We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, Clean, and Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bishop Pine Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bishop Pine Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rustic, Clean, and Affordable”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This was our first trip to the west coast and Bishop Pine was the the first place we stayed. These are small redwood cabins about 5 minutes for Trinidad. You are surrounded by redwoods and highway 101 is within view, but somehow it's not noisy at all. The place is a bit dated, but very clean. The water pressure in the shower is a real bonus, as is the little utility room that has a sink, coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. The host was helpful in getting us oriented, and then we never saw her again...ah...privacy. There are movies, books, and ice all readily available in a small building near the lobby. Though there is no beach access, this was a great first stop on our coastal trip and we'd stay here again, especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

This is a great sleepy little hotel on the North coast. It is literally in the middle of nowhere but an easy drive to Arcata and Eureka. We stayed there with our two daughters who were 2 and 4. It was great place to hang out, pick the blackberries for breakfast and have a relaxing family weekend.

The hotel is clean, no frills and comfortable.

  • Liked — Quiet and relaxing
  • Disliked — Kind of dated
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamond, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I stayed at Bishop Pine Lodge in the summer of 2004. The
lodge consists of rustic cottages in a nice wooded location
within the redwood forest. It was absolutely quiet. Though
it was a bit warm inside the cabin, air conditioning is not
really needed, but I did feel the need to open the window,
which helped a little. There is no restaurant on the premises.
You have to drive into the next town for the nearest restaurant.
If you want peace and quiet, and a lovely location, this is the
place. Nearby is the town of Trinidad, which is a quaint sea-
side town.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — no restaurant nearby
  • Stayed August 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosamondguyRosamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
National City, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

Bishop Pine Lodge is a great place to stay. Nicely located off a quiet road between Trinidad and Patrick's Point. Beautiful property with cabins scattered among redwoods, cedars, and fuscias. Private, friendly, and quiet.

Cabins are older and rustic, but are clean, comfortable, have fully functional kitchens, and are completely private-- much better in our opinion than traditional hotel rooms. Just don't expect up-to-date decor or spotlessly new facilities. We love it-- it is like stepping into a time warp back to a simpler and more pleasant time. Most of the cabins have porches where you can sit outside and enjoy the weather, and some have hot tubs.

BPL is also a dog-friendly property, and having separate cabins is really an advantage for everyone concerned. Plenty of places to walk your dogs and bags available for picking up after them.

The restaurant at Trinidad Pier was disappointing, but the town is fun to explore and has a beautiful setting. We enjoyed the Lost Coast Brewpub in Eureka... great food and terrific beer. The area is gorgeous and there are plenty of things to see and do. We all had a great time.

  • Liked — Setting, privacy, quiet, dog-friendly
  • Disliked — Older facilities
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We loved Bishop Pine Lodge! Granted, if you are expecting deluxe accomodations, this is not for you. But these are adorable red wood cabins-- they look like they were built in the 40s or 50s, decorated in the 70s, but not in an off-putting way at all. A bit rustic (bathrooms are not luxurious), but if you are looking for a quiet cottage in a lovely garden surrounded by red woods, this is heavenly. Very affordable to boot.

We had coffee on the porch, then went hiking in the spectacular Patrick's Point state park-- an absolute must. Then we had dinner up the road at the Larrupin Cafe-- very upscale and delicious for such a seemingly remote location. The bbq oysters were mind-blowing.

Again, on the rustic side, but this was hands down our favorite day on our slow drive up Route one.

  • Stayed July 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank amhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
2.4 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
187 reviews
21.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayshore Inn
19.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
687 reviews
19.6 mi away
Eagle House Victorian Inn
1.0 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Pine Lodge

Property: Bishop Pine Lodge
Address: 1481 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9706
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bishop Pine Hotel Trinidad
Bishop Pine Lodge Trinidad, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing