We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Nice hotel, very clean and staff very helpful and kind.
It is a japanese hotel... japanese style for the room, japanese people, japanese restaurant. it is actually located in a sort of japanese neighborhood.

The hotel it is an environmental friendly hotel, thing that I appreciated.
Restaurant was great.

Only remark : the fitness center had some machines not working and also the TV was not working.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Luca F,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service.
We are in the process of upgrading some of our gym equipment and apologize that you experienced some items not working. The TV's are for our Wii fitness only.
We appreciate your comments and hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    105
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
94
104
45
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Buenaventura
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Attended a friend's wedding in Torrance which was held at this hotel. A lot of wood finish in the lobby and at the registration desk.
Friendly staff. Nice clean room. Large bathroom with shower large enough for six (probably we didn't try) and soaking tub was great. Did not try the hotel restaurant or bar but we did walk through and they looked well maintained and relatively new. Only stayed one Saturday night. The hotel is setup for business travel so it would probably be a little busier during the week.
Likely to return if in the area.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TR8MPLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear TR8MPLER,
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were happy with the room amenities and customer service. We were honored to be the lodging choice for the wedding and hope that you have the opportunity to return soon, to experience the restaurant.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Was in the South Bay area of Los Angeles -- and the Miyako Hybird was a great choice. Not a lot in the area for vacationers, but for business travelers, it's terrific. Near major corporations like Toyota -- walking distance to a Mitsuwa supermarket with great a fantastic food court. Hotel was clean... LEED Certification is a plus... Makes you feel good that the hotel is environmentally friendly. Hotel has a nice spa and a fairly good quality restaurant on-site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GShermanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear GShermanWong,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you saw our LEED certification as a positive factor for your stay! We are proud to be LEED and appreciate and value your feedback!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stay there for 4 nights in late August. Miyako has tidy, clean and nice rooms. staff are very freindly and helpful. The japanese style bathroom with a large bathtub is my favorite. I can stay in the bathtub for 2 hours and the water is still warm. The hotel even provide you the bath salts.

The housekeeping staff does their best. I was impresessed and left them some changes for tips. When I come back to the room in the evening the money is still there. So next day I wrote a note to thank them for the excerlent job and left more changes. Then they took it.

The hotel location is good too. There is a big japanese market just right behind the hotel. The food court there is big and nice too. The hotel also provides a map outlines the dining area and shopping area around the hotels so you can explore Torrance and L.A much easily.

I will definately come back again!!!! A+++++

Room Tip: I stayed at Room 429 and it's face to the parking lot and you can see the beautiful Torrance tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Susie S,
Thank you so much for your feedback and the A+++++! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay. The guest room bathroom is a favorite among many of our guests, it's a great way to relax! Our housekeeping team were excited to read your review, they truly are a great team and are dedicated to maintaining the highest cleanliness standards!
We hope that you will return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting with Toyota since it was very close to the meeting location. The room I had was not very well layed out with a poor use of space. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is well equipped and spacious. I would probably stay in a Hilton next time and save some money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffinhead2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Muffinhead2580,
Thank you for your feedback.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for a couple days last week. Room was clean and comfortable. Shower was nice and the japanese toilet was warm and toasty. Front desk staff was professional. It would've been nice to have a pool and larger workout area (that would've pushed the rating to 5 stars). That would make this the ultimate hotel for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smoked_Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
DearSmoked_Sausage,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we value your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities. We are looking to add a pool in the near future.
We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was so ready to give this hotel the five starts it, for the most part, deserves. From start to almost-finished it was a great stay. Very friendly staff, very clean, quiet and a very comfortable bed. One of the best nights of sleep I've had in a hotel. Relaxing, actually. I was impressed!

Then, it happened.

I went to the restaurant for breakfast on my second and last morning there. This restaurant is famous for a wonderful selection of both traditional Japanese and American breakfast options.

I chose pancakes. The chef went right to work on my order. After he flipped the first pancake, he used the spatula to scrape some escaped batter from the side. And THEN, I watched as he proceeded to dump that extra batter into the great big trash can by pounding the spatula into it, touching the spatula to the side of the can. After doing that, he gave the spatula a quick wipe on a towel that was quite obviously a multi-use towel, and then continued to use the same spatula to flip the pancake over once more before using that same spatula to serve the pancake up on my plate.

Many moons ago I worked in food safety. So I understand all of the aweful things that live in a trash can and also enjoy the wonderful moist surface of a well-used towel.

I do not pretend to understand what might be considered offensive in Japan, so I didn't want to offend the chef by not acceptiing the pancake when he handed me the plate. Obviously I did not eat it. Ending a business trip with food poisoning was not on my itinerary.

So, almost 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Tammy L,
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you were happy with the friendliness of the staff and enjoyed the bed. We are however very disappointed to hear about your experience in the restaurant.
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. This is unacceptable and has been brought to the attention of both hotel and restaurant management and was addressed immediately.
Please contact us directly so we can follow up with you directly.
You can reach us at 310-212-5111 and ask for for Julia Cattaneo.

Thank you again,
Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#52 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Property: Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing