We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms, not very welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small rooms, not very welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

When I checked in, the hotel clerk said my reservation was for a king bed. I explained it was for 2 double beds, I had my 90 year old mother and made the reservations months before. He said they didn't have any rooms with 2 double beds or upgrades even though I was a Hilton Diamond member. We went up to our room, it was very small, the bathroom was so cramped. There is no shelf space, I put my make up bags on the floor. I went back down to the front desk with my printed reservation indicating 2 double beds, he said sarcastically, " that's not what I'm looking at on the screen but since you're a diamond member, I will find you a room with 2 beds." I explained again that my mom was 90 and couldn't walk far, he didn't care. I gave up, bottom line, if you ar a Hilton honors diamond member... Don't expect much. I think if you make a reservation at a hotel for a specific room, you should be able to get that room. I completely understand that they may not be able to upgrade you, but they should be able to give you the beds you requested. I used the workout room, but had to wait 20 minutes for a treadmill, they only have 2 treadmills, they do have 2 ellipticals as well. The breakfast was delicious and all the other employees were helpful and gracious.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrygirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    260
    143
    58
    32
See reviews for
199
134
67
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

With the help of the staff at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Torrance, CA, we celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary on Sunday December 15, 2013. The Horizon Room was spectacular! Its size and view were perfect. Several of our guests (60 of them) complimented up on the food and service provided by DoubleTree. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Rudy A,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that we were able to provide a great room, a great meal, and great service for your 50th Anniversary.
Our two penthouse level rooms, The Horizon Ballroom and The Penthouse Ballroom, are two of our guest favorites, offering breathtaking views of the surrounding cities, the San Gabriel Mountains, Long Beach, and the Inland Empire.
Our catering menu is prepared by the same chef who serves our clients in Andre’s Restaurant. Our chef is the reason we won the award for the Best Sunday Brunch in the South Bay. We are glad that the menu was prepared to your liking.
We hope to see you back again for your next event or the next time you need a fantastic hotel in the South Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARKER
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Convenient location; plenty of parking places; well maintained and great service. Hotel is great choice for anyone with business in the South bay area; if you have a car it is a great choice even if your business is in Santa Monica/Century city area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank NIKLAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Niklas H,

Thank you for you positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our service and we feel that our location in the heart of Torrance, is ideal for guests who want to experience all that the South Bay, Los Angeles and the Inland Empire have to offer. For those who are unable to bring their own vehicle, we a partnered with Enterprise Rent-A-Car for easy rental and drop off so that clients are free to explore Southern California at their leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel was such a surprise. Loved the location and convenience to services, restaurants and the freeway. The hotel has plenty of free parking and the lobby is lovely.
Krystal assisted me with making this reservation. She was EXCELLENT, professional and so helpful and caring. (We were in town for a family funeral.) She was very kind. Check In went quickly. The delicious WARM chocolate chip cookies upon arrival were a nice treat. Carlos also assisted us in many ways. He was quite helpful. I was very impressed with the service, very, very nice hotel and the staff was wonderful. The breakfast was delicious and had many choices. What a delightful experience for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello RCMaui,

We are sorry for your loss. We are glad that we could provide a comfortable and convenient location so that you were able to be with your family. Carlos and Krystal will be happy to hear that their service is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again under better circumstances. There will, of course, be more WARM DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies ready next time you are able to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel location was excellent in the Torrance area with the DEL ALAMO shopping centre just a stone's throw away. Restaurants are plenty and varied around the hotel as well. The staff are all friendly and the hotel rooms are large with large double beds or king bed and room is clan and fresh. Bedsheets aren changed daily and the overall ambivalence is conducive for a restful holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sq121330g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your friendly review of our DoubleTree.
Del Amo Fashion Center, one of the 5 largest shopping malls in the US, is just across the street, there are at least 10 – 15 restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and Restaurant Row is immediately behind the hotel. We are glad that we were able to offer you a satisfying stay and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Everything is good from the time of checked-in to the time of checked-out. Service was excellent with fast response to calls. Nice ambience and location is excellent with all necessary amenities nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Wilson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Wilson T,

Thank you for your review. We strive to offer the fast and excellent service each of our guests need. We also take pride in our location, with tons of restaurants and great shopping all around us. We hope to see you again soon, next time you need a place to rest and relax in Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel looks impressive as you walk in with polished brass doors and a nice large foyer, but that's where the good experience ends. They give you a cookie at check in and based on the advertising this seems to be a really big deal that you should feel very grateful for! I've been to plenty of hotels that have warm cookies available in the foyer all day - it's not a reason to go to Double Tree! Personally I'd prefer a bottle of water anyway, particularly since there isn't any in the room, even for purchase! Room walls are paper thin. It's the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. I could actually hear the person on the other end of the phone line in the next door neighbors room. Considering that my neighbors call was made at 3am, it was disruptive to say the least. I could also hear neighbors TV's from all sides above and below, conversation, music and showers. The remote control for the TV didn't work. Breakfast was not included in the price and I'm not paying a crazy price for a bowl of cereal which is all I wanted. The coffee shop is a waste of time with very little food for sale, just a few pastries that I suspect had been in the display cabinet for a few days and some made up lunches. No yogurt parfait's, granola, oatmeal or anything that I would want to eat for breakfast. Overall it's one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. I will not be back.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room - stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Richard C,

Thank you for you for taking your time to share your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expect from the DoubleTree. We do strive to keep our facilities as quiet and orderly as possible and we apologize that you found the room to be too noisy to be acceptable. We also beg your pardon that the remote for the TV was not working.
If you are a Hilton Honors diamond member there should be a bottle of water in your room at check in. We apologize if that was not the case. For any of our other guests, water is available for purchase and can be with a quick call to our front desk, from our lobby gift shop, or at the Tea Tree Café.
The food in our Tea Tree Café is removed daily and replenished with pastries, fruits, salads, and sandwiches that are made fresh each morning. We do have packages available that include breakfast, however we are a full service hotel with a restaurant on property and we do not include breakfast in standard room rentals. We hope to see you back in the future and that we will have another opportunity to offer you the type of high quality service you expect from the DoubleTree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
2.4 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing