We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Torrance CA....Toyota history!”

Toyota USA Automobile Museum
Ranked #3 of 28 things to do in Torrance
Attraction details
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Torrance CA....Toyota history!”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My visit to the Toyota Museum was an unplanned last minute decision. I had about 12 hours of free time in Torrance, CA before my flight at LAX. I actually looked up interesting places in Torrance to visit and the museum came up as one such place. I showed up at the museum door without an appointment. However, Susan, the museum director was so kind enough to not only to allow me access, but also gave me a personal tour the facility. There were several cars from as far back as Toyota's very first car, 1936 the Classic Model AA 4-door sedan, to the introduction of the Lexus brand in the USA. I also saw their latest Scion FRS sports car. I even got a first look at their newest 2013 Lexus LS 460 L which had not appeared at dealer showrooms yet. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I wish I had more time to take it all.

If you are in Torrance, I highly recommend touring the museum. The best part is its $free!
A big thank you to Susan Sanborn and also Jose who both showed me around.
Thanks. Joseph

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Place if you are a Car lover”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Brilliant. Very nicely maintained collection. Informative videos and loads of cool cars. Make sure you take appointment before going there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxed_Traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing Collection”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This is a hidden gem of a museum. Although it is open to the public its difficult to locate...Off of Van Ness near Toyota Way. There is not much signage but its located in the Pro Logis Building area. There are amazing vehicles in the collection all the way back to the first ones ever made off the line. Its free to tour and you don't need a reservation.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You have to really love Toyota to squeeze in here”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

There is potential here, but the collection hasn't been provided enough space, and there is very little interactivity or technology at play here. It is really just a large warehouse with every available vintage vehicle crammed inside. Kind of hard to maneuver through.
But the staff is very gracious and accomodating -- they deserve more space to work with.
Appointment required!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rwckennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Hill, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good history”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We learned about the humble beginnings of Toyota and saw some cool cars.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbdmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toyota USA Automobile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Toyota USA Automobile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing