We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views + location, gracious hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mountain House 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2 The Mountain House from the living room onto the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2
The Mountain House from the living room onto the deck
The Mountain House 4
The Mountain House 5
The Mountain House 6
The Mountain House 7
The Mountain House 8
Optional second bedroom and en-suite
The Mountain House 10
The Mountain House 11
The Mountain House private garden and braai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clovelly, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adobe313
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views + location, gracious hosts”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Mountain House is a serene, comfortable home base from which to explore gorgeous Cape Town and its coastlines. Nice to be outside of the city proper and close to the ocean, while still in proximity to good food, excellent scenery, and all the local attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from living room, kitchen + porch
Liked least: the process of making the deposit and payment via wire transfer- it's probably easier within SA, but costly and time consuming from USA
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wind_n_wa...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful in and out, friendly owners”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

A winning combination: located in a posh suburb of Cape Town, beautifully minimalistic decor, great climate, even better views, very friendly owners living just next door. That was the last stop of our 3-week drive through SA, and we found a place both to relax, and see the the many attractions in the vicinity.
Bonus: porcupines roaming the street in front of the house after dark, simply surreal!
We want to come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Payment options - an expensive wire transfer was the only possibility
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Reviewed 21 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Italy
Reviewed 5 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Parkmore Sandton
Reviewed 30 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austria
Reviewed 4 May 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 3 May 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing