We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only good thing is the location”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Way too expensive for the service you get. Hilton service normally is NOT good anyway, but this particular hotel does not know what hospitality means. Location is good, but if you have to work in your room like I do, DO NOT get a room facing Hawthorne. The noise from the street will drive you crazy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hiroko T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Hiroko T T,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that our service and facilities were less than you expected. We would really like to know more about your stay and what may have been lacking in the way of hospitality that we might be able to improve on. If you have a free moment to send us a private message, we would love to follow up. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    274
    149
    62
    36
See reviews for
208
148
70
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This actually used to be a Hilton property that was converted to a Doubletree so it is a well appointed hotel. The rooms are good sized, modern and very comfortable. The front desk staff is extremely outgoing and very helpful. The area can be a bit sketchy but really nothing to be overly concerned about. Overall, a very good option in the L.A. area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Jakerson,

Thank you for your kind review. We are indeed a former Hilton hotel and we are proud to now fly the DoubleTree colors. We are also proud to report that Torrance has one of the lowest crime rates in the Greater Los Angeles area, and we were recently ranked #11 among the safest US cities. Our prime location is minutes from the 5th largest mall in the US, the Del Amo Fashion Center, the Torrance Civic Center, and the great dining selections on Restaurant Row. We hope that you will be back next time you need a safe and relaxing stay at a quality hotel in the South Bay or Los Angeles County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is a 5* PLUS !! As a businessman, it is important that I stay in a quite and comfortable hotel. The Doubletree in Torrance provides that and more. I highly recommend this hotel to any businessperson traveling and wanting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi James P,

Thank you for the time you took to share the great “5* PLUS” review and for your awesome recommendation. We really appreciate it! We strive each day to offer the special comforts and acts of kindness that make each of our guests feel human again. We are glad we were able to meet your needs as a business traveler and hope to see you back next time you need a room in the Torrance area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Most of the room was up to Doubletree standard. The exception was the bathroom. The tub drained very slowly, and the shower head/faucet was not functioning properly. Half of the water went down the drain, and the other half did come out the shower head, and it sprayed all over the curtains, and could not be adjusted. Also the shower room fan was not up to code. There was no switch to turn on the fan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Juan M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are so sorry about the problems you experienced with the shower. Thank you for reporting these items to us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and give us a chance to exceed your expectations of what hotel service can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel was excellent, however the food we had at our holiday party was not as good as we had last year. The be perfectly honest it was the worse food we have ever had. We have had our holiday party at this location for the pass 5 years.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi Peggy M,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback. We are glad that the hotel and service have kept you coming back year after year. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the food. We have sent you a private message to follow up, but have not heard from you. We would love more information on your event and the menu selections because this is the only record we have of a complaint. We look forward to seeing and serving you again in the future with the quality food you expect when dining with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

When I checked in, the hotel clerk said my reservation was for a king bed. I explained it was for 2 double beds, I had my 90 year old mother and made the reservations months before. He said they didn't have any rooms with 2 double beds or upgrades even though I was a Hilton Diamond member. We went up to our room, it was very small, the bathroom was so cramped. There is no shelf space, I put my make up bags on the floor. I went back down to the front desk with my printed reservation indicating 2 double beds, he said sarcastically, " that's not what I'm looking at on the screen but since you're a diamond member, I will find you a room with 2 beds." I explained again that my mom was 90 and couldn't walk far, he didn't care. I gave up, bottom line, if you ar a Hilton honors diamond member... Don't expect much. I think if you make a reservation at a hotel for a specific room, you should be able to get that room. I completely understand that they may not be able to upgrade you, but they should be able to give you the beds you requested. I used the workout room, but had to wait 20 minutes for a treadmill, they only have 2 treadmills, they do have 2 ellipticals as well. The breakfast was delicious and all the other employees were helpful and gracious.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherrygirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

With the help of the staff at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Torrance, CA, we celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary on Sunday December 15, 2013. The Horizon Room was spectacular! Its size and view were perfect. Several of our guests (60 of them) complimented up on the food and service provided by DoubleTree. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hello Rudy A,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad that we were able to provide a great room, a great meal, and great service for your 50th Anniversary.
Our two penthouse level rooms, The Horizon Ballroom and The Penthouse Ballroom, are two of our guest favorites, offering breathtaking views of the surrounding cities, the San Gabriel Mountains, Long Beach, and the Inland Empire.
Our catering menu is prepared by the same chef who serves our clients in Andre’s Restaurant. Our chef is the reason we won the award for the Best Sunday Brunch in the South Bay. We are glad that the menu was prepared to your liking.
We hope to see you back again for your next event or the next time you need a fantastic hotel in the South Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing