We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of Both”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Horse Guards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse Guards
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best of Both”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

At the risk of being boring or repetitive this is another excellent review for The Horse Guards. We were recommended by a local friend and enjoyed a 2 night stay with food this week. It is well placed near Tetbury and Malmesbury (we were doing the Highgrove tour),but you do need your own transport. This lovely pub combines individual old worlde charm and atmosphere with high standards of food, comfort cleanliness and customer service from all the team.This should be the norm but sadly isn't generally found elsewhere.

The blue room (there are 2 rooms in this new accommodation) was very spacious with lots of drawer space, walk in wardrobe (do need some trouser hangers though),well equipped spotless and a very modern bathroom with wet room style shower (drench and separate adjustable). Both rooms are upstairs and a handrail would be useful for older guests.

Excellent choice of quality food from pub favourites menu or more restaurant style dishes served in attractive bar or dining room.

Would be delighted to return and certainly recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bromleypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
A super review from super guests. We may never tire of receiving such kind reviews but more importantly we will never tire of hosting guests such as these. All of the team at The Horse Guards really do appreciate such feedback and it does strengthen our resolve to continue to provide the levels of service which draw such kind words. Thank you very much and needless to say we do hope we may see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
91
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in The Royal Room at The Horse Guards. It was spacious, well furnished with a very comfortabled bed. The en suite shower room was beautiful. We received a warm welcome on arrival and a lovely breakfast on departure. The eggs benedict was delicious. I cannot recommend The Horse Guards enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
A great review from delightful guests...what more can we say other than a big thank you from all at The Horse Guards. Very much the kind of guests we would always welcome back and who are a pleasure to be of service to. Thank you again from a very appreciative team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My Wife Picked the Horse Guards as a Birthday treat and a rest stop on the way home from our camping trip to Cornwall.

We often find ourselves restricted with choice due to the fact our dog (Bess) travels with us and it can be a bit hit and miss where we end up! On this occasion however I can truly say we hit the jackpot!

Aurhur and Jannette made us feel welcome from the start and breathed life and character into the pub which you so seldom find these days.

The room we stayed in was of a high quality, extremely light and airy with a high standard of décor, large room, large shower room, and a large bed.

The food was delicious and was defiantly above the normal standard of pub fare. I was also suitably impressed with the choice on the breakfast menu although I did settle for the favourite full English Breakfast!

To sum up If you are seeking the perfect traditional family run country public house with the additional advantage of quality accommodation look no further. My only regret is that this is not my Local.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arodg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We never tire of receiving feedback from guests and when it is as positive as this it makes the efforts of the team all the more worthwhile. Great guests who will always be welcome back. Thank you very much from all The Horse Guards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great food, good beer, quiet location and well furnished comfortable rooms. Very friendly owners who gave impeccable service. Well worth a visit, convenient for Highgrove and so much nicer than staying it Tetbury

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Sums our guests up too! Again we are most grateful for such a generous review, especially when our guests take advantage of some of the great attractions in the area. However most importantly is that we appear to have given them a pleasant stay and that after all is what we are here for. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope we may see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Horseguards for a few nights for a birthday treat enjoyed Sunday lunch with family excellent value evening meals good choice beautifully presented. Arthur and Janette very good hosts .Will definitely return .A wonderful few days.Has lots of returning local trade a very good sign.You will not be disappointed. Bedrooms excellent all fittings to a high standard

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
What more could we ask for and what more can we say other than a big thank you for such a generous review? It is always so rewarding for the whole team to learn that their efforts have been recognised in such a positive manner. Thank you from all of us for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The weather was exceptionally cold for April this year so our room was cool for most of the time. I know I should have asked for a fan heater or something but it didn't occur to me at the time. I don't know why.
Our room was 'roomy' and very nicely finished with large TV and tea and coffee facilities.
The shower room (wet room) is impressive with good pressure at the shower head.
Food and drink are good with local ale on tap. Good value steak night on Tuesdays.
A good country pub with rooms near Highgrove and Westonbirt Arboretum.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 341666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
All at The Horse Guards are very grateful for such complimentary words on their stay. We have always maintained that it is the overall quality of all that is on offer plus grea5t hospitality which should be our benchmark. Whilst we cannot control the weather we do provide electric radiators and additional blankets in our rooms (In the walk in wardrobes) for our guests should they feel the cold. We are sorry these guests didn't discover them or ask us. Nevertheless it didn't seem to affect their overall view of their stay. On behalf of the team thank you very much for your stay and the review and you are assured a warm welcome should you revisit us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May.The owners Arthur and Janette are very helpful and nothing asked of them is too much trouble.The rooms were spotless as was the bedding and bed very comfortable with lovely duvet bathroom up to date with lovely walk in shower and soft fluffy towels!.we ate there both nights nice pub grub and i asked for smaller portions (or oap size even tho i'am not!)and no problem.Other half said beer was very good as was the 'Pie'!.Breakfasts cooked to order and brought out by 'chef'! nice touch.The peace and quiet was lovely for us and we also walked into Malsembury which was a very nice town.Area very good for walking and sightseeing.We would have no hesitation in reccomending this pub if you can get a room(i know they get booked up very quickly) or just want a nice pint and some food look no further.Many Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felinesussex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurGrun, Owner at The Horse Guards, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much from all of the team for such a wonderful endorsement of THe Horse Guards. We frequently point out that great guests contribute as much towards an enjoyable stay as anything we do. This was no exception. Delightful guests who I am delighted to say appeared to have a delightful time. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brokenborough
1.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
496 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tetbury
634 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse Guards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse Guards

Property: The Horse Guards
Address: Brokenborough, Malmesbury SN16 0HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Malmesbury > Brokenborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brokenborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the tranquil south Cotswolds village of Brokenborough, The Horse Guards is the archetypal English country pub. The double, en suite guest rooms marry modern furnishings and facilities with traditional features such as beamed ceilings and exposed stone walls. Similarly our menus offer modern English cuisine alongside old favourites in the form of classic pub food. Something for everybody with a warm welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Horse Guards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing