We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty decent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, United States
2 reviews
“pretty decent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Room was clean, and the amenities were nice. the executive lounge was good for breakfast, not great for dinner (meager selection of food, and beer/wine). Everything else was pretty normal. Restauraunt was pretty good, room service was quick.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    259
    143
    58
    32
See reviews for
198
134
67
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I reserved a King for one night using HHonors points, to arrive the night prior to a cruise departure out of San Pedro the next day. I was very pleased with this hotel.
Entry door and bell staff were courteous, and the front desk staff greeted us warmly and expectedly. With the grand and clean entry way stretching several yards, it was a very nice way to stretch out, unwind, and be esthetically treated after driving a few hundred miles of barren scenery followed by LA traffic. I'm familiar with the area, and this hotel is ideally located for this purpose as it's not far off of the 405, and a short cross-town drive on Carson to the 110 and south to San Pedro/Long Beach. Very good access.
The hotel was well appointed and had several meeting areas as well as coffee bar and restaurant. It also has a nice pool and hot tub in the central courtyard area. Our room was on the 10th floor facing west, and overlooking the courtyard below. I didn't really use the amenities since it was a short stay. But the room was clean, and spacious. I actually commented to my wife that the reading chair and ottoman were the most comfortable I've had in many stays in other hotels.
Layout of the room was nice with the king size bed taking up just a small area of the room. A nice desk and chair was helpful when I needed to use Inet and do some last minute catch-up before being out of touch for a few days. The large flat panel TV accommodated any type of interface you had, so watching your own stuff was easy. The TV reception kind of sucked on local channel 4, so watching the SNF football game was a waste of time.
Some of the other advantages of this hotel are that it has a lot of different dining options very close by, and nice upscale shopping center across the (very busy, and wide) street.
Overall, I found this to be one of the better options for staying in the LA south bay. I plan to return when business or pleasure takes me there again.

Room Tip: The 10th floor is the highest level before you get to the HHonors floors. If you request a western...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s2global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORRANCE, CA., United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Bathrooms need major upgrades, shower water on/off handle completely fell off & landed on my foot in tub when trying to turn on for first time. Room had bugs flying around in it during the limited time that I actually spent in it. Very disappointing to say the least, I travel to Torrance at least 3 times per year, I'm a Hilton guy but doubtful that I will stay in the Doubletree again. Looks like the Marriott around the corner might be my & my Companies best bet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed overnight on a weekend for a wedding. Hotel is clean. Staff is friendly but not knowledgeable when asking for local area directions/logistics. Room is clean but dated. I would stay again. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bettina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I love staying at the Double Tree Torrance. The staff and management provide world class customer service from the moment you walk in. The restaurant food is amazing!! The pool and fitness center get the job done!! Highly Recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed 3 nights on a recent business trip. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was accomodating. I ate one dinner and two breakfasts in the restaurant. Both were great. One morning I asked the waiter if the chef had any hot peppers to add to my omelet. He responded with Jalopenos and seranos. Seranos are my favorites ~ what an omelet! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara,Ca, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We needed a place to stay that was fairly close to Trump National LA-this was great. We had a nice evening and were able to make an early tee time. Several restaurants were available in the area for dinner within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.4 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing