We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prime ribs, discriminates against younger demographics”
Review of The San Franciscan

The San Franciscan
Ranked #4 of 548 Restaurants in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established in 1963, Torrance restaurant and cocktail lounge serving prime rib, steak, and seafood.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great prime ribs, discriminates against younger demographics”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The San Franciscan definitely offers one of the best prime rib money can buy, and in three delectable value-priced portions: 1/2 lb, 3/4 lb and 1 lb. The 1/2 lb cut is sufficient for most diners and the 3/4 lb cut is borderline box-up and take home status. I don't know how anyone can finish the 1 lb cut without taking it home. The prime rib is very tender and juicy, served in its own pool of au jus and preempted by a soup or salad, followed by a side of your choice. The demographics of this joint is generally senior citizens or people in their late 40's and older. We did sense a bit of discrimination due to our appearance, because we're in our 30's but look like we're in our early 20's. This was evident in the service and social interaction we've received from our server vs. the interaction/service she gave to an elder couple a few seats down. Our server probably think "oh young people, cheap on tip" without even really giving us a chance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    64
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midvale, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really Disappointed (Bartender is a BIG Jerk) ”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

What a super/huge disappointment! I heard/read great reviews of the prime rib and history behind the San Franciscan in Torrance so, I decided to have dinner @ the bar last Saturday night (while on my business trip to SoCal). And, my experience went as follows:
• the head bartender is just a slob. As he pours my "soda fountain Ice Tea" and walks down the bar he's spilling everywhere and the tea is sloshing in his hand and going back into my glass.
• When I told him I wouldn't drink it he makes fun of my southern accent and ask me "what part of the confederacy that I was from?"
• I ordered the Prime Rib which was not as good as a "conventional Outback Steakhouse order".
• the house made blue cheese salad dressing was "just bland tasting"
• the bread was fresh hot/good
• dessert was a slice of "house made cheese cake". And, just like the dressing - really no taste - bland tasting
• I once again tried to converse with the big bartender (who I was told was a Jeopardy contestant @ one time). He has no real common sense to him. He's eat-up with himself - ego & false pride, I assure u. He miss quoted practically every topic that he tried to engaged in - he's just a "wanna be in a local bar".
• I'd stay away if you are not from Torrance.

Helpful?
1 Thank BagbyHotspringsTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Place for Prime Rib”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Excellent place for Prime Rib, if you're in the area. Service is excellent and the restaurant feels like home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RNN-LA2Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Prime Rib!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This restaurant is an "old-fashioned" prime rib restaurant. They make great salads but their real claim to fame is their prime rib!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nevada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good food, Marginal Service”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Arrival at the San Franciscan takes you back to the seventies ( this is a good thing ) without the cigarette smoke. It was Friday night and the place was very busy which may account for the slow service. I would probably give it another chance. The food however was very good; from the filet with ortega chilies and cheese to grilled shrimp to the clam chowder.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birdiefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The San Franciscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing