We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great option if you are near Torrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stay just one night there but was impressed by the design, service, and, most of all, the environmental concerns. Immaculate room, quiet, and plenty of space. This to me is great pattern which I hope more hotels will follow. Its close enough to the beach communities to be used for those visits too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

Miyako Hybrid is a great place to stay. The room is spacious, latest trend in interior, TV 's huge, amenities complete and very comfortable bedding! Adouble room fitted all 5 of us =) The bathroom is excellent as well; it had one of those heated toilet seats which was very nice to sit on during the cold mornings. The hotel provides free use of internet and printing downstairs. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. Arigato Miyako!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslambeater01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheriedavis1, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

We really appreciate the wonderful review that you wrote for the Miyako Hybrid Hotel. We are thrilled that we could provide you an experience that exceeded your expectations. Waarmest regards from the Miyako Hybrid Hotel and staff.
Cherie Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Would absolutely recommend this hotel!

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in mid-August and our stay was perfect. Fantastic value, fantastic amenities and fantastic staff. Everything in our room was immaculately clean and brand spanking new and the huge flat screen TV was a nice touch. We also really liked that there is a Japanese market across the street which we definitely made use of to buy various drinks and food items.

The Japanese style deep bath tub and related accessories were amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

I'll definitely book here when I visit LA next.

P.S. I'm the first person to find faults in almost everything...and I can honestly say that I found absolutely no faults at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetheBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed in LA just for a night on a trip to Vegas. The hotel was well above expectations. Room Presentation, Size, Amenites, were all above what you can expect in some LA five star hotels. Most importantly impeccably clean. All of the staff went out of their way to make your stay great. Location was a little out of the way without a car, but with the beaches where only a 15 minute drive. Del-Ano mall just down the road. Bathroom was huge with a heated toilet! The rooms are really new,large,with free wi-fi in room. Downstairs has a business centre, and restaurant. Free onsite-parking too. This is by far one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. This hotel made an otherwise chaotic trip to LA great! I would stay here and only here next time i head down to LA.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at the new Miyako Hybrid Hotel in Torrance for one evening this past weekend. The fact that it is a hybrid (including the solar panels above) is extremely appealing and satisfying. The staff is very pleasant. Weekends seem to be wonderfully quiet at the hotel since it entertains more weekday business. The best part of our stay was the room (king deluxe), which was beautifully appointed and also offered several treats. First of all, the bed was delicious. The bed topper made the mattress feel like a firm cloud to sink into. Somehow the down comfortable was exponentially more luscious than the one we've been using for years at home, and there were king-sized down pillows to sleep with as well as firmer synthetic-fills to support our backs when we sat up to watch TV. Speaking of which, the TV was a 47-inch flat screen with a dvd player, and personally I could have stayed in that tremendous bed and watched videos all weekend. The only thing enticing me out would be the restroom, which sports a bidet best described as enchanting. It offers one's choice of water temperature, target, and the opportunity to leave feeling fresh and clean. For those of OCD ilk, it is a dream accoutrement. There is also a tiled shower room with an adjacent tub deep enough to allow a bather to submerge completely (or to entertain a second bather). Honestly, the bed and tub (along with the TV and bidet) were enough to keep me happy the entire weekend. We didn't have enough time to make use of the gym on the second floor that sports two Wiis, though we were able to visit the Japanese mall next door where there are several appetizing restaurants to choose from. (Be alerted that only cash is accepted at most of the food court in the Matsuwa marketplace.) If you can, ask for a room on a higher floor so as to better enjoy the view from the balcony (not deep but it runs the length of the room where the entire outfacing wall is glass).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zombiegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed 5 nights and will stay again when back in town. Room was nice with higher quality furnishings that a US chain hotel and in good shape. Bed comfy, nice bathroom with big shower and Japanese style toilet which we loved. No hot water in shower one late morning but by night it was working again. Only negative was very low lighting in the bathroom.

Staff very friendly and accommodating. Our first room was facing south and quite warm. The AC did not seem to be working well. They called an engineer who came up and suggested we stay on the north side since it didn't get as hot. They switched our room but not did not send anyone up to help us move - no big deal but it would have been nice. New room was cooler. There was average street and hallway noise. Didn't really hear our neighbors.

Free WiFi in rooms worked and they also had 2 computers downstairs you could use. Gym was very small with like 2 treadmills, one bike, one elliptical, but it was better than nothing.

If you want to stay in the area and rent a car, you can save a bunch of money by avoiding renting a car at the airport and renting one in Torrance. Just take the hotel shuttle and then rent locally. Most places will pick you up at the hotel. There is an Enterprise within walking distance and Avis is also in town. The rental rates at the airport were almost triple when you add on the extra airport taxes and such. Note, the hotel shuttle has a very limited schedule which may not work for everyone but it is clean and reliable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BringHomeTroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Stayed two nights while working in Torrance, I found this hotel to be a tremendous surprise. I travel extensively for work and stay in the same dingy chain hotels that all us business traveler’s use. The Miyako was the same price and 5 times the value of any Hampton or Courtyard. New, very Japanese, and a really nice change.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrance hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
2.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Torrance
Holiday Inn Torrance
#12 of 20 in Torrance
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range: £138 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing