We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class venue for meals overnight stay and hospitality”
Review of The Horse Guards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse Guards
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Horseguards for a few nights for a birthday treat enjoyed Sunday lunch with family excellent value evening meals good choice beautifully presented. Arthur and Janette very good hosts .Will definitely return .A wonderful few days.Has lots of returning local trade a very good sign.You will not be disappointed. Bedrooms excellent all fittings to a high standard

    • Value
    • Service
Thank seasonedtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

What more could we ask for and what more can we say other than a big thank you for such a generous review? It is always so rewarding for the whole team to learn that their efforts have been recognised in such a positive manner. Thank you from all of us for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

The weather was exceptionally cold for April this year so our room was cool for most of the time. I know I should have asked for a fan heater or something but it didn't occur to me at the time. I don't know why.
Our room was 'roomy' and very nicely finished with large TV and tea and coffee facilities.
The shower room (wet room) is impressive with good pressure at the shower head.
Food and drink are good with local ale on tap. Good value steak night on Tuesdays.
A good country pub with rooms near Highgrove and Westonbirt Arboretum.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 341,666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

All at The Horse Guards are very grateful for such complimentary words on their stay. We have always maintained that it is the overall quality of all that is on offer plus grea5t hospitality which should be our benchmark. Whilst we cannot control the weather we do provide electric radiators and additional blankets in our rooms (In the walk in wardrobes) for our guests should they feel the cold. We are sorry these guests didn't discover them or ask us. Nevertheless it didn't seem to affect their overall view of their stay. On behalf of the team thank you very much for your stay and the review and you are assured a warm welcome should you revisit us. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May.The owners Arthur and Janette are very helpful and nothing asked of them is too much trouble.The rooms were spotless as was the bedding and bed very comfortable with lovely duvet bathroom up to date with lovely walk in shower and soft fluffy towels!.we ate there both nights nice pub grub and i asked for smaller portions (or oap size even tho i'am not!)and no problem.Other half said beer was very good as was the 'Pie'!.Breakfasts cooked to order and brought out by 'chef'! nice touch.The peace and quiet was lovely for us and we also walked into Malsembury which was a very nice town.Area very good for walking and sightseeing.We would have no hesitation in reccomending this pub if you can get a room(i know they get booked up very quickly) or just want a nice pint and some food look no further.Many Thanks.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank felinesussex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you so much from all of the team for such a wonderful endorsement of THe Horse Guards. We frequently point out that great guests contribute as much towards an enjoyable stay as anything we do. This was no exception. Delightful guests who I am delighted to say appeared to have a delightful time. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The owners of this delightful pub were absolutely delightful. The food was good and the rooms were spotless. The shower was devine. The highlight was the comfortable bed though. We had a wonderful time! It's quite close to Westonbirt arboretum so we had some wonderful walks. I can't recommend this hotel more. What a treat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiazoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

What a wonderful review and our thanks from all the team for it. It risks becoming a cliche but it is true that great customers bring out the best in us. We take pride in trying to make our customers as welcome and comfortable as possible. How satisfying for all concerned when reviews such as this one are posted. Thank you very much and we do hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a overnight stay at The Horse Guards to celebrate our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. We had a really lovely stay, couldn't fault it, the accomodation and hospitality offered by Arthur and Jeanette was top drawer. We stayed in the Blue Room which was very comfortable, spacious and came with all mod cons. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening, excellent food and a really nice atmosphere. After a restful night's sleep we had a very filling cooked breakfast which set us on our way back to the Midlands. Will definately be recommending to our friends and family and we shall choose to return to The Horse Guards if we are back in the area. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

What a very kind and much appreciated review. It is always a pleasure to be of service to guests as nice as these were. Thank you for staying with us and then writing such a welcome review. We do hope you may return in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a snowy night to find a very nice country inn, rooms are excellent and food is very good. As I had to leave early in morning I was provided with food to have in my room
Will definitely stay again when in area

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ken_posch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

A much appreciated review from a surprise (In that the reviewer hadn't booked a room) guest. We were more than happy to be of service and as ever are more than pleased than the overnight stay was enjoyed. We understand that the reviewer is a reasonably regular visitor to the area and can be assured a warm welcome should he return. Thank you very much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

my husband and i took our 3 month old baby boy to the horse guards the weekend before NYE and it was a such a friendly warm welcome, the room (blue) was cozy spacous, warm and quite... loved the fact the walk in wardrobe and and iron and board... we were attending a wedding reception down the road... the staff at horse guards were ever so helpfull with directions and nothing was to much trouble... the breakfast in the moring was outstanding... I would def return. we had a lovely piecefull night sleep, even my 3 month old slept well in the tracel cot. I reccommend anyone staying in the area to stay here.... also the smoked salmon and scrambled egg on wholemill toast with fresh coffee was such a delight in the morning... my husband had the full english and there was not a bean left in sight, so thats a good thing..lol thanks again for a lovely nights stay ( 29th December 2012)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Honestly we never tire of receiving feedback from our guests/customers. Thank you for your very positive review, it is genuinely as appreciated as all our other reviews. It just gets harder to think of different ways of expressing our appreciation. So...thank you very much and we hope to see you again whenever you pass this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brokenborough
1.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
858 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
557 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
3 mi away
The Horse & Groom Inn
The Horse & Groom Inn
#1 of 2 in Charlton
176 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards

Address: Brokenborough, Malmesbury SN16 0HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury > Brokenborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brokenborough
Price Range: £92 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the tranquil south Cotswolds village of Brokenborough, The Horse Guards is the archetypal English country pub. The double, en suite guest rooms marry modern furnishings and facilities with traditional features such as beamed ceilings and exposed stone walls. Similarly our menus offer modern English cuisine alongside old favourites in the form of classic pub food. Something for everybody with a warm welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Horse Guards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing