We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All this and Banana Bread too!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vandees Boutique B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Aghalee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clonmellon, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All this and Banana Bread too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The other reviews say it all!!!! Comfiest bed I have EVER slept in. Genuinely friendly hosts with a host of stories. Nothing was too much trouble. Watch out when feeding Molly....she will take your fingers off for a bit of bacon. Like General McArthur.........."I will return". Molly is one of the dogs BTW! Sorry Noreen, but JP said it was OK to give her some.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatabowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Attending a wedding at Riverdale Barn we came across The Vandees while searching for somewhere nearby to stay. Just 1.2 miles away, we booked and received excellent communication from Noreen and Jean Paul from the start with directions etc.
They then welcomed us like family and offered a welcome drink! We talked for so long over a drink we almost forgot to go back to the wedding! ;-) Jean Paul then returned us to Riverdale and picked us up afterwards at 1am!!
Our room was beautiful, the whole house is a unique delight and all the little touches make it a special experience!
Breakfast was relaxed and at our request. And really Noreens banana bread is worth the visit alone!! ;-) highly recommended! !

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a fantastic place to stay, Jean-Paul and Noreen are the perfect hosts. Beautiful house in lovely countryside.

We will be coming back very soon. Rooms are so original and the house is amazing.

Slieve Donard awaits me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrozzerBob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

30 minutes outside of Belfast, out towards Lough Neagh, away from the hustle and bustle of the traffic of the city, is a First-Class Boutique B & B Northern Ireland has to offer! Driving through the different shades of the Northern Ireland countryside, you will come to a house that is tucked in a lovely part of the world. You will be greeted by two of the most down-to-earth people - Noreen and Jean Paul. The house is spectacular in looks, vibe and top notch comfort ......but the house does nothing for your stay without the hospitality of these exceptional and unpretentious couple. They cannot do enough for your stay and you are treated like friends and leave as such. Breakfast is brilliant and Noreen is a fantastic cook and JP is just the best craic! We would recommend The Vandee before any hotel in Belfast! They have three bedrooms with each different in style, yet 10/10 in comfort. They also have another property for self-catering and pet friendly around the corner. We have made friends here and had the best craic with Noreen and JP! We shall return!

Room Tip: Give JP or Noreen a call and they can help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Second time with JP and Noreen, and it won't be the last, beautiful house, more like staying with friends, nothing is too much trouble for the Vandees. Restaurant reservation, lifts to and from the restaurant, fantastic breakfasts. Oh and great red wine and Banana cake.

We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrozzerBob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was over on business and The Vandees was the nearest I could stay to Belfast due to the Giro being on. A stroke of luck !!! Noreen and JP couldn't have made me more at home. Lovely location, great breakfast every morning to set me up until dinner time, extremely friendly and welcoming, stunning property. 10/10...perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My second stay with JP and Noreen. A last minute booking by phone but they had a room available, Noreen also took care of getting a dinner reservation at nearby restaurant for me. Really appreciate that. Got a warm welcome on arrival, the fire was lit and we sat in comfort with a welcome drink chatting away with JP and Noreen so much so we near missed the dinner reservation. But no fear JP provided the usual chauffeur service to the restaurant. After a fabulous meal at a wonderful establishment that they will highly recommend to you JP picked us up again. The house, the rooms, the decor of the Vandees just has to be experienced. As I've said before it puts hotels to shame. The amenities provided are top class and well thought out. Was a delight to search through them to see what was provided, some little touches that a bring a smile to the face. Had a great peaceful night, outstanding breakfast service in the morning. I cannot emphasise enough. You must experience the Vandees B&B, and if you accept their recommendation for a near by cosy, candle lit restaurant - you'll have a fabulous night to remember. Once again 6 stars from me, getting close to 7!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean73G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghalee
4.1 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Moira Guest House
Moira Guest House
#1 of 3 in Moira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cherryville House
Cherryville House
#2 of 6 in Portadown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
12.4 mi away
Blackwell House
Blackwell House
#1 of 2 in Scarva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vandees Boutique B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vandees Boutique B & B

Property: The Vandees Boutique B & B
Address: 2C Lime Kiln Lane, Aghalee BT67 0EZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Aghalee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aghalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vandees Bed and Breakfast is an idyllic rural retreat owned by Jean Paul and Noreen Van der Velde. Described as going "beyond the bizarre" their unique and individually styled home was chosen to feature in the BBC House of the Year program. Just recently opened and bordering on the edge of Co Armagh/Antrim and Down, The Vandees is ideally located to explore and visit most major attractions in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Vandees Boutique B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vandees Boutique B & B Aghalee, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing