We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Marriott Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Expensive Marriott Hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This Marriott is not what it used to be. The pictures shown on line are not what it actually looks like. I think long range lens were used to make the pictures look better. For instance the rooms are not that large like shown; unless of course you can afford a suite. The pool area does not look inviting in person. The rooms do not have enough installation; guests bang on walls and floors. The dining room is not available all day. Last I heard they were no longer serving dinner. Even when the dining room is open; it needs to be upgraded. Their prices on the menu are outrageous compared to other nearby restaurants.

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I have found the front desk staff to not be overly helpful or courteous to guests. Also, they now charge for parking which is $15 per day. You are not allowed to park in the surface lot adjacent to Fashion Way. The mall has plenty of parking, however they have signs up that indicate no hotel parking; so you are forced to pay to park in the hotel garage.

The Del Amo Fashion Mall across the street has gone down hill the last several years. The mall needs to be remodeled and no one knows for sure when it is going to happen. They have very limited eating places within the mall except for the food court. The only high end stores they have in the mall is H&M, Forever 21 and Macy's. And there are three Macy's store in that mall.

The per night rate at this Marriott has gone up; it is almost $250 per night. They do have a lot of airline people that do stay at this hotel. Unless you have an expense account, you may want to rethink this. There are other nearby hotels that are not so expensive.

Basically, when you stay here you are paying for the Marriott name. I know quite a bit about this hotel; I have stayed here several times and I live in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metrotorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    213
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
87
63
33
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in early September for a wedding and got a discounted price. It is a very nice hotel with a reasonable price for the ammenities. Rooms very nice and clean, the bedding was very good. Staff, specially at the Front Desk were very friendly and helpful.
Location is good, we could be at the beach in about 15 minutes, restaurants were plenty with good variety around it.

Downside is that the elevators were so slow, I think there were only 2 elevators and only one would go to the top floors were we stayed. With so many people at the hotel (Pro Soccer teams, weddings, etc) sometimes it would take 15 minutes to get into the elevator, then it would stop at every floor even if full.

Beware of the bar, a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Overall a very nice, affordable hotel, centrally located to a lot of ammenities and activites around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capun1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is a 17 story hotel with four old, slow elevators for which you will wait endlessly. This gives you time to just look around and see just how tired this hotel is. It is in serious need of being updated and renovated. It is in a commerical area about 3 miles from the beach and 25 miles south of downtown LA. There is a large shopping mall across the street and a number of chain restaurants nearby. My room had a nice view of downtown LA and the mountains in the distance, but a much better view of a nearby oil refinery. The hotel has valet parking as well as self-parking (for a fee) in a nearby parking garage. The concierge club is very small, and while the staff is extremely friendly and helpful (many guests know them by name), its size makes it much more crowded and noisy than club lounges at Marriotts of a similar size. There is nothing all that wrong with this property, but the building, the rooms, the public spaces, and the immediate vicinity is completely forgettable, particularly given the rate. There are much better properties and values within a few miles of this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were here for a conference - loved the small touches, fruit water - a new flavour everyday. Helpful friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, and keen to help direct and advise about places to go and things to see. Lovely food, especially breakfast. Only downside was intern costs for conference goers..in todays day and age wifi for iPads and phones in international hotels should be free....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynS477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Old, tired property. Want to dull your pain of traveling? Yes. Stay here. You won't remember what was nice about your trip b/c nothing is great at this property except maybe the hot water. Very tired facility, terribly soft / sagging bed, thunderous in room cooling system and the basic Marriott "wow less" experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popolin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed for only one night but was very happy with staff and property. Nice place to stay. Beds are very comfortable and floor was quite. The only downside is the lack of an affordable on site cafe. There are plenty of places close to eat if you don't mind driving a few blocks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2GoSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Whats good about this hotel is the common areas. Great lobby with bar, really nice outdoor area with fireplaces and outdoor lounges. Pool area nice. Also really handy to have Starbucks and Hertz located in lobby.
Rooms are what you expect for a Marriott, however bathrooms old and in need of an update. Lifts are being replaced which will improve this issue.
Great central location for LA, although nothing exciting walking distance from hotel - need a car. Del amo mall very average next door. If you go there head to the new section where the cinemas are good shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
431 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach

Property: Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Address: 3635 Fashion Way, Torrance, CA 90503-4809 (Formerly Torrance Marriott South Bay)
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach Hotel is only minutes from Pacific Coast Highway where guests will enjoy miles of pristine California Beaches. Redondo Beach Pier, StubHub Center, Craft Breweries and Del Amo Fashion Center are located nearby. Relax in our hotel's spacious guest rooms with luxury bedding, 49" Televisions and wireless internet. 21 Square bar+kitchen bridges the gap between the city and the beach with a locally inspired style that celebrates the sea. The restaurant is an instant refuge inspired by the feeling of belonging and community. This hotel features over 30,000 square feet of flexible event space including a circular Elements Ballroom and outdoor venues ideal for conferences, weddings or other social activities. Elevate your spirit in our Village Square, a lush green outdoor venue with a gazebo to host a dream wedding. Convenient to Los Angeles International (LAX) and Long Beach (LGB) airports, our Torrance hotel is where style meets coastal comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Marriott Hotel Torrance
Marriott Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing