We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of Sea Cliff Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Cliff Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Pioneer Valley, AZ. United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at The Sea Cliff for 3 days @ the beginning of Sept.2013. Clean room, congenial owners that were there to please. We had a wonderful stay. Sea Cliff and the old 101 are unique. A place for the traveller who chooses the less travelled roads in search of peace an tranquility.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    35
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
41
62
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Trinidad Bay is beautiful. Our stay at Sea Cliff Motel was perfect. Bob and Tobi Morgan made us feel very welcome. The room we had was very comfortable. Our dog Phoebe loved it there, making friends with Mr Cody, the resident dog. Bob and Tobi gave us good advice about the local restaurants and Larupin was a wonderful surprise offering an intimate dining experience. As our son recently moved to Humbolt State for college we expect to visit again soon...... and Sea Cliff will be our base in this beautiful California coastal community. Thanks Bob and Toni for providing a home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobandTobi, Owner at Sea Cliff Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, and Mister Cody can't wait to see Ms. Phoebe next summer.......loved our talks & did buy Cody a "Fulminator"! No more shedding!...Sincerely, Bob & Tobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a trip up the coast. The location was quiet and peaceful amongst the trees. The name of the motel led us to expect sea views, but the forest was acceptable too! Very dog- friendly place - we don't have a dog, but we like animals, and anyone who is too fastidious would probably feel uncomfortable here. There is an excellent restaurant, Larrupin, within walking distance, as long as you take a flashlight with you for the walk back along an unlit but quiet road. Only coffee making facilities at the motel - being of English origin I was longing for a cup of tea, and tea bags were provided when we requested them, but I was asked to use the coffee maker to boil the water, and it was no more than lukewarm. The owner gave me her own carton of half and half as I said I didn't like artificial non dairy creamer, but it tasted a bit creamy in tea! We were grateful for a place to stay as we had battled to find a place in Trinidad, and although originally we were informed that it was phone bookings only, they did let us book online when we explained that we were from New Zealand. Not a 5 star hotel, but a comfortable stopping off place at a reasonable price, and unlike other establishments in Trinidad, they didn't insist on a two night stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Sea Cliff based on some of the Tripadvisor reviews, expecting a clean, modest place. Our accommodations were less than satisfactory. The old, old carpet had numerous stains that looked like dog pee stains. Cups in the kitchen were dirty. The room had a very musty, stale smell, even with the windows wide open. The dark sheets caused me to wonder what was hidden by the dark color. The innkeepers were friendly and made a great recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cxcroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

OK, I know there have been many reviews of this motel.....we found it to be to our liking...rustic...informal....inviting. Our hosts, Bob and Tobi were delightful and saw to our every need. They have been hosts here for ten years. I would give a full five points, except for the need to call to book....and for the spotty internet. No big deal.....we dealt with it and had a lovely time. Build a fire in the fire pit. Roast some marshmallows or frankfurters....relax, relax, relax. We highly recommend this place as a getaway unparalleled among the others on the redwood trail.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We made our way from Sacramento CA to Victoria Canada on a 10 day vacation. Out of all the hotels in our 3000 mile drive, this hotel gave me the BEST nights sleep. I even emailed them to ask what pillows they had so I can get that kind of comfort at home! Such a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have stayed here several times and were always happy. The owners are back in charge and we had a great stay. We booked last minute and had to squeeze our twin 2-yr olds, 2 dogs and ourselves into their smallest room. Not ideal but we made it work. Owners were great to us and Mr. Kody was fun to play with.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forester265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
1.9 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
197 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
20.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
704 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
1.6 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Motel

Property: Sea Cliff Motel
Address: 1895 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Hotel Trinidad
Sea Cliff Motel Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing