We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Torrance
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Staff were great, friendly and attentive. Food in the Ginger Café was terrible and the service provided by the one waitress in the place was terrible. Saw her twice, once to provide orange juice and the next to deliver the bill. The food was terrible, it was a buffet and everything on it was either overcooked or dried out from sitting out to long. The breakfast potatoes were like rocks and the scrambled eggs were dry and lifeless.

Overall the hotel is everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn and nothing more. The beds are in serious need of replacement although it did afford the wife and an I extra cuddle time as we kept rolling into the valley in the middle all night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank for your taking time to leave your review about your recent visit. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the food or service at the Ginger Cafe. I have passed on the information to the Food and Beverage Director to see what modifications we can make to please our guests. Also thank you for the recommendation for new beds, we are sorry it was not comfortable for you and your wife. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to the Holiday Inn Torrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    27
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
26
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the busy July 4th weekend and were very pleasantly surprised at how quite this hotel was even though it was fully booked. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The express check-out was great, no standing in line just a quick phone call to voicemail and you are done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We hope you had a fun and safe 4th of July and we are pleased you were happy with your stay and our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Holiday Inn Torrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I'm out here hustling for the man and need somewhere to stay.
We decided on this location because:
A) It's close to our project location.
B) It had a pool.
C) It's close to our project location.

The name of the review really sums it up. There's nothing noteworthy about the place. It's certainly not bad, but it's certainly not great. The rooms are clean, restaurant is ok, decor is boring. Just another business hotel.

The guest book does point out the koi pond as a major feature of the facility. The koi pond is pretty average, though the koi were both plump and majestic.

There is also a restaurant called the Ginger Cafe. I was disappointed to note that no dishes seemed to have ginger, nor did the staff have ginger hair. Though there only ever seems to be 3 staff in the entire restaurant, they do their best, but thats annoying

To sum up, it's a fine hotel if you need somewhere to sleep. But that's about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We are pleased you decided to stay with us for your business trip. It is nice to hear you liked our clean rooms and Koi pond. Since you decided to stay here because we have a pool, I hope you got time to relax and take advantage of it while you were not working. You are right about the name of our restaurant, the Ginger Cafe.. we do not have any gingers working there or ginger in the food. I guess we should look into changing that. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to the Holiday Inn Torrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had two long flights all the way from Malaysia with transit of almost 10 hours in Narita before reaching LA, and of course the next best thing to do is to check into the hotel and take a nice bath before exploring the area. We checked into the hotel which was pre-booked before hand after getting the rented car. We stayed in the 14th floor for 3 nights. Rooms were cozy, spacious and clean. Our rooms comes with refrigerator which is convenient for us to store our cold drinks :) The staffs were friendly and helpful. We had coupons for breakfast which entitled us to have either the buffet spread (consist of scramble eggs, baked potatoes, sausages, crispy bacon, danish pastries, muffins, toast bread, fruits, milk and yogurt) or Japanese breakfast. Coffee and fresh orange juice are served as well. We enjoyed our breakfast for sure and we were given cups to take away our coffee as well :) Definitely a comfortable place to stay and definitely will come back the next time i visit LA :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We are pleased you were able to come in after your long flight and relax with out any issues. It is great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at our Ginger Cafe as well. We look forward to your next stay here at the Holiday Inn Torrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Not quite sure about all of these negative reviews, but I have just returned from a very comfortable 5 night stay here.

We were checked in very quickly by a friendly and efficient member of staff (about 5pm 5/20/14) who explained about the facilities of the hotel before assigning us a room on the 10th floor. There are 3 elevators in this hotel and depending on how busy the lobby is you may have to wait a few minutes.

The room itself was large with 2 soft beds with lovely soft linens and a choice of pillows. The room had complimentary WiFi which was fantastic. I have to say we both had a fantastic few nights sleep here.

The bathroom was lovely and large with lots of towels provided.

We went to the bar a few times and bought some drinks to the room, it was very reasonable priced for a hotel, however They could do with providing a drinks menu at the bar!

I did have to make a complaint about the maid service which was dealt with promptly.

I don't know about other people in the hotel but we felt perfectly safe regularly returning about 10pm, the car park was lit and there were plenty of spaces, also a bonus that it was free!

I would definitely stay again if back in town, but you need to have a car if you stay here. It is in a business district but there are great transport links to the interstates.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googlejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for a great review. It is great to hear our staff was friendly and efficient with your check in and questions. We are pleased you liked our room and felt safe while staying with us. Thank you for the recommendation about having a bar menu, I have passed the info to our food and beverage manager. I am sorry you had an issue with the maid service but it is great to hear they took care of it promptly. We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Torrance again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I work for a major airline and we have just recently been assigned to stay at this hotel . There is nothing around here , just office buildings . No selection of dining in walking distance . Stuck at hotel to eat ! Must either bring your own food or take a bus . Very poor reception in your room for cell phone use . You also must ask at desk for phone to be turned on on your room . If you need to speak to operator , many times it goes to a recorded message first . 2 of my 3 stays here this month have very poor drainage in bathtub when showering . Water up to ankles ! On one occasion , found hair in bathtub and it wasn't mine . Beds not comfortable either , lumpy . Wanted to change rooms on one of my visits , and staff said only one room available in entire hotel , not true !!! Just didn't want to accommodate request ! Poor customer service and would not recommend this hotel . Definitely need a car for transportation , also not a very safe area with many assaults per police reports ! Hopefully crews will be assigned to another hotel soon

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 33076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear 33076,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

Thank you and I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The surrounding area is unsafe, from recent crime reports. The beds are old, small, uncomfortable; difficult to get a good night sleep. The staff is friendly but the facilities are old, as in the gym equipment which is outdated and non-functional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Yours is the first complaint about are beds, they are only a year old and we just upgraded all of our pillows a month ago. I will have the Housekeeper do a check of our mattresses. The hotel is located in Los Angeles and shares LAPD precinct information when other neighborhoods around the hotel.. The crimes you pulled up were not in our immediate area, as you know we are surrounded by businesses and warehouses. I stayed at the hotel for 60 days when I recently moved here and would walk my dogs late at night and early in the morning and hardly ever saw anyone else in the area. Please be assured we maintain a safe hotel for our guests. We hope to see you again during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrance hotels
3.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
431 reviews
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
3.6 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Torrance

Property: Holiday Inn Torrance
Address: 19800 S Vermont Ave, Torrance, CA 90502-1126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Torrance 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, professional staff and convenient location in the Los Angeles South Bay. Easy freeway access to LAX, the Port of Los Angeles and downtown. Minutes from Southern California's most popular visitor attractions, the beach and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing