We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“beautiful place and wonderful people”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mountain House 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2 The Mountain House 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
36 reviews
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2
The Mountain House 3
The Mountain House 4
The Mountain House 5
The Mountain House 6
The Mountain House 7
The Mountain House 8
Optional second bedroom & en-suite
The Mountain House 10
The Mountain House 11
The Mountain House 12
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clovelly, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lastinger
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful place and wonderful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here with our three sons (ages 8,8, and 10) in October as we backpack around the world for a year. It's one of our favorite places so far. Miles and Carin were so friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome. The Mountain House was perfect for the five of us with two bedrooms and two baths plus a wonderful deck from which we could enjoy the spectacular views.
We loved the area as well. There is so much to do. The house is an easy drive into the center of Cape Town and is within walking distance of Fish Hoek, Kalk Bay and other nearby villages. It is also an easy drive to the Stellenbosch area where you can visit the various vineyards.
We took the train to Muisenberg and then walked back to the Mountain House, stopping at Surfer's corner to surf for a while and stopping for lunch and dinner on the way back. It was a really nice way to spend a day!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanVerde
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Comfortable, Kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My parents and I stayed in the Mountain House this past April. I've been living in Malawi this year, and my parents flew from Seattle to South Africa to see me. It was incredibly important to me that they enjoy themselves, and our stay at the Mountain House left nothing to be desired.

It is in a great area--quietly placed on the side of the mountain, with lovely views. There are nice trails nearby where you can safely walk and run. Kalk Bay (cute, good restaurants, boutiques) and Fish Hoek (grocery stores, etc) are within easy walking distance. The house itself is lovingly maintained, furnished in a modern but comfortable style, and boasts a wonderful deck and garden braai area. I was very happy to come home at the end of each day of exploring!

Most importantly, Carin and Miles are amazing hosts. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the area, and are very kind and accommodating.

I recommend the Mountain House enthusiastically and without reservation!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, design, hosts
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AR
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rominooty
NC USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to RSA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The property is overlooking the restored silvermine river with ocean and mountain views. It is a 10 minute walk to the ocean and walking trails directly behind the property. To get to the grocery store takes about 20 minutes. Miles and Carin are a pleasure to be around. Not intrusive, yet available and knowledgeable about the area. Miles is a birder and his home attracts many of the coastal species. He also is able to show lots of the fynbos to you. I had no idea what a spectacular thing it was till shown. There are several nooks and crannies on the property itself to sit, draw or whatever. The unit is well stocked for cooking meals and the linen is first rate. There is lots of space and even an outdoor shower! It is so perfect for the whole cape area. Close to Capetown and close to the point. We stayed 2 days more than planned and are sooo happy we did. Really great experience and made my first entry to South Africa a genuine treat. You won't regret staying with them.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Morning bird watching
Liked least: Walking up the hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adobe313
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views + location, gracious hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Mountain House is a serene, comfortable home base from which to explore gorgeous Cape Town and its coastlines. Nice to be outside of the city proper and close to the ocean, while still in proximity to good food, excellent scenery, and all the local attractions.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: views from living room, kitchen + porch
Liked least: the process of making the deposit and payment via wire transfer- it's probably easier within SA, but costly and time consuming from USA
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wind_n_wa...
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful in and out, friendly owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

A winning combination: located in a posh suburb of Cape Town, beautifully minimalistic decor, great climate, even better views, very friendly owners living just next door. That was the last stop of our 3-week drive through SA, and we found a place both to relax, and see the the many attractions in the vicinity.
Bonus: porcupines roaming the street in front of the house after dark, simply surreal!
We want to come back

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Payment options - an expensive wire transfer was the only possibility
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing