We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islands

Islands
Ranked #49 of 530 Restaurants in Torrance
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great wings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I love their wings. My family always gets burgers which come with endless fries or onion rings. Shannon is the best server, and we always try to sit in her section.

Helpful?
Thank RPVTravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Endless bowl of tortilla soup is very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The first bowl has the tortilla chips; refills do not. But it's the best tortilla soup I've had. It has chunks of avocado, so if you don't like it, but sure to tell them. Great spot to grab a casual meal before the movie, but be warned that it gets pretty busy, so you wait may be long.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank la_jazz_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loud but friendly, Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We dropped in for a quick bite for lunch and ordered off the discounted lunch menu and were not disappointed. The Shorebird and fries always a winner. Our fries were cold when the meal came but we were immediately given a basket of fries to share. We love the shaker of season for the fries. Ranch is runny which is a turnoff but always eat ranch with fries. Drink refills came as quickly as our glasses were emptied. We love all the televisions with surfing/waves and sports through the establishment. Overall good experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Out of wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Came here just for wings, took my order, then was told they were out. No offer to comp me anything. How can they be out of staple. Ridiculous. .. guess I will need to call inthe future before making the drive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPVTravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Let me first start by saying that the service is amazing. The employees are all wearing smiles from tge bottom to the top. You're greeted warmly by a host. The food comes out in a timely manner. The prices are average. The happy hour is 4pm to 7pm which is for an average dinner time.

The only real downside is that the place gets full from the movie theater right next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelN442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Islands also viewed

 

Been to Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing