We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome”
Review of The Horse Guards

The Horse Guards
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: With a reputation for the best in Cotswold food and drink, The Horse Guards also prides itself on its hospitality. Whether staying as a guest, dining or just having a drink, The Horse Guards is famous for its friendly and informal culture. Our aim is to welcome our customers with a smile and ensure they leave with one.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Booked dinner here on a Friday evening as the location was convenient for meeting friends just outside Malmesbury. Have passed the turning to Brokenborough village many times en route from Malmesbury to Tetbury. We have missed a treat!

A warm and friendly greeting from Arthur & Janette who have owned the Horse Guards for some 10 years. A good wine list, they know their wines and are happy to suggest something new if you wish.

Menu was varied and well cooked. There is a pie of the day and fish dish of the day too. Our party tried both and were not disappointed. Were tempted by the puddings too.

All in all, a lucky find....will be back! Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
It is customers such as these who make our job so rewarding. We can only ever ask that people try us and hopefully we can then deliver the dining experience they are looking for. We would appear to have succeeded on this occasion and are grateful that these diners have reviewed their visit so positively. We certainly look forward to a return visit from them and perhaps a further conversation on wines of the world...both New and Old. On behalf of The Horse Guards team thank you for dining with us and for submitting such a kind review of the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    60
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great homemade food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I met my parents at The Horse Guards pub for a birthday meal for my father. I had read very good reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed: the food was really good, homemade food. So often pubs these days are either serving cheap, not-homemade food, or overly fancy 'gastro pub' food at very high prices. The Horse Guards strikes the right balance: excellent food at sensible prices. I would definitely recommend this pub.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
The real delight with this review was actually catching up with a long lost customer. The fact that it was a special occasion and everything was to their satisfaction just enhances our appreciation of their visit. We agree wholeheartedly with the review's sentiments on pubs in general and are so relieved we didn't fall in to either category. It really was a pleasure seeing these customers and we certainly hope it won't be so long before the next time. Thank you from all at The Horse Guards and especially A&J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An reasonable evening meal”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were staying locally & had heard this pub did good food so we went one evening. Mine host was welcoming & we went to look at the menu. This was pretty extensive but nothing outstanding. Unfortunately I think we chose a quiet evening as there was little atmosphere in the dining area. I also felt the tables let the room down as they appeared to be covered in formica or something similar, not in keeping with the rustic appearance of the stone clad walls. the service was average & the meals reasonably priced but I'm not sure I would bother to go again, overall quite disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleofeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We always regret a customer experience which does not appear to meet our high standards and this is no exception. A midweek evening in a country pub when the football world cup is on is a difficult time to "generate atmosphere". We prefer to rely on our customers to create their own atmosphere from their own company rather than try to "manufacture" one. I can assure this reviewer that our table tops are granite and not formica but I am not sure of the relevance. Ultimately it is disappointing when customers do not enjoy themselves and serves to ensure that complacency will never set in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent...”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Saturday was a lovely hot day. We'd taken a ride out on the motorbike and as Brokenborough was just a short detour on our route we called into The Horse Guards.
A nice olde world pub on the outside, comfy, modern, welcoming and spotlessly clean on the inside...All good so far.
We ordered a couple of drinks and opted to sit outside in the sunshine.
The menu had some great dishes on it, it wasn't an extensive but it was well thought out with some interesting meals. Pub favourites such as home made pie of the day, ham egg and chips sat along side, home made chilli burger or feta cheese and spinach stuffed chicken with garlic potatoes and butternut squash.
I opted for the chilli burger and my veggie partner chose the wild mushroom macaroni.
You know it's a good quality burger when you're asked how you like it...So medium rare was my choice.
It took no more than 15 minutes before we got served. The food was piping hot and looked delicious.
My burger came as I'd asked for it, the hand cut chips, chunky and cooked perfectly. The mushroom macaroni came with a nice side salad. My partner enjoyed the dish but did comment it could have done with another dimension, maybe some cheese on top? but its only a small point as to be honest she ate the lot....
So the food was great...But a special mention has to be the large back garden.... It was lovely with flower pots and manicured lawns. Just adding to our overall experience.
Highly recommended...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fire153Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
All we can add is that excellent customers deserve an excellent experience and we are grateful that we seem to have acheived that objective. There are many facets that make for an enjoyable customer experience and many of them are touched upon in this review. It always gives the team a lift to know our customers enjoyed themselves. Thank you very much for dining with us and for the generous review. We hope we may see you again sometime but sadly cannot guarantee the weather will be as splendid. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We took my parents here to celebrate their wedding anniversary. The food was nicely cooked & presented well. The service attentive & welcoming. A good choice. Thank you we had a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sequinn1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It is always really special when a customers submits such a great review and when it is a special occasion for them it just magnifies its significance for us too. We are all truly appreciative of such positive feedback and so pleased that we helped to make a special occasion just so. Thank you very much from all of us at The Horse Guards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse Guards also viewed

Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
Malmesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Horse Guards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing