is a plus.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the least expensive room. If you get an upgraded room, enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modestotrekkerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Modestotrekkerl,
Thank you so much for your review. We have such excellent and efficient staff at The Miyako Hybrid who enjoy creating memorable experiences for all of our guests. The Miyako Hybrid is actually a Silver LEED certified hotel and our guestroom key energizing system is just one of many "green" initiatives we have in place.
We hope to see you back very soon and perhaps next time you will get the opportunity to experience our amazing Spa and gym.

Cherie Davis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife was having a medical procedure in Torrance so we were going to stay at the Holiday Inn, but they were renovating. I saw the reviews for Miyako so we decided to give it a try. We checked in early and were immediately upgraded to their suite for a deluxe king rate. What a joy and wonderful surprise. Allison at the front desk was professional, efficient, and extremely thoughtful. More on her later.
The suite was very large, clean, and very clean. It has a huge flat screen tv with directv. All the amenities you could ask for, including the rain shower. The view was nice from the sixth floor which overlooked Torrance, Palos Verdes, and the downtown Long Beach area. There was even a long but narrow step out balcony . The windows go all the way across the room.
We ordered room service for one night, and the food was pretty good but a little pricey. We had delivery on the second night because of my wife's surgery. They do have aquifer fitness room, but we didn't get a chance to use the machines. They also have free wifi.
Upon arriving from my wife's surgery, there was a card and several gifts that were waiting for us. The entire staff signed the card and it was initiated by Allison...she is something special. She and the staff go above and beyond what is expected on a stay at a hotel. The bell men were exceptional as well.
It was quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable to stay there. We will definitely be back, hopefully during our anniversary and stay longer to enjoy all of the surroundings.
The staff made my wife feel comfortable and special and I can't say Thank You enough and God Bless the entire staff at the Miyako.

Room Tip: Probably higher floor room, a little traffic on Western around 5-6 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKCJES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear John S,
Thank you so much for your review. We agree with you that Allison is a true star, she and the rest of the staff pay very close attention to the needs of all our guests, our service truely comes from the heart. The staff were very excited when they read your review and we all hope to see you return to Miyako Hybrid very soon, it is the perfect location to celebrate your anniversary and perhaps next time, you could experience our gym.

Cherie Davis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Miyako Hybrid Hotel is amazing! The bedroom decor was excellent, the bed was comfortable, the pillows were nice, the shower was incredibly large with excellent water pressure, the toilet had a heated seat and a washlet ... overall a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear colugo,
Thank you so much for your review, we truely do have beautiful guestrooms which offer amenities that other locations do not. Our service, amenities and guestrooms are what keeps bringing our guests back.
We hope to see you again soon.

Cherie Davis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Perfect. Just perfect from room, food, service. We will not stay anywhere in Los Angeles but here. After years of travel and life in hotel, this is one of the most impressive and excellent hotels. If anyone does not agree with me or dislike this hotel, then I am very sorry to say he/she has a serious problem

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaDuDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear DaDuDu,
Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to be your hotel of choice in LA, we have a fantastic team who work hard to deliver the highest level of guest satisfaction every day.
We look forward to your return very soon.

Cherie Davis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

First class stay in all respects. An oasis of Asian charm and efficiency in Torrance. 7th floor "executive" room spacious and well appointed. Attention to detail throughout property. Thoughtful, discreet staff. This is my go-to hotel in LAX land.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canuvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Canuvian,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so happy that the Miyako Hybrid is your "go to" place in the LA area. Our amazing staff work very hard to ensure all the details are top notch and every guest experience is first class.

Cherie Davis,
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was a fantastic experience, from the moment we walked into the building. The building on the outside was unassuming, looking like a office building. But the moment we walked in, we were greeted by every employee that saw us.

The room was clean, modern, and tastefully appointed. The bathroom/shower was beautiful . . .

We did not try out the gym, business center, spa, or the restaurant, but the room was great.

Highly recommended for business or even a romantic weekend, although there's not much to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jephyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear jephyboy,
Thank you so much for your review, we truely do have an outstanding team who take great care of all our guests. We have numerous amenities and services which cater to both our business and leisure guests. We hope that you will return soon, so that you can experience our other amenities, the gym, spa, business center and restaurant, all of which are first class!

Cherie Davis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wow. Great service. Beautiful place. Excellent food. Great workspace. Terrific spa. My new favorite in Torrance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear jpatter1,
I am so happy to hear that The Miyako Hybrid Hotel is your new favorite place in Torrance. We hope that you come back to stay with us very soon.

Cherie Davis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrance hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
2.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
0.5 mi away
Redac Gateway Hotel
Redac Gateway Hotel
#9 of 20 in Torrance
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range: £137 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing