We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horse Guards
Nearby Hotels
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ormond at Tetbury(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Priory Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
118
13
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
13
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfriendly hostslovely roomgood nights sleepexcellent accommodationhigh qualityfull englishcomfortable bedquiet locationfollowing morningcooked breakfastsouth cotswoldsbe visiting againlook no furtherwell worth a visitovernight staystayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Having been to The Horse Guards on many occasions over the past several years and enjoyed the excellent food and convivial company of management and staff, we were interested to know that they had converted rooms above the pub to B&B accommodation and took an early opportunity to book one of the rooms for three days when space with our family was ‘oversubscribed’!

The rooms have been beautifully converted and finished with bathrooms equipped to the highest standards. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the very comfortable room and breakfast was fully up to expectations. We have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants a luxurious B&B with accommodation of high class hotel standards.

Eric Morgan

Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Mr and Mrs Morgan were amongst the first guests to use our new rooms whilst visiting family in Malmesbury. It is most satisfying to note that their stay has resulted in such a complimentary review. The Morgan family are regular and much valued customers and it is great to know that we have added another potential string to our service bow for them. We look forward to seeing them again in the not too distant future and thank them for their very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Having been to The Horse Guards on many occasions over the past several years and enjoyed the excellent food and convivial company of management and staff, we were interested to know that they had converted rooms above the pub to B&B accommodation and took an early opportunity to book one of the rooms for three days when space with our family was ‘oversubscribed’!

The rooms have been beautifully converted and finished with bathrooms equipped to the highest standards. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the very comfortable room and breakfast was fully up to expectations. We have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants a luxurious B&B with accommodation of high class hotel standards.

Eric Morgan

Room Tip: There are presenly two rooms, both excellent. We chose the one with a splendid shower bathroom
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

This family are established and much valued customers and accommodating their parents for the weekend was a pleasure. So it is particularly pleasing to note their generous praise of their stay with us. We are still new at the "guest room game" and it is most encouraging to learn that we appear to be going in the right direction. Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again when next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We decided to chose a local venue for our wedding reception and we were not disappointed at all!! Arthur and Janette could not do enough to assist us in our planning and on the day they did not let us down. The three course meal was superb (compliments to the chef)! Many of our guests passed on their compliments direct which was lovely. We highly recommend The Horse Guards for anyone's wedding reception as the whole team and pub made our whole wedding that much more special. In addition, the two rooms available for B&B are fantastic, such high quality throughout both rooms. The breakfast we had on the morning after was superb too. Thank you so much and we will be seeing you soon for Sunday lunch!!

Clare & Jamie

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Floss1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Obviously the team at The Horse Guards are aware of the happy couple who submitted this review. We would just like to thank them for their generous praise and also for making the occasion as much fun for our staff as hopefully it was for the assembled guests. Such positive feedback makes the effort put in all the more worthwile especially on such a special occasion as this. All at The Horse Guards wish them a long and happy marriage. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews