We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was nice for what we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Torrance
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel is located in an fair area not too close to freeway traffic but not near attractions either. The freeway was close that you could get to other places quickly. The room was clean and nice. The beds were a bit firm for my taste. The pillows were soft. The toiletries were nice. Plenty of parking no issues there. I was not impressed with the service nor the quality of the food in the restaurant. Our waiter did "check" on us if we needed anything. The hotel advertised "Starbucks" but it was merely a Keurig machine with Starbucks K-cups and charged like $2.50 for a k-cup. The immediate surrounding area was lacking in restaurants. There was one Thai restaurant that had great food. We were attending a family gathering so it was located near the family we were visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reddog4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room was clean and functional. We got a good night’s sleep on a comfortable bed and quiet room. The breakfast got us off to a good start. The room was large and the restaurant quieter than most. Round trip cab cost to LAX was $90.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent visit. We are pleased to hear you had a clean and quiet stay with us. It is great to hear the breakfast from our Ginger Cafe got you off to a good start. We look forward to your next visit her at the Holiday Inn Torrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not sure if I got the room as an upgrade for my membership or was just regular, but I got an awesome suite for a regular price of a room. Next I stayed to an Intercontinental hotel with double the price, but I still liked this room more. Elegant, spacious, comfortable, just perfect.
The restaurant offer a buffet in the morning, and a few items a la carte. The buffet was OK. The menu doesn't offer a larerge variety (not suitable to eat everyday if you stay long), but we have a dinner and was just delicious.
It's a quite area, with no attractions very close, but with the car, in 20-30 min you could reach any attraction in LA area (beach, downtown, Hollywood studios...)
Stayed 3 days with the family and loved the place

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank uhim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your recent stay and for being an IHG Rewards member. It is wonderful to hear you and the family loved our hotel. We are pleased you got to enjoy some food at the Ginger Cafe as well. We hope to see you and your family again soon here at the Holiday Inn Torrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Staff were great, friendly and attentive. Food in the Ginger Café was terrible and the service provided by the one waitress in the place was terrible. Saw her twice, once to provide orange juice and the next to deliver the bill. The food was terrible, it was a buffet and everything on it was either overcooked or dried out from sitting out to long. The breakfast potatoes were like rocks and the scrambled eggs were dry and lifeless.

Overall the hotel is everything you'd expect from a Holiday Inn and nothing more. The beds are in serious need of replacement although it did afford the wife and an I extra cuddle time as we kept rolling into the valley in the middle all night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank for your taking time to leave your review about your recent visit. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the food or service at the Ginger Cafe. I have passed on the information to the Food and Beverage Director to see what modifications we can make to please our guests. Also thank you for the recommendation for new beds, we are sorry it was not comfortable for you and your wife. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to the Holiday Inn Torrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the busy July 4th weekend and were very pleasantly surprised at how quite this hotel was even though it was fully booked. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The express check-out was great, no standing in line just a quick phone call to voicemail and you are done.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We hope you had a fun and safe 4th of July and we are pleased you were happy with your stay and our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Holiday Inn Torrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I'm out here hustling for the man and need somewhere to stay.
We decided on this location because:
A) It's close to our project location.
B) It had a pool.
C) It's close to our project location.

The name of the review really sums it up. There's nothing noteworthy about the place. It's certainly not bad, but it's certainly not great. The rooms are clean, restaurant is ok, decor is boring. Just another business hotel.

The guest book does point out the koi pond as a major feature of the facility. The koi pond is pretty average, though the koi were both plump and majestic.

There is also a restaurant called the Ginger Cafe. I was disappointed to note that no dishes seemed to have ginger, nor did the staff have ginger hair. Though there only ever seems to be 3 staff in the entire restaurant, they do their best, but thats annoying

To sum up, it's a fine hotel if you need somewhere to sleep. But that's about it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We are pleased you decided to stay with us for your business trip. It is nice to hear you liked our clean rooms and Koi pond. Since you decided to stay here because we have a pool, I hope you got time to relax and take advantage of it while you were not working. You are right about the name of our restaurant, the Ginger Cafe.. we do not have any gingers working there or ginger in the food. I guess we should look into changing that. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to the Holiday Inn Torrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had two long flights all the way from Malaysia with transit of almost 10 hours in Narita before reaching LA, and of course the next best thing to do is to check into the hotel and take a nice bath before exploring the area. We checked into the hotel which was pre-booked before hand after getting the rented car. We stayed in the 14th floor for 3 nights. Rooms were cozy, spacious and clean. Our rooms comes with refrigerator which is convenient for us to store our cold drinks :) The staffs were friendly and helpful. We had coupons for breakfast which entitled us to have either the buffet spread (consist of scramble eggs, baked potatoes, sausages, crispy bacon, danish pastries, muffins, toast bread, fruits, milk and yogurt) or Japanese breakfast. Coffee and fresh orange juice are served as well. We enjoyed our breakfast for sure and we were given cups to take away our coffee as well :) Definitely a comfortable place to stay and definitely will come back the next time i visit LA :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnTorrance, Revenue Coordinator at Holiday Inn Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave your review. We are pleased you were able to come in after your long flight and relax with out any issues. It is great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast at our Ginger Cafe as well. We look forward to your next stay here at the Holiday Inn Torrance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrance hotels
3.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
449 reviews
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Torrance

Address: 19800 S Vermont Ave, Torrance, CA 90502-1126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range: £123 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Torrance 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, professional staff and convenient location in the Los Angeles South Bay. Easy freeway access to LAX, the Port of Los Angeles and downtown. Minutes from Southern California's most popular visitor attractions, the beach and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing