We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“January Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Snohomish, United States
1 review
“January Trip”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My stay was good bathroom counter too small. I also left behind a hair straightener by accident. By the time realized it and called the hotel it had either been taken by staff or next customer. I would of paid to have it returned to me - I was not very happy that it did not get placed with lost and found.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello Melissa F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and we apologize for being unable to locate your hair straightener. We have checked lost and found again, however nothing has been reported. We have alerted security to keep an eye out and will contact you if anything turns up.
We hope that we will see you back again in the future and that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    269
    146
    61
    34
See reviews for
204
143
70
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I always stay here whenever I come into town. I have devleoped a relationship with some of the wait staff and love the atmosphere in the lounge. A great value for the money. The location is central and easy to find. I like that they have a fitness center, pool, jacuzzi, water features and fire features. The restaurant is also very good. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello Renee G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with our staff and other Yelpers. Our Vintage Lounge is ever popular among travelers as well as our local community and is a great place to unwind after a long day. The fire pit is one of our favorite features because we find guests around it on a nightly basis, sharing stories about their travels and relaxing while staying warm. We appreciate the friendly accolades and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed at many Hilton and Double Tree hotels and generally cannot find any fault. It was disappointing that something as trivial as a shower cap and adequate toiletries affected our stay. We stayed for 5 nights and every single night we have to call room service to request a shower cap and additional toiletries! This despite leaving a polite note for the cleaners when servicing our room. Reception staff were friendly but I feel there was some miscommunication between them and management that require us to sort the booking problems ourselves. Initially, we were put in a room with 2 adjoining doors but we request a change as it was just to noisy. We ended up with a room with 1 adjoining door despite requesting a room with no adjoining door. It was still noisy but not as bad.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello Shereen G,

Thank you for your honest review and for sharing your experience with us. Your review offers us a chance to work on our imperfections and also to recognize what we are doing right. Whenever possible we do our best to offer our guests a room that meets all of their expectations.
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we will use your feedback as an instrument to improve our service where possible.
We hope you had a great stay in the US and that we might see you again in the future when you need a home away from home in the South Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for four days. They gave us a room on the smaller building, on the back, around the swimming pool.
I didn't expect anything, so at the end was a good surprise.
Confortable room.
The gym was always full, since very early in the morning.
Didn't have time to enjoy the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jdneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media Champion at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello jdneves,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree. We love knowing that our guests are able to enjoy Torrance and the South Bay at their leisure. There is definitely a lot to see and do with Restaurant Row just down the lane and Del Amo Fashion Center (one of the 5 largest Malls in the US) right across the street. We hope to see you back again in the future and encourage you to let us know if there is something we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The place was beautiful, staff was friendly and helpful, especially Steve at the front desk and Amanda on the phone for reservation. I love the lobby decor, the orchids, the lit candles, the aquarium, the fireplace in the bar and . the fire-pit and jacuzzi/pool

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Roberta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media Champion at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello Roberta A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your nice words about our team. Our hard-working staff and our floral purchaser appreciate your kind words and are happy knowing that our guests take joy from the decor and service.
The courtyard, home to the Jacuzzi, pool and fire-pit, provide relief from the world outside of the lobby. Our courtyard is just on of the many features our hotel that we take pride in and we are glad that you were able to enjoy it.
We hope to see you back soon and would love to know if there is ever something we can do to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Thankfully I was on one of the upper floors. sunny, bright, quiet, room was clean despite the fact that this is an older building and the wallpaper is tired.

I would give 4 stars but I asked the front desk on 3 different occasions about airport transportation to/from the hotel and I was told to take a taxi. Front desk REFUSES to assist you to even find a list of shuttles and will only suggest 'taxi' no matter how hard you try. Taxi price at least $35, but airport shuttle is $16 before tip.

PRO TIP for the HILTON: I might spend the additional $20-40 in your bar but I spent it on the TAXI. You really need to clean this up and have your staff be helpful to out of town business guests. I expected this, but have received better help in 3rd world hotels. Seriously.

Room Tip: Get on the upper floors. There are some very dark rooms down below. Many restaurants nearby, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPoll50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello JPoll50,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to give each of our guests the best experience possible and we apologize that our transportation services were not everything you were looking for.

It is true that we currently do not offer shuttle services because of the excessive lead times and early pick ups such services require, due to the many stops they make along the way. While a few of the shuttles that service our area offer service for around $20, they generally make multiple stops and have in the past made our guests late for departures and understandably upset. Shuttles that do service our area and offer direct service generally charge the same as a taxi ride, and do still expect gratuities. Ideally, you should have been referred to our bell staff, which does have information on various shuttle routes. We apologize that your requests were not addressed properly.

Our goal is to provide each guest with a stay at the DoubleTree that feels like a home away from home. We are taking your review into account and are always working to improve the service and products we offer our guests. This issue will be brought up with the management in our next meeting. We continue to look for the best transportation services from the airport and thank you for bringing this to our attention as something we can work on to improve our guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Street, PA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We would recommend this hotel. It has excellent restaurants and others businesses nearby. The buffet breakfast is wonderful. Not a perfect stay but very good. There was considerable hallway noise from celebrating guests late at night. The desk chair was bulky and its arms did not slid under the desk. We walked into the chair at night multiple times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Elliott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doubletree_Team, Social Media Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hello Elliott K,

Thank you for your favorable review and for sharing your experience with others here. We are just next door to Restaurant Row, which is just one of many reasons our guests love this location. And our chef loves to hear that people are enjoying the Buffet Breakfast; the restaurant and chef have won awards in the past and always strive to add new and delicious menu items. We will take your comments on the desk chair into account and discuss what we might do about that. We appreciate the time you took to share your review and hope to see you again, next time you are looking for a home away from home in the South Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.4 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing