We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of an appartment in a beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clovelly
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gem of an appartment in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for one week. We are a family of five. Barry is lovely and told us loads of info about the area. Ten min walk from beach. Two min walk from nature reserve where I ran daily. Five min drive to shops, 15 min drive to huge mall and large supermarkets. Half-way between the city and the Cape. We had BBQs everyday. A lovely furnished, homely flat. Would highly recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spacious, comfortable and everything you need for a relaxing stay with your family. The view is spectacular with a view of the bay and mountains all in one. The conservation area just one level down is wonderful for nature lovers and the energetic who use the paths to walk and run.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AnneW00ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Hope we'll see you again one day :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunschoten, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is a nice apartment with a beautiful view. A good kitchen, good bedroom, two bathrooms. When you have a car it is good to be there, without a car you are far away from everything. nice swimmingpool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mengs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments. It is of course best to check the map before you book a place if you don't have a car.

We are quite a walk from the train station and when asked we always suggest to overseas guests that they hire a vehicle. Public transport is not wonderful in Cape Town. Even if you are very close to a station, the service is limited and may not go where you want to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very nice place, lots of room, good equipped kitchen, quiet, secure place. Barry can give you very helpful information about animals in the area, interesting places and they are very helpful. All organizational things were very easy and uncomplicated. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jürgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks so much for your review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a lovely spacious, peaceful cottage. We had plenty of room, great views, nice little plunge pool, bbq, in fact everything we needed. Barry and Linda were very helpful. Clovelly is an excellent centre to visit all the delights of the Cape Peninsula and great for Capetown. Only 40 minutes from the Airport. Good security. A gem!

Room Tip: Great wrap around deck with terrific views. Verandah outside kitchen in lovely sunny position in aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank david q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Your review is much appreciated! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great central location for exploring the Cape.
Accommodation was very good and the kitchen well equipped. Much of the furniture was decorative rather than functional.
Bed was comfortable but with only a Duvet and no sheet on top it was difficult to sleep on humid nights. A fan or better still air conditioning would be a great addition.
Although partially alarmed the property lacked a safe for holding valuables etc.
The decking around the pool provided an ideal area to relax and chill out but
some tree pruning required around the entrance door to guest room 3 to allow the sun onto the verandah in the afternoon and evenings to allow better use of this area.
Would certainly use this guest house again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John & Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're concerned you didn't have a fan as each apartment should have one. We'll make sure that's remedied of course, but as you were there for a couple of weeks I'm sorry we didn't realise earlier. Likewise with the top-sheet - we would have given you one with pleasure. Well, hopefully we can make up for it next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for six nights. The appartment was on the land side so no views of the sea, but no wind either which was a surprise benefit. The appartment was spacious and very well provided for - even a cafetiere for making fresh coffee. Fish Hoek shops were 15 minutes away - lots of useful shops - and the beach is sandy, sloping and the sea warm. We went into Cape Town on the train, toured the Cape peninsular by car, and explored Kalks Bay/St James resorts which are full of restaurants and quirky shops so the location was ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P, Owner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks so much for your review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments

Property: Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments
Address: 3 Montrose Avenue, Clovelly 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Clovelly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing