We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    34
    17
    17
    17
See reviews for
35
15
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 4 kids and it was disappointing and depressing. We stayed in 2 rooms; 3 per room. I've stayed at at least 2 other Extended Stay America locations and this one was inferior. I would not stay here again or recommend this location. We ended up checking out and staying somewhere else.

The rooms were depressing and dark. The walls are plain with no artwork or decoration. The blinds and bed covers were a dark brown - a color that might be good for handling a lot of wear and tear, but not cheerful colors. The rooms also smaller than the other ESA locations we've stayed at.

The staff was great at times and horrible at times. The shower head in one room was really noisy and the drain was really slow the first night we stayed there. We called the front desk and an employee came to check it out within 2 minutes and repairs were made the next morning - very impressive. On the flip side, my wife went to ask for more bowls since there's only 1 per room and we needed a total of 6. The employee initially would only give us 2 more even though we had 2 rooms and 6 people. It's not like we had 6 people into 1 room. What's the point of staying in a place with a kitchen if they won't provide enough bowls to eat with? After some "discussion," another employee stepped in and gave my wife the 4 bowl she asked for.

Breakfast is provided, but simple and limited. Coffee, instant oatmeal, packaged (not fresh) muffins and fruit - just like the picture on the ESA website. At least the picture is accurate.

There is NO pool at this location.

One positive is that this location is very close to several food options - Starbucks, Chinese food, Japanese food, a sandwich place, Carl's Jr and Walmart is about 1 block away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorranceRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We get there almost by 11 pm during delay of flight, go check in only take 2 minutes?? As told they don't have room available for 2 queens bed, but the will upgrade us to be a suite (Kind bed with a sofa bed) of course I do not have choice. The room was clean and big, but the sofa bed was horrible, I need to take the mattress out and sleep on the floor. Next day went to front desk and ask for changing room. Unfortunately, they don't have any available. They put a panel under the sofa bed and make it harder with 2 extra mattress topper on the sofa bed mattress for us. Its better than sleep on the floor. They was very helpful and I believe they try the best as they could.
Grab and go breakfast is OK, coffee, tea, muffin, energy bar and fruit.
The staff was very polite and courteous, over all satisfied, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feona622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Feona - We appreciate the kind comments about our hotel and our staff. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. Please know that we sincerely apologize for not having the bed type you requested available. To prevent this from happening again, we will monitor our inventory more closely and strive to fulfill all of our guests requests moving forward. As well, I am sorry that the sofa bed was uncomfortable; however, I am glad that our staff provided you with additional mattress toppers and tried to make the best of the situation for you.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel is good. Quite and friendly. Although the inside of room could be better, but it is ok considered the price (it is cheaper even compared to nearby Extended Stay America ones). There is Walmart just nearby and 99 ranch market (Chinese food supper market) not far away. It is close to highway and easy to get to LAX airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiangjun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, I would love to hear it. Please contact me directly at thg@extendedstay.com. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

From the start, this was a disaster. Reserved a room with two queen beds for myself and two teenagers. Endured two sleepless nights. ESA doesn't provide fold-away beds. Rooms don't really accommodate more than two people. Thought we would save $ with the in-room kitchen- what a laugh. Barely enough equipment in the kitchen to do more than microwave popcorn. Wasn't even a pot large enough to make pasta. There's no room service, and you have to bring your dirty towels down to the lobby for replacements each day. There's no pool, there's no exercise facilities, no breakfast, and you are a good 20 minute drive from the beaches. We spent a little extra, and were able to get into the Hyatt House nearby. Night and day!! We got a beautiful one bedroom suite with in-room kitchen. Kitchen was completely stocked and ready to go- even had a dishwasher! Huge king sized bed and a sleeper sofa. Great pool with Jacuzzi. They provide a hot breakfast every morning, and appetizers/drinks in evening. The amazing thing is that both were about evenly priced! I'll never stay at an Extended Stay America again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temecula ca.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Quiet location for the most part, not right off the freeway like most hotels.
Across the street from Kings Hawaiian bakery factory you get the smell of fresh bread all day.
Walmart is across the parking lot with a few fast food restaurants in the same shopping center.
Not much else close by as far as sit down type restaurants.
There is no daily maid service here, be prepared for that if staying more than one night.
No complaints with anything. Can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all-inclusive4me08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

These rooms with full kitchens are as up-scale as the big names but at a FAR more reasonable price. We are always on a budget, as my husband travels for work months at a time, and having a full kitchen MORE than pays for itself. The staff here is top notch, and the manager, Flora, makes everyone feel like part of the family. I'm amazed to hear her chatting with each guest as they pass, knowing their work schedules, company and even what type of work they do! It's nice to feel like someone recognizes your hard work, even away from home. Flora and her staff deserve a big "thank you" and I hope corporate reads this.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floor so you don't end up beneath my energetic and stir-crazy kids! Very famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrance hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
2.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance - Del Amo Circle
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway

Property: Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
Address: 19200 Harborgate Way, Torrance, CA 90501-1317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Los Angeles-Torrance Harbor Gateway Hotel Torrance
Extended Stay America Torrance
Torrance Extended Stay
Extended Stay Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing