We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect dog friendly Pub”
Review of The Horse Guards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse Guards
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect dog friendly Pub”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My Wife Picked the Horse Guards as a Birthday treat and a rest stop on the way home from our camping trip to Cornwall.

We often find ourselves restricted with choice due to the fact our dog (Bess) travels with us and it can be a bit hit and miss where we end up! On this occasion however I can truly say we hit the jackpot!

Aurhur and Jannette made us feel welcome from the start and breathed life and character into the pub which you so seldom find these days.

The room we stayed in was of a high quality, extremely light and airy with a high standard of décor, large room, large shower room, and a large bed.

The food was delicious and was defiantly above the normal standard of pub fare. I was also suitably impressed with the choice on the breakfast menu although I did settle for the favourite full English Breakfast!

To sum up If you are seeking the perfect traditional family run country public house with the additional advantage of quality accommodation look no further. My only regret is that this is not my Local.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arodg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We never tire of receiving feedback from guests and when it is as positive as this it makes the efforts of the team all the more worthwhile. Great guests who will always be welcome back. Thank you very much from all The Horse Guards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
92
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great food, good beer, quiet location and well furnished comfortable rooms. Very friendly owners who gave impeccable service. Well worth a visit, convenient for Highgrove and so much nicer than staying it Tetbury

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Sums our guests up too! Again we are most grateful for such a generous review, especially when our guests take advantage of some of the great attractions in the area. However most importantly is that we appear to have given them a pleasant stay and that after all is what we are here for. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Horseguards for a few nights for a birthday treat enjoyed Sunday lunch with family excellent value evening meals good choice beautifully presented. Arthur and Janette very good hosts .Will definitely return .A wonderful few days.Has lots of returning local trade a very good sign.You will not be disappointed. Bedrooms excellent all fittings to a high standard

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
What more could we ask for and what more can we say other than a big thank you for such a generous review? It is always so rewarding for the whole team to learn that their efforts have been recognised in such a positive manner. Thank you from all of us for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The weather was exceptionally cold for April this year so our room was cool for most of the time. I know I should have asked for a fan heater or something but it didn't occur to me at the time. I don't know why.
Our room was 'roomy' and very nicely finished with large TV and tea and coffee facilities.
The shower room (wet room) is impressive with good pressure at the shower head.
Food and drink are good with local ale on tap. Good value steak night on Tuesdays.
A good country pub with rooms near Highgrove and Westonbirt Arboretum.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 341666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
All at The Horse Guards are very grateful for such complimentary words on their stay. We have always maintained that it is the overall quality of all that is on offer plus grea5t hospitality which should be our benchmark. Whilst we cannot control the weather we do provide electric radiators and additional blankets in our rooms (In the walk in wardrobes) for our guests should they feel the cold. We are sorry these guests didn't discover them or ask us. Nevertheless it didn't seem to affect their overall view of their stay. On behalf of the team thank you very much for your stay and the review and you are assured a warm welcome should you revisit us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May.The owners Arthur and Janette are very helpful and nothing asked of them is too much trouble.The rooms were spotless as was the bedding and bed very comfortable with lovely duvet bathroom up to date with lovely walk in shower and soft fluffy towels!.we ate there both nights nice pub grub and i asked for smaller portions (or oap size even tho i'am not!)and no problem.Other half said beer was very good as was the 'Pie'!.Breakfasts cooked to order and brought out by 'chef'! nice touch.The peace and quiet was lovely for us and we also walked into Malsembury which was a very nice town.Area very good for walking and sightseeing.We would have no hesitation in reccomending this pub if you can get a room(i know they get booked up very quickly) or just want a nice pint and some food look no further.Many Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felinesussex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much from all of the team for such a wonderful endorsement of THe Horse Guards. We frequently point out that great guests contribute as much towards an enjoyable stay as anything we do. This was no exception. Delightful guests who I am delighted to say appeared to have a delightful time. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The owners of this delightful pub were absolutely delightful. The food was good and the rooms were spotless. The shower was devine. The highlight was the comfortable bed though. We had a wonderful time! It's quite close to Westonbirt arboretum so we had some wonderful walks. I can't recommend this hotel more. What a treat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiazoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
What a wonderful review and our thanks from all the team for it. It risks becoming a cliche but it is true that great customers bring out the best in us. We take pride in trying to make our customers as welcome and comfortable as possible. How satisfying for all concerned when reviews such as this one are posted. Thank you very much and we do hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a overnight stay at The Horse Guards to celebrate our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. We had a really lovely stay, couldn't fault it, the accomodation and hospitality offered by Arthur and Jeanette was top drawer. We stayed in the Blue Room which was very comfortable, spacious and came with all mod cons. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening, excellent food and a really nice atmosphere. After a restful night's sleep we had a very filling cooked breakfast which set us on our way back to the Midlands. Will definately be recommending to our friends and family and we shall choose to return to The Horse Guards if we are back in the area. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
What a very kind and much appreciated review. It is always a pleasure to be of service to guests as nice as these were. Thank you for staying with us and then writing such a welcome review. We do hope you may return in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brokenborough
1.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
782 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
522 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
383 reviews
3.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards

Property: The Horse Guards
Address: Brokenborough, Malmesbury SN16 0HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury > Brokenborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brokenborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the tranquil south Cotswolds village of Brokenborough, The Horse Guards is the archetypal English country pub. The double, en suite guest rooms marry modern furnishings and facilities with traditional features such as beamed ceilings and exposed stone walls. Similarly our menus offer modern English cuisine alongside old favourites in the form of classic pub food. Something for everybody with a warm welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Horse Guards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing